Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gertrude Schroeder Lockwood papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1928
Creator: Gertrude Schroeder Lockwood (1899-1992)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0826
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Scrapbook documenting the collegiate life of a State University of Iowa student during the 1920's.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 1

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1111) were donated by Jim Lcokwood in 2007.

Preferred Citation: The Gertrude Schroder Lockwood papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mahala ''Gertrude'' Schroeder Lockwood was born in 1899 in Emmetsburg Iowa. She was the second child of Laura Gertrude Stillman Schroeder, a former teacher and homemaker, and Wilshire Riley Schroeder, a farmer. She grew up on a farm on the western shore of Middle Lake near Emmetsburg, along with her older brother, Bernard Francis (b. 1898).

Schroeder graduated from Emmetsburg High School in 1918. After graduation, She attended Cornell College from 1918 to 1920, before transferring to the State University of Iowa (later known as the University of Iowa), where she joined the Alpha Tau Beta sorority. Schroeder graduated in 1923 with a B.A. in History.

Schroeder taught at the Des Moines Township School in Rolfe, Iowa from 1920 to 1921, and after graduating resumed teaching, this time at Pomeroy High School from 1923 to 1928.

In 1928, Schroder married Theodore Lockwood, a grocer. The couple had two children: Theodore Robert (b. 1929) and James Riley (b. 1933). Gertrude Lockwood worked with her husband at Lockwood's Market in the 1940s and continued there until they both retired in 1964.

Education was important to Lockwood who encouraged her children to complete college degrees. She was also active in several local organizations and clubs, including the United Methodist Women, the S.A.K. Club, the 4-H club, Community Club and Senior Citizens. She was also a fifty year member and a Past Worthy Matron of the Order of the Eastern Star and the P.E.O. Sisterhood, Chapter B.K. in Emmetsburg, Iowa. In 1961 Mrs. Lockwood was honored as Clubwoman of the year.

The Gertrude Schroeder papers date from 1923 to 1928 and measure 2 linear inches.


The Biographical series (1923-1928) contains Gertrude Schroeder's scrapbook, which documents her college life and years before marriage through mementoes. The scrapbook includes ticket stubs and programs from various theatre productions; tickets from sporting events; letters and cards; pins and other small items of memorabilia; invitations to  social functions and clubs, including the Alpha Tau Beta. The scrapbook also includes photos of friends and family as well as State University of Iowa campus buildings. An essay by her brother on their early life and copies of Schroeder's wedding announcement and obituary complete the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook - 1923-1928