Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the LeAnn Erickson papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1996
Creator: LeAnn Erickson
Extent: 9.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0872
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Filmmaker whose documentary From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories explores the history of the Emma Goldman Clinic.

Alternate Extent Statement: 22 DVDs, shelved in digital collection.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1242) were donated by Johanna Schoen in 2011.

Preferred Citation: LeAnn Erickson papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Filmmaker LeAnn Erickson graduated from the University of Iowa in 1988 and worked as a high school art teacher before returning to the University to earn an MFA in film and video art in 1992. Her filmography includes experimental films, animation, and documentaries. Erickson's first full-length documentary, From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories , was completed in 1996. She directed and produced Neighbor Ladies in 2005, followed by the PBS documentary Top Secret Rosies: The Female Computers of WWII in 2010. Her films screened at festivals in Canada, Germany, and Italy, winning numerous grants and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, the AAUW, the Jerome Foundation and the Leeway Foundation. Erickson was an Associate Professor of film and video production in the Department of Film and Media Arts at Temple University.

The LeAnn Erickson papers date from 1996 and measure 9 linear inches. The collection is arranged into one series: From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories .

The From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories series (1996) includes Erickson's 1996 documentary From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories .  This 83 minute film uses oral histories and written accounts to reconstruct the founding of the clinic and ethos of the collective. The film details the organizational structure of the clinic, early issues and debates, and outside social influences.  Other topics covered include the late 1970's organizational restructure, threats from anti-abortion activists and extremists, and the move from 715 N. Dodge St. in Iowa City.  Also included are 21 interviews on DVD, collected for the documentary from the women who founded and staffed the Emma Goldman Clinic, along with corresponding notes and transcripts.
Emma Goldman Clinic Records.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FROM ONE PLACE TO ANOTHER: EMMA GOLDMAN CLINIC STORIES

  • Series 1: FROM ONE PLACE TO ANOTHER: EMMA GOLDMAN CLINIC STORIES
  • Box 1:
  • Oral history notes (folder 1)
  • Oral history notes (folder 2)
  • Oral history transcript binder
  • Documentary film [V171, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Jennifer Britton [V439, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Lorna Campbell [V440, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Flora Cassilano [V441, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Barb Curtin [V442, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Diane Finnerty [V443, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Diane Greene [V444, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Sharon Hamilton [V445, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Gina Kaefring [V446, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Peg McElroy [V447, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Deb Nye [V448, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Patti ressley [V449, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Laurie Rey [V450, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Ann Rhomberg [V451, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Gayle Sand [V452, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Alicia Starr [V453, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Roxie Tullis [V454, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Barb Yates [V455, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Reunion Snapshots [V456, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • 715 N. Dodge [V457, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Kimela Nelsen [V458, shelved in digital collection] - 1996
  • Joan Harris, Michelle Womantree and Beth Brooks [V459, shelved in digital collection] - 1996