Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charlotte Shivvers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1995-1996
Creator: Shivvers, Charlotte (1935-)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0896
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Unitarian Universalist minister and daughters of Iowa State Senator Vera Shivvers

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 682) were donated by Charlotte Shivvers in 2013.

Preferred Citation: Charlotte Shivvers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Charlotte Shivvers was born in 1935 to John and Vera Shivvers on their family farm in Knoxville, Iowa. John Shivvers was elected to the Iowa State Senate in 1962, but died before he could take office. Vera Shivvers filled her husband's seat, becoming the third woman to serve in the Iowa State Senate. Charlotte Shivvers married twice, first to Vergil Brown, with whom she had three children, and later Bob Baker. She worked as a realtor before becoming a Unitarian Universalist minister in California. In 1996, she returned to Iowa to practice sustainable farming with her sisters Martha Shivvers Skillman and Marietta Shivvers Carr on the family's 520 acre farm, which they inherited in 1990. Charlotte Shivvers later founded the Rural History Buffs, a guided tour company that explored Iowa history.

The Charlotte Shivvers papers date from 1995 to 1996 and measure 2.00 linear inches. The collection contains sermons written and delivered by Shivvers at the Sepulveda Unitarian Universalist Society in North Hills, California. Her sermons range from topics of love and service to adoption and affirmative action. Also included is an essay by Shivvers about her father, John Shivvers, describing his experiences in France during World War One and the insights on farming and ethics that he passed onto his daughters.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Sermons - 1995
  • Sermons - 1996
  • John Shivvers - 1996

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.