Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Margaret Dallas papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1983
Creator: Dallas, Margaret (1907-1983)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0838
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Tipton, Iowa, high school student who graduated in 1925.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Margaret Dallas papers were donated by Marlys Dunphy (donor number 1195) in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Margaret Dallas papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Margaret Dallas was born in 1907. She attended school in Tipton, Iowa, graduating from Tipton High School in 1925. She taught kindergarten in Tipton for forty-nine years until her retirement in 1978 at age seventy. She died in Cedar Rapids in 1983.

The Margaret Dallas papers date from 1910-1983 and measure 2 linear inches. The papers consist of her high school memory book and  a 1983 newspaper article about the bequest she left to the Tipton School District upon her death.  The memory book, "My Golden School Days," kept while a student at Tipton High School, includes messages from friends, calling cards, tickets and souvenirs from various school athletic, theatrical, and other events, a play day ribbon, a bridge tally card, and a list of her classes and teachers. A basketball player, Dallas listed the results of her games during one season. The book includes a Camp Iowar pamphlet from 1924. The camp for girls was located at Palisades-on-the-Cedar and primarily used by Girl Scouts and Camp Fire Girls. The pamphlet includes information on the camp's activities as well as what the girls should bring with them. The memory book also includes photographs from holidays at unidentified locations and of Margaret Dallas and her friends as toddlers, during primary school, and in high school.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information - 1983
  • Memory book - 1910-1925