Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joiner Family papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1941-1945
Creator: Joiner Family
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0815
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa family that corresponded during World War II.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.1271) were donated by Charles W. Joiner in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Joiner Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary von Schrader and Melvin Joiner married on September 1, 1912 and resided in Maquoketa, Iowa. They had four children: Charles W. Joiner, Margaret Joiner Lozier, Otis W. Joiner and Charlotte Joiner Child. All of the children had married by 1942. This collection contains the correspondence between Melvin and Mary von Schrader Joiner and their children during World War II. This correspondence was passed on to Mary Anne Lozier Moore, daughter of Margaret and Richard Lozier and granddaughter of Mary and Melvin Joiner.

The Joiner family papers date from 1941 to 1945 and measure 2.5 linear inches. This collection consists of correspondence. It includes round robin letters written by family members between 1941 and 1945 with a complete transcription of the letters. Most of the round robin letters date from 1941 to 1943 when the family tried to keep in close communication. During this time, on receipt of a letter, each person had just 24 to 36 hours to reply and keep the chain moving forward. However, the letters become sparser in 1944 as the men had been deployed at home and overseas with assignments and addresses changing frequently.
 
The World War II Letters: The Joiner Family Story 1941-1945 is a self-published book by Mary Ann Lozier Moore containing transcriptions of the round robin letters with accompanying photographs and notes from other family members. Topics discussed within these letters range from reactions to the outbreak of World War II to updates on domestic life on the home front.

Browse by Series:
Series 1:

  • Series 1:
  • Box 1:
  • "World War II Letters: The Joiner Family Story" - 1941-1945
  • Round robin letters - 1941
  • Round robin letters - 1942
  • Round robin letters - 1943
  • Round robin letters - 1944
  • Round robin letters - 1945