Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Subject Files on Iowa Women

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-2014
Creator:
Extent: 2.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0869
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Subject files pertaining to Iowa organizations and women.

Arrangement: The collection is divided into three series: Biographies, Organizations, and Subjects.

Access: The collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donors has been retained by the donors.

Acquisition: Compiled by Iowa Women's Archives staff.

Preferred Citation: Subject Files on Iowa Women, Iowa Women's Archives, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Subject files pertaining to Iowa organizations and women.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHIES
Series 2: ORGANIZATIONS
Series 3: SUBJECTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHIES
  • Addington, Julia
  • Alexander, Margaret Walker
  • Allen, Mary
  • Anderson, Eugenie
  • Austin, Kate
  • Bailey, Regenia
  • Barrett, Montgomery "Monte"
  • Beam, Ida Cordelia
  • Beane, Leora Ryan
  • Bedell, Virginia
  • Beglin, Beth
  • Bergman, Marcia
  • Blaise, Emma K.
  • Bloesch, Ethel
  • Brooks, Gertrude M.
  • Buss, Marie L.
  • Carson, Marie
  • Catlett, Elizabeth
  • Catt, Carrie Chapman
  • Chadima, Helen
  • Chan, Lan Samantha
  • Chapman, Corinne
  • Cheatom, Joeanna
  • Cherry Sisters
  • Clark, Susan
  • Closz, Harriet
  • Coleman, Mary Sue
  • Cooley, Wayne
  • Cranberg, Norma Elaine Ansher
  • Crider, Michele
  • Cronbaugh, Tara
  • Cunningham, Rosa
  • Davis, Evelyn
  • Davis, Nan Doak
  • Dillon-Ridgley, Dianne
  • Earhart, Amelia
  • Eisenhower, Mamie
  • Emerson, Hope
  • Emery, Imogen B.
  • Engle, Hualing Nieh
  • Etter, William L. (Mrs.)
  • Flanagan, Hallie Ferguson
  • Freeburg, Rosanne
  • Friedman Twins
  • Gallaher, Ruth
  • Garst, Mary and Liz
  • Goldman, Emma
  • Grassley, Charles
  • Hadley, D. Lee
  • Hanft, Ethel
  • Harkin, Ruth
  • Headley, Sally
  • Hertle, Judi
  • Hinshaw, Linda
  • Hoover, Lou Henry
  • Horowitz, Susan
  • Houghton, Dorothy
  • Irwin, Annabelle Bowen
  • Jadairab, Najwa
  • Johnson, Adah
  • Johnson, Miriam Pyle
  • Jones, E. Stanley (Mrs.)
  • Kahlo, Frida
  • Kennet, Shirley
  • Kirschbaum, Kathryn
  • Lackender, Geraldine
  • Lee, Angie
  • Lepert, Clara
  • Lyon, Norma "Duffy"
  • Mansfield, Arabella
  • May, Francis
  • McCloskey, Deidre
  • McCollister, Elizabeth "Betty"
  • McKee, Margaret
  • McNutt, Mary Elizabeth
  • Mendieta, Ana
  • Morsch, Lucile M.
  • Nelson, Harriet
  • O'Halloran, Mary
  • O'Neill, Madge V.
  • Pedersen, Sally
  • Propp, Carrie
  • Raymond, Arlene
  • Reed, Donna
  • Rodolfo-Sioson, Miya
  • Ross, Marie
  • Rowley, Collen
  • Russell, Lillian
  • Ryan, Kathryn Morgan
  • Sammons, Elizabeth
  • Sampson, Atlanta Constance
  • Samuelson, Agnes
  • Savery, Annie
  • Sayre, Ruth Baxton
  • Schlafly, Phyllis
  • Schroeder, Pat
  • Shaprio, Miriam
  • Scott, Aurelia
  • Shelley, Kate
  • Sherman, Althea
  • Singer, Phyllis
  • Smeltzer, Ann
  • Smith, Ida B. Wise
  • Southern, Neta Snook
  • Stanton, Dr. Gertrude
  • Sudlow, Phebe W.
  • Taylor, Ella C.
  • Ternus, Marsha
  • Thomas, Julie
  • Tinley, Mary Louise
  • Tsuffis, Mary Lee Toomes
  • Tye, Martha Ellen
  • Walker, Nelle Verne
  • Wallace, Naomi
  • Wanatee, Adeline
  • Webb, Beulah
  • Webster, Catherine
  • Wellman, Beth
  • Whitson, Peggy
  • Williams, Carrie
  • Willson, Dixie
  • Wilson, Cristine
  • Wilson, Margaret
  • Wilson, Marie
  • Wittenmeyer, Annie
  • Series 2: ORGANIZATIONS
  • African-American Historical Musem (Cedar Rapids)
  • Aid to Women Pregnancy Counseling
  • Alternatives Environmental
  • Burlington Protestant Hospital School for Nurses
  • CEC Child Care Center
  • Chrysalis Foundation
  • Cooperative Extension Service
  • Cornell College (coeducational college)
  • Davenport Visiting Nurse Association
  • Defenders for Life
  • Democratic Party
  • Des Moines Art Center
  • Domestic Violence Intervention Program
  • Farm Bureau Women, Iowa
  • Feminists for Free Expression
  • 50-50 in 2020
  • Iowa City School Board
  • Iowa Farm Bureau Women's Program
  • Iowa Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • Iowa Futures Unlimited: building better futures for girls and for Iowa's Economy
  • Iowa Girls' High School Athletic Union
  • Iowa Organization for Victim Assistance (IOVA)
  • Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys
  • Iowa Peace Institute
  • Iowa Peace Networks
  • Iowa River Valley Heritage Alliance
  • Iowa Women in Community Service
  • Iowans for Medical Control of Aboration
  • Jewish Women's Archives
  • Johnson County Historical Society
  • La Leche League
  • Lafky, Sue, Support Group
  • League of Women Voters of Scott County
  • Mary O. Coldren Home for Aged Women, Iowa City
  • Master Homemakers
  • National 19th Ammendment Society [Carrie Chapman Catt home, Charles City, Iowa]
  • National Black Women's Political Caucus
  • National Farmer's Union (Ames)
  • National Woman's Christian Temperance Union
  • National Women's History Project
  • National Women's Studies Association
  • North American Farm Alliance Women's Project
  • P.E.O. Sisterhood
  • Planned Parenthood
  • Prairie Fire Rural Action
  • Professional Women's Network
  • Radical Cheerleaders
  • Republican Party
  • Roadside Settlement House (Des Moines)
  • Sister! Ink
  • Sisters of Charity, BVM: Mount Carmel (Dubuque, Iowa)
  • St. Joseph's Hospital School of Nursing (Keokuk, Iowa)
  • The Tool Box [Sex-positive shop] (Iowa City, Iowa)
  • United Nations Association---Women's Issues
  • University of Iowa: Administration
  • University of Iowa: American Indian Program
  • University of Iowa: Conference: "Women at Iowa: Working, Teaching, Learning," April 10, 1992
  • University of Iowa: Currier Hall Integration
  • University of Iowa: Distinguished Alumni Awards
  • University of Iowa: Distinguished Women
  • University of Iowa: Explicit Material, policy on
  • University of Iowa: Faculty, women
  • University of Iowa: Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance
  • University of Iowa: Frances Brophy Award-- Congress, Women in the
  • University of Iowa: Human Rights Committee
  • University of Iowa: Ida Cordelia Beam professorships
  • University of Iowa: Parental leave, policy on
  • University of Iowa: Safewalk
  • University of Iowa: Sesquicentennial
  • University of Iowa: Sexual Harrassment, policy on
  • University of Iowa: Theta Sigma Pi
  • University of Iowa: Women's Firsts
  • Women Accepted for Voluntary Emergency Service (WAVES)
  • Women's Army Corps (WAC)
  • Women's National Book Association
  • Women's Voices Conference, Des Moines, 1994
  • YWCA of Ames, Iowa
  • YWCA, Des Moines, Iowa
  • Series 3: SUBJECTS
  • Abortion
  • Acquired Immune Deficency Syndrome (AIDS)
  • Adoption
  • African-americans in Iowa
  • Aging
  • Amish
  • Anti-abortion
  • Art, Women in
  • Asian Americans in Iowa
  • Barns
  • Baseball, Women's [Reese Family]
  • Basketball, Girls and women in
  • Bettendorf
  • Birth control
  • Breastfeeding
  • Business, Women in
  • Button making (Muscatine, Iowa)
  • Buxton, Iowa
  • Calendar girls, Villisca
  • Census---Iowa
  • Child care/ child welfare
  • Conservative Christians
  • Court settlements---Women
  • Credit History, Women's
  • Disability Rights
  • Domestic Violence Intervention Program Newsletter
  • Doula (professional birthing assistant)
  • Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), general
  • ERA, literature against
  • ERA, literature in favor of
  • Families
  • Family Leave Bill
  • Famous Iowa Women
  • Farming, Women in
  • Farms and farming
  • Fashions [Valerie Van Kooten]
  • Filipinos in Iowa
  • First Women
  • Gay and Lesbian Issues
  • Gender Bias
  • Girls
  • Girly Porn Comic "Small Favors"
  • Graffiti Theatre
  • Guns
  • Health Care and Women
  • History Conferences, Women
  • History, Museums
  • History, Women in
  • Iowa 75th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage
  • Iowa Authors
  • Iowa City Free Clinic
  • Iowa City Organizations
  • Iowa City Women
  • Iowa Organizations (1959)
  • Iowa Politics
  • Iowa State Flag
  • Iowa Women in Business
  • Iowa Women in History
  • Iowa Women in Public Policy
  • Iraqi war, women
  • Jews in Iowa
  • Journalism, Women in (Oral History Project)
  • Law
  • Law Enforcement, Women in
  • Men's Movement
  • Midwives
  • Military, Women in the
  • Military---Fort Des Moines
  • Ministry, Women in the
  • Mormons
  • Moxie: The Thinking Woman's Magazine
  • Music, women in
  • Name retention/changing
  • Native-American Women
  • Nineteenth Century: Heckert, Lizzie Fellows
  • Nineteenth Century: Phelps, Caroline
  • Nineteenth Century: Pickett, Belinda Cooley
  • Notable Women---Biographical Calendars
  • Nursing
  • Oralabor
  • Pageants and contests
  • Philanthropy, Women in
  • Photography
  • Politics, Women in
  • Prostitution/ Sex work
  • Quilts
  • Race Car Drivers, Women
  • Railway Workers, Women
  • Red Oak, Iowa
  • Rosie, the Riveter
  • Rural Iowa
  • Same-sex Marriage
  • Science, Women in
  • Sexual Assault
  • Single-sex Classrooms
  • Six-on-Six Girls' Basketball
  • Slutwalk (Iowa City)
  • Stalking
  • Superintendent of Schools
  • Take Back the Night
  • "Take Our Daughters to Work Day"
  • Theater, Women in
  • The Beacon: A quarterly update from the Beacon of Life residential center for homeless women
  • Title IX
  • Today's Woman
  • Transgender Issues
  • U.S. Congress---Women
  • UN Fourth World Conference on Women
  • Underground Railroad in Iowa
  • Unwed Mothers
  • White House Project
  • Women and voting
  • Women's Athletics
  • Women's Clubs
  • Women's Clubs: Dubuque, Iowa
  • Women's History catalogs
  • Women's History Month
  • Women's Movement in Iowa
  • Workforce, Women in the
  • Wrestling, Women in

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.