Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary C. Hooper papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1873-1874
Creator: Hooper, Mary C.
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0850
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Diary chronicling Hooper's daily life in Princeton, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 168) were donated by University of Iowa Special Collections in 2011.

Preferred Citation: Mary C. Hooper papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary C. Hooper was a resident of Princeton, Iowa.

The Mary C. Hooper papers consist of one letter and one diary with entries dated January 1 to August 1, 1873. The daily entries include daily activities and a log of expenses. One last entry dated March 11, 1874 logs expenses for grocery items. The letter, dated September 18, 1874, is written to Hooper regarding a court case and verifying a claim of illness.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: General

  • Series 1: General
  • Personal diary and legal letter - 1873 to 1874

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Hooper, Mary C.

Dates:
1870-1879

Topics:
Family life
Housekeeping
Courts
Law

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Scott County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Diaries

Browse:
Nineteenth Century Women
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories