Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Pittman Family papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1838-1909
Creator: Pittman Family
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0821
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Postal card albums of Marilla and Edith Pittman.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1198) were donated by Donna McCrea from the University of Montana in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Pittman Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Pittman Family papers were originally donated by Joan L. Hasenclever to the University of Montana in 1986 and were subsequently donated to the University of Iowa. Currently there is no information on the Pittman Family of Denmark, Iowa.

The Pittman Family papers date from 1838 to 1909 and measure 1.25 linear feet. The papers are arranged in one series: Correspondence and Writings.
 
The collection consists almost exlusively of albums of postcards sent or given to Marilla and Edith Pittman of Denmark in Lee County, Iowa in the period 1906-1914.  One album includes a few postcards dating as far back as 1898.  The senders included family and friends, who knew the Pittmans collected postcards and sent them from their travels throughout the United States from San Francisco to Colorado to Atlantic City, New Jersey.
 
In addition to the postal card albums, there are two albums of handwritten poetry dating from the mid-nineteenth century.  Edith, Eliza and Lewis Pittman both copied and composed poetry. Lewis Pittman wrote two poems, "Spring" and "Old Homestead," in Eliza Pittman's album in 1859. Also included in Eliza Pittman's poetry album is an 1860 declaration of marriage between L.P. and P.L. Pittman.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND WRITINGS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Eliza Pittman poetry album - 1859-1871
  • Poetry and correspondence album - 1838-1886
  • Postal card albums: California - 1906-1911
  • Postal card albums: California and Colorado - 1906-1907
  • Postal card albums: Chicago - 1907-1909
  • Postal card albums: Connecticut and Oregon - 1906-1908
  • Box 2:
  • Postal card albums: Europe and Canada - 1898-1907
  • Postal card albums: Florida and Pennsylvania - 1906-1914
  • Postal card albums: Iowa and Illinois - 1906-1913
  • Postal card albums: Maine and New Hampshire - 1907
  • Postal card albums: Massachusetts - 1906-1907
  • Postal card albums: Midwestern States - 1906-1907
  • Box 3:
  • Postal card albums: New Jersey and Pennsylvania - 1906-1910
  • Postal card albums: New York and Delaware - 1906-1907
  • Postal card albums: Pennsylvania - 1906-1907
  • Postal card albums: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 1907
  • Postal card albums: Southern States, Minnesota and Canada - 1906-1912
  • Postal card albums: Washington DC and Virginia - 1906-1907

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Pittman, Marilla
Pittman, Edith

Dates:
1900-1909

Topics:
Voyages and travels
Women and literature

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Denmark

Genre/Form of Materials:
Postcards
Family papers
Archives
Correspondence

Family Names:
Pittman family

Browse:
Nineteenth Century Women