Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rosebelle Pierce Luick papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1854-1902
Creator: Luick, Rosebelle Pierce (1836-1914)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0828
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Corresponence about daily life in the late 19th century from friends and family to Luick, a resident of Belmond, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1293) were donated by Karen A. Mullen in 2011.

Preferred Citation: Rosebelle Pierce Luick papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Rosebelle Pierce Luick was born on January 19, 1836. In 1860 she married William Christian Luick and moved from her home in Illinois to Belmond, Iowa. She and William had three children, Elma [Alma] Luick Brooks, Ernest William Luick, and Cora Evelyn Luick Evans. Rosebelle Pierce Luick died on October 7, 1914 and is buried in Belmond, Iowa.

The Rosebelle Pierce Luick papers date from 1854 to 1902 and measure 2 linear inches. The collection consists of correspondence to Luick and other close family members from cousins and friends. Spanning much of Luick's adult life, the letters document her late teens in Illinois to her eventual marriage, in 1860, to William Christian Luick and eventual move to Belmond, Iowa. The correspondence, arranged chronologically, includes letters from friends and family about homesteading in sod houses, to living conditions during the Civil War, to the mundane of everyday life. Undated letters are filed separately and include a densely cross-hatched letter with apologies from the author for illegibility. The Poetry folder contains a braided lock of hair on decorated paper and 2 poems, one signed by Luick.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: General

  • Series 1: General
  • Box 1:
  • Genealogical Information
  • Correspondence - 1854-1859
  • Correspondence - 1860-1869
  • Correspondence - 1870-1889
  • Correspondence - 1890-1899
  • Correspondence - 1900-1902
  • Correspondence - undated
  • Poetry