Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Kathryn W. Hansen

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-2012
Creator:
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0859
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Photographer, Peace Corps volunteer, and United Nations Association leader and member.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1204) were donated by Kathryn "Katy" Hansen in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Kathryn W. Hansen papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Kathryn W. Hansen papers date from 1959 to 2012.  The papers are arranged in nine series:  Biographical, Education, Peace Corps, Campaign for Sioux County Supervisor, Photography, Non-Governmental Organizations, Publications, Artifacts, and Uganda.

The Biographical series (1974-2007) contains awards and certificates received by Katy and Peter Hansen, as well as materials regarding the purchase, operation, and sale of the ranch they co-owned with John D. Te Paske in the Orange City area.

The Education series (1962-1979) concerns Katy Hansen's post-secondary education and includes academic papers and her graduate chemistry thesis. The Peace Corps series (1964-2007) includes material related to the Hansens' service in Nigeria, their involvement in Returned Peace Corps Volunteers for the Environment, and a Peace Corps alumni trip to the Soviet Union in 1987.

The Campaign for Sioux County Supervisor series (1986) contains publicity and campaign materials, photographs, and news coverage from Hansen's unsuccessful bid as the Democratic candidate for county supervisor.

The Photography series (1969-1994) concerns Hansen's Orange City, Iowa freelance photography business and courses she taught at Northwestern Community College.  Examples of photographs, cards, and lesson plans and handouts are included.

The Non-Governmental Organizations series (1985-2005) documents Hansen's involvement in non-profit and activist groups. Materials regarding a cultural exchange trip by women from the Soviet Union to northwest Iowa, the United Nations Association, and her trips to global conferences, including the Rio Di Janeiro Earth Summit and the Roots of the Future conference are included.

The Publications series (1969-2012) contains writings by and about Hansen, the U.N., the Peace Corps, Northwest College, and Orange City.

The Artifacts series (1986-2007) includes  plaques Hansen received for her activism and items from her political campaign.

The Uganda series (1976-2003) consists of research files and papers by Katy Hansen concerning the political system and conditions in Uganda under military dictator Idi Amin's regime from 1971-1979.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: EDUCATION
Series 3: PEACE CORPS
Series 4: CAMPAIGN FOR SIOUX COUNTY SUPERVISOR
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHY
Series 6: NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS
Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
Series 8: ARTIFACTS
Series 9: UGANDA

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1979-1994
  • Awards and certificates - 1987-2007
  • Hansen-Te Paske Ranch - 1974-1993
  • Series 2: EDUCATION
  • Box 1:
  • Alfred University - 1962-1969
  • Iowa State University: General - 1963-1966
  • Iowa State University: Seminars - 1964
  • Iowa State University: Monthly Reports - 1962-1965
  • Iowa State University: Papers: Structure and Bonding in CH3PF4 and (CH3)2PF3, undated
  • Iowa State University: Papers: Electron Diffraction Study of the Structure of PF5, undated
  • Iowa State University: Papers: Master's Thesis - 1965
  • Iowa State University: Theory and Derivations, undated
  • PF5 backgrounds - 1963-1965
  • Experimental - 1964
  • Box 2:
  • Drawings, undated
  • PF5 miscellaneous - 1959-1965
  • Arizona State University: Records - 1979-1981
  • Arizona State University: HED689 Academic Structure of Northwest College, undated
  • Arizona State University: Papers - 1979
  • Publications, undated
  • Series 3: PEACE CORPS
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1964-1969
  • Returned Peace Corps Volunteers for Environment and Devleopment: General - 1998-2007
  • Returned Peace Corps Volunteers for Environment and Devleopment: Newsletter - 1991-1998
  • Box 3:
  • Returned Peace Corps Volunteers for Environment and Devleopment: Newsletter - 1998-2006
  • Returned Peace Corps Volunteers for Environment and Devleopment: Clinton inauguration - 1992-1993
  • Ploughshares' Soviet Union Tour - 1987
  • Series 4: CAMPAIGN FOR SIOUX COUNTY SUPERVISOR
  • Box 3:
  • Campaign materials - 1986
  • Publicity and pictures - 1986
  • Newspaper clippings - 1986
  • Precinct results spreadsheet - 1986
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHY
  • Box 4:
  • Model Releases - 1970-1985
  • Exhibits - 1973-1986
  • Flood Story on Gene Nelson - 1980
  • Be a Shutterbug! essay, undated
  • Courses: General - 1973-1986
  • Courses: Experiments in Photography - 1981
  • Courses: NWCC Photography 264 - 1989-1990
  • Katy's Photography: Miscellaneous - 1973-1994
  • Box 5:
  • Katy's Photography: Items Featuring Hansen's Images (2 folders) - 1973-1990
  • Katy's Photography: Cards by Katy - 1969-1991
  • Series 6: NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 5:
  • What Works Newsletter: General - 1995-1996
  • What Works Issues 1-2 - 1995
  • Box 6:
  • What Works Newsletter: Issues 3-6 - 1996
  • What Works Newsletter: Issues 7-9 - 1996-1997
  • Women, Food, and Agriculture Network Newsletter - 1998-2005
  • Center for Rural Affairs and Rural Enterprise Assistance Project (two folders) - 1989-1996
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: General - 1985-1992
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: Women Hold Up Half the Sky workshops - 1991
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: US/Soviet Women's Exchange: General - 1985
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: US/Soviet Women's Exchange: Newspaper clippings - 1985
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: US/Soviet Women's Exchange:Negatives - 1985
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: US/Soviet Women's Exchange:Photographs - 1985
  • Box 7:
  • Northwest Iowa Peace Links: Rio Summit Information - 1993
  • Roots of the Future conference: General - 1991
  • Roots of the Future conference: Photographs - 1991
  • Iowa Division, U.N. Association: Beijing Declaration in Sioux County - 1995-1996
  • Iowa Division, U.N. Association: Rio Di Janeiro Earth Summit: General - 1992
  • Iowa Division, U.N. Association: Rio Di Janeiro Earth Summit: Papers on the People's Treaties, undated
  • World Women's Congress for a Healthy Planet report - 1991
  • Iowa Division, U.N. Association: Rio Di Janeiro Earth Summit: The People's Treaties - 1992
  • Box 8:
  • Roots of the Future conference: Compendium of Citizens Movements Responses - 1992
  • Box 16:
  • University of Iowa Oral History Project Tape 2 - 2000
    Two Copies, AC 1488; AC 1489
  • Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 8:
  • General Newsclippings - 1969-2006
  • U.N. and Peace Corps articles - 1977-2012
  • Manuscripts, undated
  • Public letters - 1971-1999
  • By Hansen: Photo features - 1971-1984
  • Box 9:
  • Miscellaneous - 1967-2001
  • About Orange City, Iowa - 1973-1993
  • Northwest College: General - 1974-1985
  • Northwest College: The Classic - 1972-1979
  • Northwest College: The Classic - 1981-1983
  • Northwest College: The Classic - 1983-1985
  • The Church Herald - 1970-1974
  • Box 13:
  • By Hansen: Photo features - 1973-1986
    [oversized]
  • By Hansen: News features - 1974-1983
    [oversized]
  • About Orange City, Iowa - 1980-1983
    [oversized]
  • U.N. and Peace Corps articles - 1986
    [oversized]
  • Series 8: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 10:
  • Roll of "Katy for Supervisor" stickers - 1986
  • Supervisor candidate pin - 1986
  • Chair Sioux County Democrats pin - undated
  • International Human Rights Award plaque - 2007
  • National Peace Corps Association plaque, undated
  • Series 9: UGANDA
  • Box 11:
  • Journal - 1976-1977
  • Correspondence - 1976-1978
  • Newspaper clippings - 1977-2003
  • Newspaper articles by Hansen - 1977-1978
  • Scrapbook - 1977-1978
  • Third Annual World Conference - 1979
  • Papers: General - 1978-1981
  • Papers: Nine Months in Uganda - 1981-1982
  • Papers: Why Idi Amin?, undated
  • Box 12:
  • Papers: The Historical Roots of the Imin Regime in Uganda - 1979
  • Reference notecards, undated
  • Reference notecards for bibliography, undated
  • Magazines - 1977
  • Red scrapbook, undated
  • Yellow scrapbook, undated