Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa

Collection Overview

Date Span: 2000-2001
Creator: Voices from the Land:  An Oral History Project in Iowa
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0825
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Oral histories with Iowa farm women conducted as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.

Access: The collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright to interviews conducted by Doris Malkmus has been transferred to the University of Iowa.  Copyright to interviews conducted by Tanya Zanish-Belcher has been transferred to Iowa State University.

Acquisition: The materials were donated by narrators through the Voices from the Land oral history project between 2000 and 2001.

Preferred Citation:

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

"Voices from the Land: An Oral History Project in Iowa" consists of oral histories conducted in 2000 and 2001 by Doris Malkmus, Project Archivist, as part of the Rural Women's Project of the Iowa Women's Archives.
The oral history component of the Rural Women's Project was funded by the State Historical Society, Inc., and the Historical Resource Development Program of the State Historical Society of Iowa. Additional interviews, including several on sustainable agriculture--were conducted by Tanya Zanish-Belcher, Head of the Special Collections Department at Parks Library, Iowa State University with funding from a Vision 20/20 grant from the Kellogg Foundation.

"Voices from the Land:  An Oral History Project in Iowa" consists of tapes and transcripts of oral histories, photographs, slides, and resource files. The collection is arranged in four series: Oral histories and related papers, Photographs, Slides, and Resource files. The Oral Histories and related papers series is divided into four subseries: Iowa Farm Women in Transition, Tama County Farm Women in Transition, National Farmers Organization Activists, and Women Active During the 1980s Farm Crisis.
 
The Iowa Farm Women in Transition subseries consists of interviews by Doris Malkmus with women who held key leadership positions in farm organizations from the 1950s through the 1990s, a period when changes in the farm economy radically altered the Iowa landscape and rural communities. Tanya Zanish-Belcher interviewed four women about their responses to the changes in rural life.  Transcripts of her interviews with Nancy Bevin and LaVon Griffieon are part of this collection, while tapes of  interviews with Bevin, Griffieon, Liz Garst, and Mary Garst are available at the Special Collections Department, Parks Library, ISU.
 
The Tama County Farm Women in Transition subseries consists of interviews with five women from neighboring farms in Tama County in central Iowa.  They shared similar educational and farm backgrounds but responded in very different ways to the new farm economy. An African-American farm woman retired and put much of her land into the Conservation Reserve Program.  Her neighbor decided to keep her farming operation small and began selling produce and bakery goods at four local farm markets.  Her sister-in-law became a state legislator in the 1980s, but after being widowed decided to buy and operate a garbage hauling business.  One of the women owned a hog confinement operation that employed another of the women.
 
The final two subseries are the National Farmers Organization Activists and Women Active During the 1980s Farm Crisis.  Doris Malkmus interviewed sixteen activists, five women who were members of the National Farmers Organization in the 1960s and eleven Women Active During the 1980s Farm Crisis who were involved in organizations ranging from mental health centers to religious organizations to groups such as PrairieFire Rural Action.  The women spoke of their experiences protesting low farm prices and farm foreclosures, but also of their childhoods, families, work roles, and the loss of a rural way of life.  The interviews reflect the impact of feminism, the new farm economy, and the decline in rural communities since the first half of the century when the population of rural Iowa was at least double what it is now.  They also reveal ways in which women's roles in these struggles changed over the twenty years before and after second wave feminism. The women active in the NFO during the 1960s tended to be wives and mothers whose husbands were supportive of their leadership roles. The 1980s activists were of a different generation and many managed their farms because they were widowed or divorced.  Their politics spanned the continuum from left to right.  Others had gained a feminist perspective at college, held left-leaning political views, and brought new expectations to family, community, and leadership.
 
Four interviews on sustainable agriculture area available at Iowa State University are:  Marilyn Anderson, a Roland, Iowa, weaver and activist against hog lots; Wende Elliott,  who ran an organic livestock operation in Colo, Iowa;  Shelley Gradwell, founder of an organic vegetable co-operative that delivers vegetables to shareholders throughout the growing season; and Fred Kirschman, director of the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture, Iowa State University.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: INTERVIEW TRANSCRIPTS AND RELATED PAPERS
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 3: SLIDES
Series 4: RESOURCE FILES

  • Series 1: INTERVIEW TRANSCRIPTS AND RELATED PAPERS
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Farm Women in Transition
  • Box 1:
  • Bevin, Nancy [ISU]
  • Griffieon, LaVon [IWA and ISU]
    Polk County farmer and activist
  • Griffieon, LaVon [IWA and ISU]
    Polk County farmer and activist
  • Hansen, Betty
    Lucas County farmer and realtor.
  • Matthey, Lucille
    Manager of Terra Industries farm in Woodbury County.
  • Puttmann, Sally
    Cherokee County farmer and conservationist.
  • Strait, Eleanor
    Van Buren County farm wife and president of national Master Farm Homemakers Guild.
  • Striegel, Virginia
    Keokuk County farmer and State Conservation Board member.
  • Witmer, Esther
    Cedar County farm wife, past chair of the Iowa Farm Bureau Womens Committee.
  • Sub-Series: Tama County Farm Women in Transition
  • Box 1:
  • Barker, Patti
    Worker at large-scale hog farrowing confinement facility.
  • Jesina, Sheryl
    Partner in large-scale hog farrowing confinement facility.
  • Schelker, Vivian
    African-American farm woman.
  • Svoboda, Jane: transcript
    State legislator, farmer, and owner of garbage hauling business.
  • Svoboda, Jane: papers
  • Svoboda, Marlys
    Farmers' market vendor of producer and baked goods.
  • Sub-Series: National Farmers Organization Activists
  • Box 1:
  • Embree, Wilma
    Adams County farmer and NFO member
  • Box 2:
  • Linn, Martha
    Montgomery County farm woman whose husband was active in NFO
  • Rhines, Ilo
    Delaware County dairy farmer and rural mail carrier.
  • Schweers, Mabel
    Adams County farmer and editor of county NFO newsletter
  • Zmolek, Luella
    Black Hawk County farmer active in NFO Black Hawk County board.
  • Sub-Series: Women Active During the 1980s Farm Crisis
  • Box 2:
  • Blundall, Joan
    Director of Mental Health Center in Spencer, Iowa.
  • Bollin, Kathy
    Southeast Iowa farm activist
  • Christensen, Naomi
    Mills County supervisor and farm activist involved with United Methodist Women.
  • Christensen, Naomi
  • Eddy, Pat
    Adair County farmer, PrairieFire Rural Action projects director, and glass factory worker.
  • Faga, Linda
    Guthrie County dairy farmer and Iowa Farm Unity Coalition organizer, and Catholic Church activist.
  • Grabner, Barbara
    Political organizer with PrairieFire Rural Action.
  • Hodne, Carol (folder 1)
    Organizer and director of North American Farmers Alliance
  • Hodne, Carol (folder 2)
  • Hodne, Carol (folder 3)
  • OBrien, Denise
    Organic farmer active in Prairie Progressives, Iowa Farm Unity Coalition, PrairieFires Womens Leadership Development Project, National Farm Unity Coalition, and Women, Food and Agriculture Network
  • Sutter, Marjean
    Marion County farmer and PrairieFire Rural Action organizer
  • Box 3:
  • Terry, Linda
    Adair County farmer, member of Prairie Progressives, and co-organizer of Harvesting Our Potential Womens Conference.
  • Winburn, Donna
    Poweshiek County farmer and Farmers Union organizer and officer
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 3:
  • Eddy, Pat
  • Jesina, Sheryl
  • Rhines, Ilo
  • Schelker, Vivian
  • Svoboda, Jane
  • Svoboda, Marlys
  • Sutter, Marjean
  • Photos used in brochure
  • Proofs and negatives
  • Series 3: SLIDES
  • Box 3:
  • Inventory
  • Slide show
  • Slides 197-216
  • Slides 217-236
  • Slides 237-257
  • Slides 258-277
  • Unnumbered slides
  • Boxed slides
  • Series 4: RESOURCE FILES
  • Box 3:
  • Iowa State University Library
  • Box 4:
  • Master Farm Homemakers
  • National Farmers Organization
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Practical Farmers of Iowa
  • PrairieFire Rural Action