Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Patricia Peterson Wiese papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-2010
Creator: Wiese, Patricia Peterson (1937-)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0810
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: English as a Second Language teacher in West Liberty, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1223) were donated by Patricia Wiese in 2010.

Preferred Citation:

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Patricia Louise Turpen was born in 1937 in Scottsbluff, Nebraska to Thelma Turpen and Stephen Turpen, the youngest of three sisters. Her family was musical, and she played and taught piano. She graduated from Abraham Lincoln High School in 1955. She married and changed her last name to Peterson.
 
Patricia Peterson studied elementary education and Spanish at Graceland College in Lamoni, Iowa, graduating in 1974. In 1977, she spent two month at New York University, Puerto Rico, studying bilingual education. She also traveled to Spain in the summer of 1989, and lived for two years in Mexico City.
 
Peterson dedicated her teaching career to English as a Second Language (ESL) and bilingual education. She was the owner/director of Los Chicos Pre-School in Lamoni, Iowa. From 1975 to 1986, she taught ESL grades 5 to 8, in West Liberty, Iowa. In 1986, Peterson moved to Texas where she taught at a bilingual elementary school in the Pasadena Independent School District. From 1994 until her retirement in 2000, she taught Spanish language immersion in Robbinsdale, Minnesota.
 
Patricia Peterson married Thomas Wiese in 1995, and changed her last name to Wiese. She has five children.

The Patricia Peterson Wiese papers date from 1978 to 2010 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The collection covers Wiese's career as a bilingual and ESL teacher. The majority of the papers relate to her position at West Liberty Community Schools, and to the West Liberty Mexican-American community. A few papers relate to her position in the Pasadena Independent School District.
 
Many of Patricia Peterson Wiese's West Liberty students were from Mexico. The majority of these students' parents worked for Louis Rich Foods, Inc., a turkey processing facility in West Liberty. Some of their parents were agricultural workers who migrated seasonally, to Texas and Colorado; of these, some had been hired through the Bracero Program. In addition to teaching Latino students, Wiese also taught several students from Laos and Korea, whose parents also worked for Louis Rich Foods, Inc.
 
Documents include Wiese's academic transcripts and resume, correspondence, a list of her students from West Liberty, and newspaper clippings. The collection contains two of Wiese's research papers, "The Placement Testing of Mexican-American School Children Results in Discrimination and Unequal Educational Opportunities" and "Second Language Acquisition," and her brief memoir, "History of Latinos in West Liberty, Iowa." Finally, there is a photo album of students and events from the West Liberty ESL program.
María Cano Martínez papers (IWA)
West Liberty High School (Muscatine County, Iowa) photographs (IWA)
Hartupee Social Club (West Liberty, Iowa) records (IWA)
Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County) records (IWA)
Clara Steen Scott papers (IWA)
Marilyn E. (Harris) Jackson papers (IWA)
Muscatine Migrant Committee records (IWA)
Lois Muehl papers (IWA)
Marian Farquhar papers (IWA)
Rosemary Harris papers (IWA)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Education and career - 1984-2007
  • "History of Latinos in West Liberty, Iowa" - 2010
  • Newspaper articles, West Liberty, Iowa - 1997-2009
  • Research papers - 1985
  • Photo album, "Students, Plays, Pow Wow" - 1978-1986