Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Medical Society Auxiliary records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1998
Creator: Iowa Medical Society Auxiliary (1929-)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0871
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Organization of physicians' spouses that worked to advance health and health education and to support medical families

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 12-20. One artifact housed in plaque case.

Access: The papers are open for research

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1285) were donated by Dorothy K. Carpenter in 2012.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Medical Society Auxiliary records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Iowa State Medical Society Women's Auxiliary was organized in May 1929 by thirty-five wives of doctors belonging to the Society. They presented their case for a Woman's Auxiliary to the State Medical Society, which passed a motion establishing the auxiliary. The first official meeting of the Woman's Auxiliary was held in May 1930.
The Auxiliary existed to advance health and health education, and to support medical families and healthy families through advocacy and volunteer work. Areas of focus have included traffic safety, safe communities, the depiction of violence in entertainment, mental health issues, and immunization drives. Encouraging young people interested in health-related careers was also one of the group's activities; the Auxiliary sponsored high school Future Nurses clubs and health-science career days.
In the 1970s male spouses were allowed to join and the word "Woman's" was dropped from the organization's name. The American Medical Association Auxiliary became the American Medical Association Alliance in 1992, and the Iowa Medical Society Auxiliary followed its example in 1993, becoming the Iowa Medical Society Alliance. Membership was later opened to families, spouses of any gender, and physicians themselves.

The Iowa Medical Society Auxiliary records are divided into six series: Administrative, Annual Meeting, Meeting Minutes, Newsletter, Scrapbook, and Miscellaneous.

The Administrative series (1932-1977) includes copies of the Auxiliary's constitution and by-laws, drafts and revisions of these documents, a memorial album about deceased Iowa Medical Society (IMS) and Auxiliary members, and a notebook containing the early records of the Boone County branch.

The Annual Meeting series (1936-2006) contains materials pertaining to the organization and planning of the state-level annual conference, as well as minutes and programs from past conferences.

The Meeting Minutes series (1929-1998) includes both generic and board-specific meeting minutes, as well as a binder of materials from the Councilor of the Seventh District: Jackson, Clinton, Dubuque, Jones, Cedar, Johnson, Linn, Delaware, and Buchanan counties. Medical societies divided their states into districts for administration and representation purposes.  A councilor was elected each year to serve as a delegate to the local auxiliaries from the state-level IMS Auxiliary and board of directors.

The Newsletter series (1938-1980) materials are largely in a bound-volume format.  Included are copies of the monthly newsletter of the IMS Auxiliary under its various names over time, as well as annual reports.

The Miscellaneous series (1935-1994) includes materials regarding the debate surrounding the medical licensure of osteopaths and an award plaque from the AMA- Educational and Research Foundation in the shape of the state of Iowa [shelved in the plaque case].

The Scrapbooks series (1929-1980) documents the members, leadership, and activities of the Auxiliary, including such undertakings as luncheons, lectures, balls, and charity sales.  One 1970s event program offered wine and cheese tasting, an auction, and disco.  Three topical scrapbooks concern the Future Nurses Clubs and the Auxiliary's Press and Publicity Committee; the latter are loosely organized by county.
The Welch and Angrick Collection at the Iowa Women's Archives contains yearbooks from the Woman's Auxiliary to the Iowa Medical Society.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: ANNUAL MEETING
Series 3: MEETING MINUTES
Series 4: NEWSLETTER
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Constitution and bylaws booklets - 1932-1956
  • Constitutional Amendments and by-law revisions - 1940-1951
  • "Revisions" Binder - 1932-1952
  • Revised constitution and bylaws drafts - 1957
  • Regarding revisions to constitution and bylaws - 1956-1957
  • Boone County Auxiliary constitution, bylaws, and minutes notebook - 1949-1965
  • Boone County Auxiliary notebook loose items - 1971-1976
  • Official reports - 1938-1951
  • "In Remembrance" album - 1965-1977
  • Series 2: ANNUAL MEETING
  • Box 2:
  • Programs - 1936-1954
  • "Annual Meeting" binder loose items (two folders) - 1963-1970
  • Area Chairman's binder - 1963-1985
  • Minutes - 1954-1963
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1970-1972
  • Box 11:
  • Scrapbook pages - 2005-2006
    [oversized items]
  • Series 3: MEETING MINUTES
  • Box 3:
  • Board minutes, office copies - 1958-1965
  • Board minutes, official copies - 1966-1971
  • Box 4:
  • "Duplicate Copies" - 1964-1967
  • "Councilor, Seventh District" binder - 1960-1985
  • "Councilor, Seventh District" loose items - 1978-1985
  • General meeting minutes - 1929-1962
  • Box 5:
  • Board meeting minutes - 1953-1962
  • Board meeting minutes - 1962-1968
  • Board meeting minutes - 1968-1975
  • Box 6:
  • Board meeting minutes - 1976-1981
  • Board meeting minutes - 1982-1987
  • Board meeting minutes - 1987-1991
  • Box 7:
  • Board meeting minutes - 1992-1998
  • Series 4: NEWSLETTER
  • Box 8:
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1938-1949
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1949-1953
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1953-1956
  • Box 9:
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1956-1959
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1959-1962
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1962-1966
  • Box 10:
  • Woman's Auxiliary News - 1966-1972
  • Woman's Auxiliary to the Iowa Medical Society - 1972
  • IMS Auxiliary News - 1972-1980
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 10:
  • General - 1955-1994
  • Osteopath Licensure - 1935-1952
  • American Medical Assocation ERF award plaque - 1968
    [shelved in plaque case]
  • Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 12:
  • Red and gold scrapbook - 1929-1977
  • Box 13:
  • Red and gold scrapbook - 1939-1979
  • Box 14:
  • "History Committee" - 1958-1963
  • Box 15:
  • "Historian" - 1970-1975
  • Box 16:
  • Future Nurses Clubs of Iowa and health career interest programs - 1957-1964
  • Box 17:
  • Press and Publicity - 1953-1954
  • Box 18:
  • Press and Publicity - 1954-1955
  • Box 19:
  • "Historian" Scrapbook - 1975-1980