Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mona Kadel Martin papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1992-2009
Creator: Martin, Mona Kadel (1934-)
Extent: 18.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0835
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 1, 20, 28. Two campaign yard signs shelved in map case. Material in audio-visual collection: d0082, v480, v481, AC1486.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Permission must be requested from the donor to publish either pictorial biography or "Reflections" until either January 1, 2030, or her death.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1205) were donated by Mona Martin in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Mona Kadel Martin papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mona Lea Kadel was born in Illinois in 1934 to Vera Margaret Schmidt Kadel and Herman Conrad Kadel. She attended Western Illinois State College, graduating in 1956 with a Bachelor of Science Education, a second major in Home Economics, and a minor in Biology. She married Robert Martin that year; they had two children, Beth Ann and Charles Robert Martin.

Mona Martin worked as a reporter for the The Rock Island Argus, during the summers of 1954 and 1955. After graduating from Western Illinois, she returned to The Rock Island Argus, leaving during her first pregnancy. From 1962 to 1971, she worked as a teacher, including a position as head of the science department of St. Katharine's School, an all-girl college preparatory school. In 1969, Martin was honored with the Quad-City Science Teacher of the Year Award, and honored at the National Youth Conference on the Atom in Chicago. Returning to school between 1968 and 1971, she did graduate work in both Earth Science and Biology through both Iowa State University and the University of Iowa at distance locations in the Quad Cities. During that time, she was one of seven women in the country to be accepted for a National Science Foundation grant to study with the Earth Science Curriculum Project at the Boy Scouts' Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico.

Mona Martin's political activism began in 1972 when she joined the League of Women Voters of Scott County. She was state president of the League from 1981 to 1983 and moderated a live debate during the 1982 gubernatorial campaign. For two years, 1978-1980, she chaired the U.S. Department of Energy Consumer Affairs Advisory Committee, supporting energy conservation and alternative energy sources. She also served as president of the Iowa Division of the United Nations Association and for seventeen years on the Davenport Plan and Zoning Commission, where she became the first female chair.

Mona Martin was elected to the Iowa House of Representatives, District 43, as a Republican Party member in 1992. She served four terms before retiring in 2001. During that period, she chaired the State Government Committee for six years and served on various other committees, including the Human Resources, Economic Development, Ethics, and Health and Human Rights Appropriation committees. While in the House, she sought legislation to protect the elderly, particularly in nursing homes, and to ensure longer hospital stays for mothers after delivery. She also worked on bills pertaining to gambling, juvenile justice, and reproductive rights.

The Mona Kadel Martin papers date from 1992 to 2009 and measure 18.3 linear feet.  The papers are arranged in twelve series: Biographical, Campaigns, Newsletters, 75th General Assembly, 76th General Assembly, 77th General Assembly, 78th General Assembly, Constituent Service, Miscellaneous, Topical Files, Legislative Organizations, Retirement Systems

The Biographical series (1992-2002) contains Martin's autobiography, speeches, reflections on her time in the state legislature, and scrapbooks and other documentation of her public service.

The Campaigns series (1992-1999) documents Martin's four campaigns for office and includes constituent surveys, research regarding an opponent's campaign, and election return spreadsheets for Scott County, Iowa. Two campaign yard signs are shelved separately, in the map case.

The Newsletters series (1993-1998) contains several volumes of the Iowa House Republican newsletter, a circular concerned with legislative happenings, and other publications.

The 75th General Assembly (1991-2000), 76th General Assembly (1995-2002), 77th General Assembly(1997-2008) and 78th General Assembly (1998-2000) series each contain research materials, drafts of legislative actions, files about pertinent issues and events, and other materials associated with Mona Martin's four terms in the Iowa House of Representatives.

The Constituent Service series (1991-2000) concerns interactions with, and taken on behalf of, Mona Martin's Scott County constituents. Included are a number of thank-you notes and letters, Eagle Scout recognitions, and inquiries regarding the situation at a mobile home park.
The Miscellaneous series (1993-2000) contains items unrelated to the other series, including material about the Inntowner residence where Martin lived during sessions for most of her legislative career and the State Government Committee she sat on.

The Topical Files series (1988-2009) is divided into three subseries: Family Planning and Reproductive Rights, Gambling, and Juvenile Justice.  Each of these subseries contains research and background material surrounding the issue, drafts and other documents related to legislation, and reports and committee papers pertinent to the topic.
The Legislative Organizations series (1995-2008) contains material related to conferences and other activities Martin participated in as a member of both the National Council of State Legislatures and the Council of State Legislatures, including photographs and other documents regarding a legislative exchange trip to Germany.

The Retirement Systems series is also divided into subseries: Meeting Minutes, 1995-1996 IPERS Legislation, 1997-1998 IPERS Legislation, 1999-2000 IPERS Legislation, Investment Board, and Task Force on IPERS Structure and Governance.  Part of Martin's role as House State Government Committee chair was oversight of the state retirement systems: Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS), Peace Officers Retirement (POR), Municipal Fire and Police Retirement Systems of Iowa (Chapter 411), and the Judicial Retirement System.  The Iowa state legislature updates and adds to laws regarding the retirement systems every two years; general legislative material is organized by this biannual cycle.

The Artifacts series includes nametags, business cards Martin received during her legislative career, and other items.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CAMPAIGNS
Series 3: NEWSLETTERS
Series 4: 75TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1993-1994
Series 5: 76TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1995-1996
Series 6: 77TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1997-1998
Series 7: 78TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1999-2000
Series 8: CONSTITUENT SERVICE
Series 9: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 10: TOPICAL FILES
Series 11: LEGISLATIVE ORGANIZATIONS
Series 12: RETIREMENT SYSTEMS
Series 13: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Autobiography - undated
  • Items from maroon scrapbook - 1992-2000
  • Reflections (two folders) - 1993-2001
  • Legislative scrapbook, loose pages (three folders) - 1992-1996
  • Box 2:
  • Legislative scrapbook, loose pages (two folders) - 1996-2002
  • Legislative session summaries - 1992-2000
  • Speeches - 1992-2002
  • Retirement - 1999-2000
  • Series 2: CAMPAIGNS
  • Box 2:
  • Campaign yard signs (two items), undated
    [shelved in map case]
  • Martin Sign Campaign 1998 DVD [d0082] - 1998
    [shelved in audiovisual collection]
  • "MM Election Campaign HD 43" scrapbook - 1992
  • Box 3:
  • "MM Election Campaign HD 43" scrapbook (two folders) - 1992
  • Constituent questionnaires - 1993-1998
  • 1992 Election, General - 1992
  • Scott County primary and general election returns - 1992
  • 1994 Election, general - 1992-1994
  • Scott County primary and general election returns - 1994
  • 1996 Election, general - 1996
  • Box 4:
  • Opponent research and ad campaign - 1996
  • Scott Co. election returns and newspaper clippings - 1996
  • 1998 Election, general - 1997-1999
  • Series 3: NEWSLETTERS
  • Box 4:
  • 75th General Assembly House Republican Newsletter - 1993
  • House Republican Newsletter, vol. 4 - 1996
  • House Republican Newsletter, vol. 5 - 1997
  • House Republican Newsletter, vol. 6 - 1998
  • Miscellaneous newsletters - 1993
  • Series 4: 75TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1993-1994
  • Box 4:
  • New member orientation - 1992-1993
  • Instructions to legislators for introduction of bill or resolution - 1993
    [shelved in map case]
  • SF 221- Child and adult abuse - 1993
  • Box 5:
  • SF 221- Jerry Nelson case - 1993
  • SF 296- Victim reparation - 1993
  • Welfare reform - 1992-1998
  • Disaster Preparedness Interim Task Force (two folders) - 1993
  • HF- Pickup truck passengers - 1993-1994
  • HF 306- Recycling bill - 1993
  • HF 517- Uncle Roscoe's Polo Club liquor license - 1993
  • HF 644- Underground storage tanks, William Simkins - 1993
  • HF 644- Site assessment for William Simkins - 1991
  • HF 2351- Social Security: Coupling State and Federal Tax - 1993-1994
  • HF 551- Right to Work - 1993
  • Box 6:
  • Resource Enhancement and Protection Program (REAP) - 1993
  • HJR 28- Fish and wildlife trust fund - 1993
  • SF 94- Pesticide preemption - 1993
  • Physician practice parameters, Carl Schulz - 1993
  • Fiber optics, ICN - 1993
  • Rainbows of the Quad Cities, Linda Linn - 1994
  • Older Women's League (OWL), Eastern Iowa Chapter - 1994-2000
  • State government bills - 1994
  • Child Support Conference - 1994
  • Human Resources - 1994
  • Frail elderly, nursing home pre-admission screening - 1993-1998
  • HSB 87- Pre-admission screening - 1993
  • HF 582- Pre-admission screening - 1994
  • Box 7:
  • Long-term Care Work Group - 1993-1994
  • Long-term Care Work Group - 1993-1994
  • Interim Study Committee on Nursing Homes - 1994
  • Box 8:
  • Interim Study Committee on Nursing Homes (two folders) - 1994
  • Series 5: 76TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1995-1996
  • Box 8:
  • SF 454- Assisted living (two folders) - 1995-2002
  • SF 152- Podiatry Bill - 1995
  • Human resources bills - 1995-1996
  • Long-term Care Interim Committee - 1995
  • HCR 10- Conference of States - 1995
  • Box 9:
  • Mental health problems, Vera French Community Mental Health Center state claim - 1995
  • League of Women Voters resolution - 1995
  • SF 462- Human Services budget bill and impact on Quad Cities clinic - 1995-1996
  • SF 462- Scott County Inputs - 1995
  • HCR 118- Recognition of LWV for creating internet legislative information center - 1996
  • Maternity stays, general - 1995
  • HD 43- Maternity Stay Bill (two folders) - 1996
  • Maternity stay implementation and rules - 1996-1997
  • HF 2329- Under-age drinking - 1996
  • Box 10:
  • SF 2235- Alternative licensure for nursing facilities - 1996
  • Rest stops, Department of Transportation - 1996
  • Brookside Senior Apartments, Davenport; Iowa Housing Finance Authority - 1995-1999
  • Pedophile registry legislation - 1996
  • Pension tax - 1996-1998
  • State government, dental hygienists (two folders) - 1996-1997
  • Professional licensure: Social workers, orthopedic physician's assistants, dental hygienists - 1995
  • State government departments and groups, proposed legislations - 1995-1996
  • Iowa Retirement System (IPERS) - 1996-1999
  • Series 6: 77TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1997-1998
  • Box 10:
  • Iowa "One Call" single criminal history repository - 1997-1998
  • Box 11:
  • Awards for "One Call"/SING - 1997-2002
  • "One Call" funding - 1998-2000
  • Child abuse - 1997
  • HSB 194- Caregivers - 1997-1999
  • Caregivers, Correspondence with Di Findley - 1998
  • SF 184- Local government committee, sherriffs - 1997
  • SF 104/HR 36- Coaching age requirement - 1997
  • HF 634/SF 523- Nursing home abuse, background checks - 1996-1998
  • SF 523- Criminal background check mandating - 1997
  • SF 523- Background check civil liability, HF 73 - 1997
  • SF 523- Newpaper clippings - 1996-1997
  • SF 523- Implementation - 1997-1998
  • Box 12:
  • SF 523- Department of Inspection and Appeals Dir. Schmett, testimony before U.S. Congress - 1998
  • Electing versus appointing Secretary of Agriculture - 1997
  • HF 291- Bad check bill - 1997
  • HF 280- Uninsured drivers - 1997
  • SF 526- HOPES/ Healthy families bill - 1997
  • Nursing home nutrition - 1997
  • Martin-sponsored bills - 1997-2000
  • Reports: Dept. of Elderly Affairs; Ombudsman on Long-term Care, laws affecting elderly - 1997
  • Quad Cities Mississippi River bridge - 1997-1998
  • Domestic Abuse Review Team (two folders) - 1997
  • HF 174- Marriage license domestic abuse warning - 1997
  • Domestic Abuse - 1998-1999
  • Box 13:
  • HF 2108- Knowing transmission of HIV/AIDS - 1997-1998
  • Domestic Abuse Death Review Team (two folders) - 1998-2008
  • SF 2381- Quad Cities racetrack - 1998
  • Midwives - 1998
  • HF 2275- Nursing home report cards and pre-employment checks - 1998-2008
  • Sisters of Humility - 1998
  • Department of Elder Affairs information - 1998
  • HF 2498-Administration regulation and appropriations bill - 1998
  • Box 14:
  • English-only bill - 1996-1999
  • Equal Rights Amendment - 1992-1998
  • Series 7: 78TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY, 1999-2000
  • Box 14:
  • Alternative medicine - 1998-1999
  • Davenport West High School visit - 1999
  • HF 420/689- Underground Railroad: Iowa Freedom Trail - 1999-2000
  • Box 15:
  • HF 384/688- Poet laureate - 1999
  • HF 278- Nursing home resident advocates - 1999
  • SF 300- Nursing homes - 1999
  • HF 286/SF 304- Conditional hire legislation - 1999-2000
  • Nursing home Medicaid reimbursement - 1995-1999
  • SF 449- English as official language - 1996-1999
  • Electric industry restructuring - 1999-2000
  • Tobacco legislation - 1996-2008
  • SJR 2- Ola Babcock Miller building naming - 1982-1999
  • Tax Increment Financing and annexation - 1999
  • Capitol space - 1999
  • Mourning dove hunting - 1995-1999
  • Box 16:
  • Ethics committee complaint against DNR about dove hunting - 1999
  • SF 470- Campaign finance - 1998-1999
  • Iowa Child Project report - 1999
  • Geratrics and longevity conference at Drake University - 1999
  • HJR 24- OASIS - 1999
  • Interstate compact on nursing licensure - 1999
  • DIA nursing home survey - 1999
  • HF 659- Identity theft - 1999
  • SF 314- Operation of X-rays by nurse practitioners - 1999
  • Keith Meyer - 1999
  • HF 476- Condemnation and eminent domain - 1999
  • Elections; Poll closing hours - 1999
  • State Government; election laws - 1999
  • Methamphetamine - 1996-1999
  • Box 17:
  • HF 695- Absentee ballot fraud - 1998-1999
  • SF 244- Sex offender registry - 1999
  • Nursing homes: general - 1999
  • Phonebook and Lists for 2000 - 1999-2000
  • SF 2126/HF 2383- Contraceptive coverage - 2000
  • Iowa Corridor Amtrak/rail - 1997-2008
  • HF 2068- Midwest Rail Compact - 2000
  • Box 18:
  • High-speed rail task force - 1998-2000
  • Midwest rail compact- Washington, D.C. meeting - 2000
  • SF 2173- Senior living bill - 2000
  • Senior living; long-term care insurance - 1999-2000
  • Senior living, legislative research and briefings - 2000
  • Senior living in the legislature - 1999-2000
  • Senior living in the governor's office - 2000
  • Senior living in committees - 2000
  • Long-term care package, Departments of Elder Affairs and Human Services - 2000
  • Senior living, outside input - 199-2000
  • Senior Living Trust - 2000
  • Box 19:
  • Senior living, meeting with Bob Siefert of Nebraska - 1999-2000
  • Senior living, post-passage - 2000-2002
  • Commission on Elder Affairs - 2000
  • HF 2461- Redistricting - 2000
  • HF 2088- Mental health parity - 2000
  • Term limits - 2000
  • Key issues - 2000
  • HF 686- Dental assitants; general - 1999-2000
  • HF 686- Dental assistants; scope of practice committees - 1997-1999
  • HF 686; background information and research - 1997-1999
  • HF 686; letters of opposition - 1999-2000
  • HF 686; letters of support - 1999-2000
  • Series 8: CONSTITUENT SERVICE
  • Box 19:
  • General (two folders) - 1993-2000
  • Box 20:
  • Thank-you notes received (two folders) - 1993-2000
  • Letters - 1996-1999
  • Eagle Scout recognitions - 1993-1999
  • Wood Dale Mobile Home Park, Davenport, Iowa - 1995-1997
  • Victims of Child Abuse Laws (VOCAL)/Hambright family - 1991-1998
  • A System Out of Balance [V481] - 1992
    [Shelved in audiovisual collection]
  • Series 9: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 20:
  • State Government Committee procedures, minutes, and notes - 1993-2000
  • Des Moines Inntowner residence - 1993-1999
  • Series 10: TOPICAL FILES
  • Box 21:
  • Iowa Christian Coalition (two folders) - 1992-2000
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 21:
  • General - 1992-1996
  • Abortion Denied: Shattering Young Women's Lives [V480] - 1990
    [Shelved in audiovisual collection]
  • Box 22:
  • Abortion issues in the Quad Cities - 1994-2000
  • Partial-birth abortion ban - 1998-2000
  • Statistical reporting of terminations, abstinence-only education appropriations bill - 1997-1999
  • HF 2229- "A woman's right to know" - 2000
  • Parental notification, background material - 1993
  • Parental notification, general - 1993
  • Parental notification, general - 1994
  • Parental notification, general - 1995
  • Box 23:
  • Parental notification, general - 1995
  • Parental notification, general - 1997
  • Sub-Series: Gambling
  • Box 23:
  • General (two folders) - 1995-1998
  • Newspaper clippings (three folders) - 1989-2009
  • HF 2101- Gambling moratorium - 1998
  • SF 445/HF 677- Gambling moratorium - 1994-1995
  • Box 24:
  • SF 445/HF 677- Gambling moratorium - 1994-1999
  • Riverboat gambling reports - 1993
  • HF 623- Gambling bill - 1992-1993
  • 1993 Gaming legislation impact, pre-1994 session - 1992-1993
  • HF 2179- Gambling bill - 1992-1994
  • Box 25:
  • HF 2179- Gambling bill - 1992-1994
  • Iowa Lottery - 1997
  • Native American gambling - 1991-1997
  • Iowa gambling treatment program - 1988-1995
  • Sub-Series: Juvenile Justice
  • Box 25:
  • General - 1993-2008
  • Juvenile crime, gangs, drugs background information and newsclippings - 1992-1993
  • HF 427- Boot camp - 1993
  • HF 2386/ SF2319- Boot camp - 1994-2008
  • HF 474- Juvenile crime prevention community grant funding program - 1995
  • Funding - 1994-1997
  • Box 26:
  • Interim committee - 1993-1994
  • Criminal and Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee handbook - 1995-2001
  • Juvenile justice hearing, testimony and comments - 1993
  • HF 2386 - 1994
  • SF 2383- Safe schools - 1994
  • SF 2319 - 1994
  • SF 2319-Juvenile justice bill conference committee - 1994
  • SF 2319, as amended (two folders) - 1994
  • Box 27:
  • SF 2319, information and notes - 1994
  • SF2319, post-passage - 1994-1995
  • Legislation - 1995
  • KUNI radio report:" Iowa's Troubled Youths: Lost or Found"? [AC1486] - 1992
    [Shelved in audiocassette collection]
  • Series 11: LEGISLATIVE ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 27:
  • National Conference of State Legislatures, general - 1995-2008
  • NCSL: Leadership forum, "Systems Reform and Juvenile Justice" - 1995
  • NCSL: National Forum on Children and Violence, "In Harm's Way" - 1996
  • Martin represents NCSL at the Parternship of Parliaments - 1998
  • Box 28:
  • Legislative exchange with Germany - 1996-1999
  • Photos from Germany study tour - 1996
  • NCSL/ASI Atlanta meeting - 1995
  • Legislative league photographs - 1993-1998
    [Shelved in map case]
  • Box 29:
  • NCSL: Assembly on State Issues; Children, Families and Health Committee - 1995-1997
  • NCSL/ASI Washington, D.C. conference - 1996
  • NCSL: ASI Officers notebook - 1996-1997
  • Council of State Governments and Midwest Legislative Conference event programs - 1999-2000
  • Series 12: RETIREMENT SYSTEMS
  • Box 29:
  • IPERS: General - 1993-1994
  • Sub-Series: 1995-1996 IPERS Legislation
  • Box 29:
  • Legislation: General (two folders) - 1995-1996
  • A Handbook for Iowa Board and Commission Members - 1995
  • Material from blue binder - 1995
  • Box 30:
  • Material from black binder - 1995-1996
  • IPERS Interim Committee - 1995
  • SF 2245: General - 1995-1996
  • SF 2245: Iowa House Journal, April 22-23 - 1996
  • SF 2245: Amendments - 1996
  • SF 2245: H5533: "25 and out" amendment - 1995-1996
  • SF 2245: "Rule of 88" - 1993-1996
  • SF 2166: Pre-tax contributions - 1995-1996
  • Portable retirement options - 1996
  • Box 31:
  • Report by Chief Benefits Officer - 1995
  • Buck Consultants, Inc: Report on benefits enhancement study and newsletters - 1995-1996
  • D.C. Pension Benefits: Comparison with Selected State and Local Government Pension Plans - 1993
  • Wisconsin comparative study - 1996
  • Principal Financial Group: Characteristics of Public and Private Plans - 1996
  • Reports and recommendations: Educators and school boards - 1995-1996
  • Reports and recommendations: POR, 411, and Sheriffs (two folders) - 1995-1996
  • Retirement Systems Committee reports - 1995-1996
  • Special Studies constituent group - 1996
  • Box 32:
  • Disability benefits - 1996
  • Defined Contributions study - 1996
  • Gene Vincent tax refund file - 1995
  • Correspondence (two folders) - 1994-1996
  • Sub-Series: 1997-1998 IPERS Legislation
  • Box 32:
  • IPERS audit and funding status - 1996-1999
  • IPERS Interim Committee (two folders) - 1993-1999
  • IPERS Interim Committee testimony - 1997
  • Benefits board - 1995-1997
  • Box 33:
  • Special Studies Constituent Group - 1997
  • Defined contributions - 1996-1997
  • Consolidation - 1997
  • Materials from blue IPERS 98 binder (two folders) - 1997-1998
  • General bill materials - 1997-1998
  • TLSB 3514 - 1997
  • HF 2238 - 1998
  • HSB 681 - 1997-1998
  • Box 34:
  • SF 103/ HF 145 - 1997
  • HF 84 - 1997
  • SF 543 - 1997
  • HF 2496: Background material - 1993-1998
  • HF 2496: General - 1997-1998
  • HF 2496: Drafts - 1998
  • HF 2496: Newspaper clippings - 1996-1998
  • HF 2496: Correspondence - 1997-1998
  • HF 2496: Amendments - 1998
  • General correspondence - 1996-2000
  • Box 35:
  • Section 411 - 1997-1998
  • POR - 1997-1998
  • Sheriffs and deputies - 1997-1998
  • Judicial retirement - 1995-1997
  • Box 36:
  • Buck Consultants, Inc: Report on Defined Benefit Plan - 1997
  • Buck Consultants, Inc: Report on Disability Benefits - 1997
  • Report: "Comprehensive Examination of Benefit Programs & Related Issues Pertaining to Public Safety Classifications Within IPERS, POR, and MFPRSI" - 1998
  • Sub-Series: 1999-2000 IPERS Legislation
  • Box 36:
  • Retirement Systems Committee Meeting, November - 1999-2000
  • Retirement Systems Committee Meeting, December - 1998-1999
  • New IPERS Headquarters building - 1999-2000
  • General - 1996-2000
  • Box 37:
  • General - 1996-2000
  • Governor's Strategic Planning Council - 1999
  • IPERS Constituent Group - 1999
  • HF 165 - 1998-1999
  • HF 205 - 1998-1999
  • HF 228 and HF 73 - 1998-1999
  • HF 553 - 1999
  • SF 2411 (two folders) - 2000
  • HR 113 Defined Benefits and Defined Contributions - 1997-2000
  • SF 2576 Volunteer Emergency Service Provider death benefits - 2000
  • Constituent Letters - 1999-2000
  • Section 411: General - 1998-2000
  • Box 38:
  • Section 411: Survey of Pension Program Death Benefits - 2000
  • Section 411: Report to IPERS Committee by Municipal Fire & Police Retirement System of Iowa - 1999
  • POR: General - 1999-2000
  • POR: Actuarial Reports - 1999
  • POR: Proposed improvements - 1999
  • Reports by Chief Benefits Officer - 1999
  • Sub-Series: Investment Board
  • Box 38:
  • IPERS Investment Board Member Handboook - 1996
  • Wilshire: Investment Finance Glossary of Terms, undated
  • Derivatives newspaper clippings - 1994-1995
  • Investment board: General (two folders) - 1994-1995
  • Investment board: General - 1996
  • Box 39:
  • Investment board: General - 1996
  • Investment board: General - 1997
  • Investment board: General - 1998
  • Investment board: General - 1999
  • Investment board: General - 2000-2001
  • Member appointments - 1998-1999
  • Auditor's reports, comments, and recommendations - 1995-1996
  • Millman & Robertson, Inc: IPERS Actuarial Valuation Report - 1996
  • Millman & Robertson, Inc: IPERS Actuarial Valuation Report - 1998
  • Millman & Robertson, Inc: IPERS Actuarial Valuation Report - 1999
  • Millman & Robertson, Inc: 1993-1998 Experience Study for IPERS - 1999
  • Box 40:
  • Millman & Robertson, Inc: IPERS Actuarial Valuation Report - 2000
  • Sub-Series: Task Force on IPERS Structure and Governance
  • Box 40:
  • Task Force on IPERS Meeting #1 and #2, May 5 [AC1497, AC1498] - 2000
    [Shelved in audio cassette collection]
  • General - 1999-2001
  • Correspondence - 1999-2000
  • Meeting materials (two folders) - 2000
  • Responsibilites and Performance of IPERS Retirement Benefits Unit - 2000
  • Fiduciary Responsibilities Involving the Iowa Public Employees' Retirement System - 2000
  • Independent Fiduciary Services, Inc: Presentation Regarding the Comprehensive Informational Report, undated
  • Independent Fiduciary Services, Inc: Stage I Comprehensive Informational Report to the Task Force - 2000
  • Independent Fiduciary Services, Inc: Survey Results - 2000
  • Independent Fiduciary Services, Inc: Advance Draft of Narrative Report - 2000
  • Box 41:
  • Independent Fiduciary Services, Inc: Report to the Governor's Task Force to Study IPERS Structure and Governance - 2000
  • Drafts of IPERS Task Force report - 2000
  • Task Force Report on the Future Structure and Governance of the Iowa Public Employees Retirement System - 2001
  • Sub-Series: Meeting Minutes
  • Box 41:
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 17 - 1994
  • IPERS Investment Board, January 27 - 1995
  • IPERS Investment Board, March 24 - 1995
  • IPERS Investment Board, June 14 - 1995
  • Box 42:
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 28 - 1995
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 16 - 1995
  • IPERS Investment Board, January 26 - 1996
  • Box 43:
  • IPERS Investment Board, February 16 - 1996
  • IPERS Investment Board, March 29 - 1996
  • IPERS Investment Board, June 27 - 1996
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 27 - 1996
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 21 - 1996
  • IPERS Investment Board, January 24 - 1997
  • IPERS Investment Board, April 4 - 1997
  • Box 44:
  • IPERS Investment Board, June 26 - 1997
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 25 - 1997
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 20 - 1997
  • IPERS Investment Board, January 23 - 1998
  • IPERS Investment Board, March 27 - 1998
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 25 - 1998
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 19 - 1998
  • Box 45:
  • IPERS Investment Board, January 29 - 1999
  • IPERS Investment Board, March 26 - 1999
  • IPERS Investment Board, June 24 - 1999
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 23 - 1999
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 18 - 1999
  • IPERS Investment Board, February 4 - 2000
  • IPERS Investment Board, April 27 - 2000
  • Box 46:
  • IPERS Investment Board, June 22 - 2000
  • IPERS Investment Board, September 28 - 2000
  • IPERS Investment Board, November 16 - 2000
  • In-Service - 1995
  • In-Service - 1996
  • In-Service - 1997
  • In-Service - 1998
  • Box 47:
  • In-Service - 1999
  • In-Service - 2000
  • Sub-Series: IPERS Publications
  • Box 47:
  • IPERS Newsletters - 1997-2006
  • Retirement Planning Guidelines - 1993-1998
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1994
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1995
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1996
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1997
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1998
  • Comprehensive Annual Financial Report - 1999
  • Series 13: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 47:
  • NCSL lanyard/nametag, undated
  • "Mona Martin, State Representative" keychain, undated
  • Nametags, undated
  • Magnet, undated
  • Box 48:
  • Business cards received during time in legislature, undated
  • Box lid, tie-dye design - 1998-1999
    [Shelved with artifacts]