Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1896, 1946
Creator: Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule records (1896, 1946)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0910
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Time capsule documenting women's community involvement, as captured in 1896 and 1946.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in box 2

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the donor.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 96) were donated by Dianne Lerud Chubb on behalf of Burlington women's clubs in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule dates from 1896 and was created by the Burlington Federation of Women's Clubs for the occasion of Iowa's Semi-Centennial Celebration that year. Its purpose was to honor women's contribution to society and to this celebration and to give 'the woman of 1946' an impression of 'the woman of 1896.' Every women's club in Burlington in 1896 made a contribution in the form of a short essay about their club, its aim, and its charter members. The Time Capsule (often referred to as 'the Box' or 'the Mystery Box') was to be opened at the celebration of the State's Centennial in 1946.

On October 2, 1946, during the celebration of Iowa's Centennial, the time capsule was opened by the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs. The Federation decided to extend the time capsule; they added new materials to the box and resealed it in April 1947, to be opened again in 1996. The women of 1996 would then get an impression of the progress made by women in the past century.

In 1997 Burlington resident Dianne Lerud Chubb came across a reference to the time capsule, located it in a safe at City Hall and opened it. The contents of the box were donated to the Iowa Womens Archives, and are included in the Iowa Digital Library.

The Burlington Clubwomen's Time Capsule dates from 1896 and 1946 and measures 5 linear inches. The records are arranged in three series: 1896, 1946 and Artifacts.

The 1896 series consists of the contents of the original time capsule: essays and reflections on Women's Day at the semi-centennial celebration and on the time capsule by members of the Burlington Federation of Women's Clubs records of the various clubs in the Federation, including several King's Daughters Circles, the Ladies Musical Club, the Mosaics, the Shakespeare Club, the Alpha Club and the Fortnightly Club. The Burlington Federation of Women's Clubs also made a contribution. The papers of this series are characterized by the themes of 'progress for women' and 'looking forward'.

The 1946 series has a broader variety of material and is not solely composed of the contributions of different clubs. The composers of 1946 wanted 'the woman of 1996' to get a complete impression of their world with more than the data on women's clubs alone.  The 1946 series therefore includes records on the celebration of the centennial; on 'the Woman of 1946', and on clubwomen's contributions, as well as some material concerning Burlington's Crapo Park, which celebrated its semi-centennial during the celebration of the state's centennial. The women of 1946 reflected on the accomplishments of 1896, the ideals of 1946, and their prophesies for 1996. The Artifacts consist of three flags that were added to the box in 1946.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: 1896
Series 2: 1946
Series 3: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: 1896
  • Sub-Series: The Burlington Federation of Women’s Clubs [BFWC]
  • Box 1:
  • ‘The Reason of the box’
  • ‘Fifty years hence’
  • Description of the contents and aim of the Capsule
  • Woman’s Day-'Introductory Remarks' and 'Preparations for Woman's Day' by Jessie Benning Staite
  • Woman's Day-'Woman's Day' by Lori Weinstien and Invitation for the celebration of Woman’s Day
  • Woman's Day-‘Remarks on Woman’s Day’ [Edith Crapo]
  • Sub-Series: Kings Daughters Circles
  • Box 1:
  • Do What You Can Circle
  • Norman Circle
  • Whatsoever Circle
  • Utile Ten Circle
  • Box 1:
  • The Ladies Musical Club
  • The Mosaics
  • The Shakespeare club
  • The Alpha Club
  • The Fortnightly
  • The Burlington Federation of Women’s Clubs
  • Series 2: 1946
  • Box 1:
  • The Celebration of the Centennial (folder 1)
  • The Celebration of the Centennial (folder 2)
  • The Celebration of the Centennial (folder 3)
  • The Celebration of the Centennial (folder 4)
  • Women's Clubs contributions (folder 1) - 1946
    The Stars and Stripes Chapter; Daughters of the American Revolution
    Business and Professional Women's Club
    League of Women Voters
    The King's Daughters
    Dr. Jennie McCowen Section of King's Daughters
    The P.E.O. Sisterhood
    Tri T Society
    The Book Club
    The Shakespeare Club
  • Women's Clubs contributions (folder 2) - 1946
    The Red Cross
  • Crapo Park - 1946
    includes speeches by Clarence Schneider and Harold Steinbrecher and a slide of the Centennial Garden
  • Sub-Series: The Woman of 1946
  • Box 1:
  • The Box
  • Reflections on Women’s Ideals
  • Accomplishments of the past fifty years
  • Women in War work
  • The Iowa Clubwoman
  • Series 3: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa State Flag
  • United States Flag - 1896, 1946

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.