Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lola Kathleen "Kathy" Fisher scrapbook

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1954-1956
Creator: Fisher, Lola Kathleen "Kathy" (1935-2009)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0854
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: West Chester, Iowa resident who attended the State University of Iowa from 1954-1956.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 760) were donated by Kathy Fisher in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Lola Kathleen "Kathy" Fisher scrapbook, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Lola Kathleen "Kathy" Fisher was a student at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) from September 1954 through June 1956. She was born on September 11, 1935, in Washington, Iowa, the daughter of James Richard and Oneita Griggs Fisher. She attended school in Haskins and graduated from West Chester High School, West Chester, Iowa. She had one brother, Ron, who graduated from West Chester in 1956. At the State University of Iowa, Fisher was a member of the Future Homemakers of America and the Delta Delta Delta (Tri Delt) sorority. During the summer of 1955, Kathy Fisher worked aboard the Aquarama, a passenger liner that was christened in Chicago. In the spring of 1956, she was invited to interview as a hostess for Trans World Airlines.

In the 1960s, Fisher worked in the Security Violations Department for the U. S. State Department in Washington, D. C. When she returned to Washington County, Iowa, she worked at the Washington Public Library and wrote two accounts of local history: The West Chester Centennial History and In the Beginning, There Was the Land, a history of Washington County. Fisher was instrumental in saving the Blair House from demolition in 1975, after it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. During these years she was active in community theatre and co-founded the Blair House Players.

Kathy Fisher later became the library director for the Keosauqua Public Library, a position she held for many years. While living in Van Buren County, she also wrote a column "Country Miles" for the Van Buren Register. Following years of illness, she died December 1, 2009, in Keosauqua.

The Lola Kathleen Fisher scrapbook dates from 1954-1956 and measures 2 linear inches.  The scrapbook documents Kathy Fisher's life as a freshman and sophomore at the State University of Iowa.  It contains photographs of dormitory life, men she dated, and dresses she wore to dances as well as programs of campus functions, musical concerts, dances, and plays she attended, a choir concert in which she participated, matchbooks, and other items. The scrapbook contains two of her student tests, written in booklets similar to blue books, an invitation to join a sorority, and a campus notice citing her for being late for curfew.

Also included are photographs and memorabilia concerning her experience working as a cigarette girl aboard the Aquarama and letters from Trans World Airlines inviting her to interview for a job.
Oneita Fisher papers, Iowa Women's Archives. Oneita Fisher was the mother of Kathy Fisher.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LOLA KATHLEEN "KATHY" FISHER
Series 2:

  • Series 1: LOLA KATHLEEN "KATHY" FISHER
  • Box 1: Scrapbook
  • Scrapbook - 1954-1956
  • Series 2:

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Fisher, Lola Kathleen "Kathy", 1935-2009

Corporate Names:
State University of Iowa

Dates:
1950-1959

Topics:
Dormitory life
Teenage girls
Women

Occupations:
College students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Photographs