Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hedy Hustedde papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-2010
Creator: Hustedde, Hedy N.R. (1950-)
Extent: 6.90 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0879
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Homemaker and librarian who lived abroad in Berlin for four years during the 1980s.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1277) were donated by Hedy Hustedde in 2012.

Preferred Citation: Hedy Hustedde papers, Iowa Women’s Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Hedy Noreen Rose Hackenmiller, the only child of Wilfred and Mary Clute Hackenmiller, was born in Waterloo, Iowa in 1950. Hustedde attended Columbus High School in Waterloo; the University of Northern Iowa, receiving a B.A. in English; Marycrest College; and the University of Iowa, where she received a Master's degree in Library Science. She was employed at the Bettendorf Public Library, and volunteered at St. Paul the Apostle's church library, the Figge Art Museum library, and as a member of the German American Heritage Center Program Committee.
Hedy Hackenmiller married Michael Hustedde in 1974. The couple had three children: Hester "Ceit", Katrin, and William. The Husteddes lived in Berlin, Germany for four years between 1978 and 1982.

The Hedy Hustedde papers are organized in six series: Biographical, Correspondence, Diaries, Education, Professional and Volunteer Activities, and Artifacts.

The Biographical series (1879-1990) contains childhood writings by Hustedde, including "Bulletin Girls," documenting her work with a friend to produce weekly bulletins for the Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church in Waterloo.  Also included are an 1879 autograph book containing messages written to both Hustedde and an Eva A. Bullis, and her Brownie and Girl Scout friendship books from the late 1950s.

The Correspondence series (1975-2010) contains letters by Hustedde to her parents while she was living in Germany from 1978 to 1982 and letters from Hustedde to her mother-in-law, Anna, after the death of Anna’s husband William Hustedde in 1992.  Also included is a binder of postcards, notes, and favorite quotes sent by authors Hustedde wrote to in conjunction with her work at the Bettendorf Public Library, among them Isabelle Allende, Bill Bryson, Ray Bradbury, Caroline Cooney, Robert Fulguhm, P.D. James, Barbara Kingsolver, and R.L. Stine.

The Diaries 1961-2003) were written by Hustedde over a forty-year period, beginning when she was eleven years old; among the items are several desk and engagement calendars used as diaries.

The Education series (1958-1988) is organized by academic institutions Hustedde attended, beginning with grade school. Included are papers she wrote in high school and college, lecture notes, and high school and college yearbooks.

The Professional and Volunteer Activities series (1973-1983) includes material related to books about disabilities in the Bettendorf Public Library as well as material from a Christian Experience Weekend, a Catholic religious retreat program that originated in the Diocese of Dubuque, Iowa.

The Artifacts series contains a collection of paper napkins saved by Hustedde as souvenirs of places and special events.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: DIARIES
Series 4: EDUCATION
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL AND VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES
Series 6: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Autograph books, friendship book - 1879-1990
  • Booklet made for fun, undated
  • Church bulletins - 1969
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Letters to authors and their replies, binder - 1988-2002
  • Box 3:
  • To parents - 1975
  • To parents - 1976
  • To parents: January-March - 1977
  • To parents: February-December, from Germany - 1978
  • To parents: January-June, from Germany - 1979
  • To parents: July-December, from Germany - 1979
  • To parents: January-April, from Germany - 1980
  • To parents: May-December, from Germany - 1980
  • Box 4:
  • To parents: February-July, from Germany - 1981
  • To parents: August-December, from Germany - 1981
  • To parents: January-March, from Germany - 1982
  • To parents: April-August, from Germany - 1982
  • To mother-in-law - 2007
  • To mother-in-law - 2008-2010
  • Series 3: DIARIES
  • Box 5:
  • "Dear Diary" - 1961
  • "One Year Diary" - 1963
  • "Every Day Diary" - 1964
  • "One Year Diary" - 1966
  • "One Year Diary" - 1967
  • "One Year Diary" - 1968
  • "A Treasury of Inspiration" - 1969
  • "Public Diary" - 1970
  • "One Year Diary" - 1971
  • Box 6:
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1972
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1973
  • Arts of Korea diary - 1973
  • "Von Tag zu Tag" - 1974
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1975
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1976
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1977
  • Khalil Gibran diary - 1978
  • Diary - 1979
  • Box 7:
  • Diary - 1980
  • Diary - 1981
  • Marbled diary - 1982
  • National Gallery of Art "The Book of Days" - 1983
  • Diary - 1984
  • Diary - 1985
  • Appointment Diary - 1986
  • Diary - 1987
  • Box 8:
  • Diary - 1988
  • Diary - 1989
  • Marbled diary - 1990
  • "My Secret Garden Diary" - 1991
  • Floral diary - 1992
  • "On Writers and Writing" Desk Diary - 1993
  • "Women Who Dare" Engagement Calendar - 1994
  • "On Writers and Writing" Desk Diary - 1995
  • "A Literary Companion" Engagement calendar - 1997
  • "A Muse of Fire: A Shakespearean Journal" - 1998
  • Art Deco diary - 1999
  • Pocket diary - 2000
  • Harry Potter "Wizard's Journal" - 2001-2002
  • Journal - 2003
  • Series 4: EDUCATION
  • Box 9:
  • Des Moines Community College: "Phillis Wheatley" - 1975
  • Grade school: Conservation activities - 1962-1964
  • Grade school: Sixth grade fun project, undated
  • Grade school: "My miniature art collection" - 1958
  • Grade school: Weather reports - 1960
  • Grade school: Workbooks, undated
  • High school: Algebra - 1965
  • High school: Algebra - 1968
  • High school: American Government - 1968
  • High school: American History - 1967-1968
  • High school: Art appreciation - 1966
  • High school: Art II - 1978
  • High school: Book of sayings - 1964-1968
  • Box 10:
  • High school: Civil War - 1967
  • High school: Chemistry - 1968
  • High school: English - 1968
  • High school: English and Biology - 1960-1968
  • High school: Geometry - 1965
  • High school: History, undated
  • High school: Music - 1965
  • High school: Notes - 1965
  • High school: Class notes - 1965
  • High school: Notes on Shakespeare - 1967
  • Box 11:
  • High school: Class notes (2 folders) - 1967-1968
  • High school: Notes - 1968
  • High school: Notes - 1970
  • High school: Notes, undated
  • High school: Paper on Julius Caesar, undated
  • High school: Religion - 1964
  • High school: Religion - 1967-1968
  • High school: Trigonometry and analytical geometry - 1968-1969
  • Box 12:
  • High school: Twentieth reunion - 1988
  • High school: Typing - 1965
  • High school: The War in Our Time - 1965
  • High school: World history - 1968
  • High school: Yearbook - 1965
  • Box 13:
  • High school: Yearbook - 1966
  • High school: Yearbook - 1967
  • High school: Yearbook - 1968
  • High school: Yearbook - 1967
  • University of Northern Iowa: Basic math, Diary, Afro-American history - 1968
  • UNI: Composition class writings - 1969
  • UNI: Earth Science field trip - 1972
  • Box 14:
  • UNI: Events - 1970-1971
  • UNI: Exploring Music - 1968
  • UNI: Fundamentals of Speech, American History - 1970
  • UNI: Four notebooks - 1971
  • UNI: General Psychology - 1968
  • UNI: Honors program - 1972
  • UNI: Humanities I - 1968
  • UNI: Independent study, "On the Skin of Religion" - 1972
  • Box 15:
  • UNI: Introduction to Literature - 1969
  • UNI: Journalism - 1971
  • UNI: Library handbook - 1968
  • UNI: Miscellaneous notes and papers - 1971-1975
  • UNI: Modern British and American Poetry, paper on Hopkins - 1972
  • UNI: Class notes - 1972
  • UNI: Paper on history of John Deere and Company - 1972
  • UNI: Paper on John Deere and Company, resource material - 1972
  • UNI: Principles of Sociology - 1970
  • Box 16:
  • UNI: Yearbook, undated
  • Marycrest College: Educational Psychology and Measurement - 1986
  • Marycrest College: English notes, undated
  • Marycrest College: History and Philosphy of Education - 1985
  • Marycrest College: Introduction to Exceptionalities (2 folders) - 1987
  • Marycrest College: Library science course, Children's Literature (2 folders) - 1984
  • Box 17:
  • Marycrest College: Library Science course, Children's Literature projects - 1984
  • Marycrest College: Notes for three classes - 1984
  • Marycrest College: School Libraries - 1985
  • Marycrest College: Secondary School Methods - 1986
  • Marycrest College: Utilization of Media - 1984
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL AND VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES
  • Box 17:
  • Bettendorf Public Library, books about disabilities, undated
  • Christian Experience Weekend (CEW) - 1983
  • Commission on the Status of Women - 1976
  • Women's Community Leadership Institute Project (W/CLIP) - 1973-1975
  • Series 6: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 18:
  • Paper napkin collection, undated