Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Donna Schmidt papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-2010
Creator: Schmidt, Donna (1921-2011)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0856
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa nurse who farmed with her husband in Johnson County, Iowa

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 5

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1267) were donated by John Schmidt in 2012.

Preferred Citation: Donna Schmidt papers, Iowa Women’s Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Donna Ayers was born in 1921 to Elmer and Helen Ayers in Brandon, Iowa. When she was a young girl her father rented farms throughout eastern Iowa. As a result, the family moved often and Ayers attended schools in more than a dozen districts in Iowa.
Donna Ayers graduated from the University of Iowa with a degree in nursing and worked as a nurse at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. In addition, she served as a school nurse at the University preschool. In 1944 she married Fred Schmidt, a Johnson County farmer. The couple raised three children and were active in the Lutheran Church. Donna Schmidt died in 2011.

The Donna Schmidt papers date from 1938-2010 and measure 2 linear feet. The collection is comprised primarily of Schmidt's diaries, which span the period 1973 to 2010 and contain daily entries that discuss local and national news, the weather, and Schmidt's daily life including her health, social life, and farm activities. She often talked about planting, gardening, and other farm activities. The diaries also mention bridge, 4-H, and other clubs and organizations. In addition to the diaries, the collection includes one folder of family photographs from the years 1938-2009 and three pins associated with Schmidt's work as a nurse.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diary bookmarks
  • Diaries - July 1973-1974
  • Diaries - 1975-August 1976
  • Diaries - August 19, 1976-August 22, 1978
  • Diaries - August 23 1978-1980
  • Diaries - 1981-1983
  • Diaries - 1984-1985
  • Box 2:
  • Diaries - 1986-1987
  • Diaries - 1988-1989
  • Diaries - 1990-1991
  • Diaries - 1992-June 9, 1993
  • Diaries - June 10, 1993-January 3, 1994
  • Box 3:
  • Diaries - 1994-September 28, 1995
  • Diaries - September 29, 1995-1996
  • Diaries - 1996-1997
  • Diaries - 1998-1999
  • Box 4:
  • Diaries - 2000-2001
  • Diaries - 2002-2003
  • Diaries - 2004-2005
  • Diaries - 2006-2007
  • Box 5:
  • Diaries - 2008-2009
  • Diaries - 2010
  • Pins
  • Photographs - 1938-2009

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Schmidt, Donna, 1921-2011

Dates:
20th century