Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Irene and Jose Guzman papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-1979
Creator: Guzman, Irene and José
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0870
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Photographs and slides pertaining to the Guzman's role in the Migrant Action Program in Mason City, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs and slides in Box 1, Oral History Interviews in the Mujeres Latinas Collection.

Arrangement: Photographs and slides available in the Iowa Digital Library.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers were donated by Irene and José Guzman (donor no. 1118) in 2007.

Preferred Citation: Irene and José Guzman Papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Irene Guzman was born in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, in 1943, the eldest of Emma Chavez Zamora and Jesse Zamora's three children. Her family lived in Albert Lea, Minnesota. She attended school through the eleventh grade and earned her GED after becoming involved with the Migrant Action Program.

José Guzman was born in Kennedy, Texas, in 1940, the youngest of Julia Garza Guzman and Gregorio Guzman's ten surviving children. He grew up primarily in Karnes City, Texas, traveling to Hampton, Iowa, each year, where his family worked as agricultural laborers.

Irene Zamora and José Guzman met as teenagers at a dance in Minnesota and married in the spring of 1961. They had three children: Ernie, Daniel, and Michael. While living in Mason City, 25 miles north of Hampton, they became involved in the Migrant Action Program and later moved to Des Moines to be near the seat of state government, in order to better represent the interests of Iowa Latina/os. José Guzman worked as an outreach worker and organizer for the Migrant Action Program; Irene Guzman testified in support of migrant child labor legislation in Iowa and later worked as a caseworker for the Iowa Department of Human Services.

The Irene and Jose Guzman Papers comprise Photographs and Slides detailing their involvement with the Migrant Action Program (MAP).
Mujeres Latinas Oral History Project, Iowa Women's Archives, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.
Shirley Sandage Papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.