Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Modesta and Genero Garnica papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1949-2004
Creator: Garnica, Modesta and Genero
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0885
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Davenport family that emigrated from Mexico in the 1910s.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 DVD.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 910 and 925) were donated by Sue Moreno and Ed Moreno in 2003.

Preferred Citation: Modesta and Genero Garnica papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Modesta Lopez Garnica (1901-1974) and Genero Garnica (1896-1973) were born in Mexico, and married in 1915. By 1918 they had immigrated to Kansas, where their eight children were born. Carmen (b. 1918), Joseph (b. 1919), Mary (b. 1921), Julia (b. 1922), Rosie (b. 1924), Josephine (b. 1926), Margaret (b. 1928), and Gabriel (b. 1929) were raised in Davenport, where Genero Garnica worked in a steel plant and the Oscar Mayer packing plant.

At a 1986 family reunion, a Quad City TImes journalist observed that the family Modesta and Genero Garnica founded had grown to include eight children, thirty-one grandchildren, fifty-nine great grandchildren, and six great-great-grandchildren, included members of Belgian, German, and Welsh ancestry, and spanned the Midwest.

The Modesta and Genero Garnica papers date from 1947-2004 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Family history and Josephine Garnica Moreno.

The Family history series contains a 2004 DVD, 'Garnica Christmas Reunion', which uses photographs, music, and narration to explore the history of the family throughout twentieth-century Iowa. Also included are photographs of Genero, Modesta, and their eight children.

The Josephine Garnica Moreno series includes Moreno's calendar, and correspondence she received from Mexico and Panama between 1947 and 1977.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY
Series 2: JOSEPHINE GARNICA MORENO

  • Series 1: FAMILY HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • 'Garnica Christmas reunion' - 2004
  • Photographs
  • Series 2: JOSEPHINE GARNICA MORENO
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1947-1977
  • Calendar - 1993-1997

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.