Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sue Follon papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980-1998
Creator: Follon, Sue (1942-1998)
Extent: 10.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0813
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Educational administrator and Executive Director of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.

Alternate Extent Statement: 21 audiotapes in box 3, 1 videocassette

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.1190) were donated by Patricia L. Geadelmann in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Sue Follon papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sue Ellen Follon was born June 22, 1942, the daughter of Oliver Franklin and Mary Rebecca Moore Follon. Sue Follon graduated in 1963 with a B.S. degree in Biology and Chemistry from Iowa Wesleyan College, Mt. Pleasant. Her master's degree in Student Personnel Services was completed at the University of Northern Iowa in 1970 and her EdD. Degree in Higher Education Administration was completed in 1983 at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. From 1963-67, Follon taught secondary science at Delwood Community Schools in Delmar, Iowa. From 1967-70, she was a University of Northern Iowa residence hall director and from 1970-76, an associate dean of students and coordinator of student activities at Buena Vista College in Storm Lake, Iowa. Follon was appointed Executive Director on the Iowa Commission for the Status of Women (ICSW) by Iowa Governor Robert D. Ray and together they established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. During this time, Follon was involved with the 50 States Project, commissioned by President Ronald Reagan to review legal code in each state to make changes to discriminatory language. Iowa's 50 States report was the first and made many suggestions that were passed, on issues such as pay equity, sexual assault, domestic violence and education. Follon was awarded the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice for her efforts to include women in the Iowa Constitution. Sue Follon died November 4, 1998 from cancer, the day after the Iowa Constitution was amended to include the word "women".

The Sue Follon papers date from 1980 to 1998 and measure 10 linear inches. The papers are arranged in four series: Biographical, Education, Career ,Audiovisual. The first series, Biographical (1998), contains obituaries from The University of Northern Iowa newspaper and a VHS tape and program of Sue Follon's funeral service on November 7, 1998. The second series, Education (1980-1984), consists of questionnaires and research notes for her doctoral dissertation, "Role Models and Mentors: A Study of the Career Patterns of Women in Higher Education Administration" (College of Education at Drake University). The third series, Career (1985-1990), includes an outline of a student services in higher education course taught by Follon, a photo album of a work gathering at Hotel Fort Des Moines, and an ICSW retirement album from 1985 with letters, poems, a collage, and newspaper clippings, and colleagues' reflections on working with Sue Follon. The final series, Audiovisual, contains 21 audiocassettes of dissertation interviews from the 1980s.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: EDUCATION
Series 3: CAREER
Series 4: AUDIOVISUAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Obituaries - 1998
  • Series 2: EDUCATION
  • Box 1:
  • Dissertation: General - 1980-1984
  • Dissertation: Abstract - 1983
  • Dissertation: Research notes from interviews - 1980-1989
  • Dissertation: Questionnaires (2 folders) - 1980-1989
  • Dissertation: Questionnaire survey - 1981
  • Series 3: CAREER
  • Box 2:
  • Student services in higher education course - 1990
  • ICSW retirement album - 1985
  • Photo album of gathering: Hotel Fort Des Moines, undated
  • Preservation copy of photo album, undated
  • Series 4: AUDIOVISUAL
  • Box 3:
  • 21 Audiocassettes: Dissertation interviews - 1980
  • VHS: Memorial service - 1998