Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Connie McBurney

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1996-2002
Creator: Connie McBurney (1940-)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0888
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Journalist and 1996 congressional candidate.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in SCVF

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1181) were donated by E. Joyce Schulte in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Connie McBurney papers,  Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Connie McBurney was born in 1940 in the rural Iowa community of Lacey. McBurney attended public schools in Johnston and Des Moines, and studied nursing and journalism at the University of Iowa. After earning her degree in broadcast communications, McBurney began a 24 year career at KCCI TV-8 as a writer, reporter, producer and chief weather anchor. A staunch advocate for Iowa communities, she created the Project Mainstreet community development program, and established the Mike Reynolds Journalism Scholarship for Iowa undergraduate students. In 1994 she joined the Blank Children's Hospital, working as a Child Advocate.  In 1996, McBurney announced her candidacy as a Democrat for Congress in Iowa's Fourth District. Her campaign staff included future White House Senior Advisor David Axelrod. Though she earned the Democratic nomination, with 47 percent of votes, she lost the general election to Republican Greg Ganske, who secured 52 percent of votes.

The Connie McBurney papers date from 1996 to 2002 and measure 2 linear inches.

The collection contains documents from her 1996 campaign, such as pamphlets, stickers, newspaper articles, and newsletters, "Connie Mc Burney Congress" and "Connie Mac's Facts on Fax".  Newspaper reports detail of some of her campaign stops. Photographs, negatives, and t-shirts from her 1996 campaign complete the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CAMPAIGN - 1996

  • Series 1: CAMPAIGN - 1996
  • Box 1:
  • Campaign information - 1996
    SCVF
  • Box 2:
  • T-Shirts - 1996