Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Esther Treptow Clark

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-2010
Creator: Clark, Esther Treptow (1905-2004)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0893
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Daughter of German immigrants whose scrapbook documents her life in the early 20th century.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1199) were donated by Dene Clark in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Esther Treptow Clark papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Esther Treptow Clark, the youngest child of German immigrants, was born in 1905.  She graduated from Pierson high school in Pierson, Iowa in 1922 and was the only Treptow child to pursue a higher education. During the 1920s, she attended Coe College, a secretarial school, and Iowa State University, from which she received a Bachelor's degree in Home Economics.  Esther Treptow married Theron Clark in 1930, and they had four children before Theron divorced Esther in 1945. She then moved with her children to Iowa City, where she began work for the University food service in approximately 1956. She retired as a supervisor in 1970 and moved to Colorado Springs, Colorado, where she volunteered at the Memorial Hospital. Esther Treptow Clark died in 2004.

Begin text here:The Esther Treptow papers date from 1921 to 2010 and measure 2 linear inches.

The collection contains brief correspondence with her son Dene Clark, a memorial service tribute, and her obituary. The collection contains a memory book entitled ''The Girl Graduate'', which includes information about Treptow's time at Pierson High School, such as descriptions of her dresses, gifts received for graduation, and photos of her classmates and teachers. The collection also contains 15 loose photos of classmates, friends and family, which span the years 1921 to1963.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General - 2005-2010
  • Memory Book - 1919-1922
  • Photographs - 1921-1963

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.