Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Luella Rynerson Smith papers

Collection Overview

Date Span:
Creator: Smith, Luella Rynerson (1876-1948)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: IWA0861
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Home extension course, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and other early twentieth century rural organization publications collected by an Iowa farm wife.

Access: The papers are open for research

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1321) were donated by Mary Bywater Cross in 2012.

Preferred Citation: Luella Rynerson Smith papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Luella "Lulu" Rynerson, great-grandmother of donor Mary Bywater Cross, was born in 1876 and lived in the Monticello, Iowa, area. She married John Campbell Smith in 1913. As a leader in rural women's organizations, she amassed a collection of resources for farm women published by the Home Extension program of Iowa State (now Iowa State University) and other agencies. Luella Smith died in 1948.

The Luella Rynerson Smith papers are organized in seven series: Rural Farm Organizations, Home Extension Course Leadership, Family, Booklets, Sewing, Miscellaneous, and Smith Family Embroidery Patterns.

The Rural Farm Organizations series (1930-1932 and undated) contains material related to programming and leadership of various organizations, including songs, readings, recitations, and skits appropriate for community pageants.

The Home Extension Course Leadership series (1929-1932 and undated) includes materials from Lulu Rynerson Smith's involvement as a leader and instructor of self-improvement and home management courses for rural women.  Nutrition and childcare are among the topics covered.

The Family series (1884-1989) contains a folder of letters received by turn of the nineteenth century Iowa City resident Jessie Cannon Bywater, a relative of Luella Rynerson's, and a folder containing mid-century fabric samples from the home of one of the donor's relatives.

Booklets series (1915-1937) contains a wide selection of booklets published by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and various extension agencies on a variety of topics, including home décor and management, tailoring, livestock, cooking, and gardening.

Sewing (undated) contains fabric and yarn samples, as well as paper pattern pieces, including some for a size "brassiere."

Miscellaneous (1926 and undated) contains holiday tissue paper, miniature American flags, and other items falling outside the bounds of the series above.

Smith Family Embroidery Patterns (1886-1941) includes both printed and hand-drawn paper patterns and written instructions for embroidery and crochet projects handed down in the Smith family.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: RURAL FARM ORGANIZAIONS
Series 2: HOME EXTENSION COURSE LEADERSHIP
Series 3: FAMILY
Series 4: BOOKLETS
Series 5: SEWING
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 7: SMITH FAMILY EMBROIDERY PATTERNS

  • Series 1: RURAL FARM ORGANIZAIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Programming - 1932
  • Songs, readings, and recitations - 1930
  • Skits, pageants and plays, undated
  • Leadership materials, undated
  • Gardening, undated
  • Home décor and maintenance, undated
  • Personal well-being, undated
  • Miscellaneous, undated
  • Series 2: HOME EXTENSION COURSE LEADERSHIP
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1930
  • Child-rearing - 1929
  • Garden and landscape, undated
  • Food and nutrition, undated
  • Home decoration and management - 1932
  • Clothing course IV, undated
  • Leader's notebook - 1930
  • Series 3: FAMILY
  • Box 1:
  • Jessie Cannon Bywater- Letters from cousins, sisters, and friends - 1884-1913
  • Fabric Samples from Grandmother McNeill's house, sent to Mary Bywater Cross by Margaret Fowler - 1989
  • Series 4: BOOKLETS
  • Box 1:
  • Health - 1922
  • Childcare - 1924-1929
  • Box 2:
  • Birds - 1916-1922
  • Clothing and millinery - 1915-1937
  • Home management (2 folders) - 1915-1932
  • Home décor - 1924-1926
  • Livestock and milk - 1921-1932
  • Fruits and Vegetables - 1915-1932
  • Cooking and the kitchen - 1919-1922
  • Food and nutrition
  • Series 5: SEWING
  • Box 2:
  • Fabric swatches, undated
  • Pattern pieces, undated
  • Royalsun yarn materials, undated
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1926
  • Holiday tissue paper, undated
  • Miniature American flags, undated
  • Series 7: SMITH FAMILY EMBROIDERY PATTERNS
  • Box 3:
  • Figural, undated
  • Animal, undated
  • Botanical, undated
  • Letters and abstract designs, undated
  • Embroidery clippings - 1895-1941
  • Crochet clippings - 1893-1911
  • Miscellaneous - 1886-1902