Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lolly Eggers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-1994
Creator: Eggers, Lolly (1929-)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0806
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Papers related to the social activism and career of librarian Lolly Eggers.

Alternate Extent Statement: AC [1366]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1164) were donated by Lolly Eggers in 2008, 2009, and 2010.

Preferred Citation: Lolly Eggers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Lauretta P. "Lolly" Eggers was born in September 1929 in Omaha, Nebraska. Her mother, Doryce Marie Wright Parker, was a housewife, and her father, Russell Sherwin Parker, was an executive for the Northwestern Bell Telephone Co. Lolly Eggers married Delos Eggers in 1951. They have three children: Kim Parker Eggers (1953-), Kevin Benson Eggers (1955-2001), and Kelly Andrews Eggers (1956-).
Lolly Eggers graduated from Grinnell College with a BA in 1951. She received an MA Library Science from the University of Iowa in 1969. That same year, she was hired at the Iowa City Public Library. During her first six years there, she worked as reference librarian, acting head of Adult Services, and head of the Technical Processing Department. She became Director of the library in 1974, and held the position until her retirement in 1994.
Lolly Eggers has published several articles and two books related to the library profession. Her books are: A Century of Stories: The History of the Iowa City Public Library, 1896-1997 (1997), and Iowa City's Irving Weber, A Biography (2006).
A dedicated social activist, Lolly Eggers has been involved with the Iowa League of Women Voters, the Johnson County Commission on the Status of Women, and other women's rights and political action groups.

The Lolly Eggers papers date from 1963 to 1994 and measure 1.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Biographical information, League of Women Voters, Equal Opportunity Employment Commission vs. Iowa City, Johnson County Commission on the Status of Women, Presentations, and Publications.
 
The Biographical information series (1994) consists of one newspaper clipping, which relates to the Iowa City/Johnson County Senior Center's recognition of Lolly Eggers as a Woman of Distinction.
 
The League of Women Voters series (1963-1966) primarily relates to the fair housing initiative, which led to the passing of the Iowa City Fair Housing Ordinance in 1964. It includes summary reports from several organizations and committees involved in the campaign, the Housing Survey Report of that the LWV and other volunteers completed in 1963, newspaper articles, and a set of informational documents that Lolly Eggers identified as handouts. This series also contains several drafts of a Political Effectiveness Checklist that the LWV developed in 1966.
 
The Women's Rights Activism series (1969-1990) relates to Lolly Eggers' activism, primarily from 1969-1974. Lolly Eggers was involved in the Johnson County Women's Political Caucus, the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, and the Shirley Chrisholm presidential campaign. Documents from these organizations include meeting minutes, newsletters, correspondence, pamphlets, newspaper articles, and handwritten notes. Also included is the Strategy for Action Handbook (c. 1971), which details the WILPF's efforts to ameliorate increased confrontation between student protestors and police in Iowa City. This series also consists of information relating to other local issues, such as girls' athletics, child care, and employment rights. It contains several membership lists from local political and activist organizations.
 
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission vs. Iowa City series (1970-1974) relates to a lawsuit filed by the EEOC on behalf of Lolly Eggers and other female employees of the City of Iowa City alleging gender discrimination in employment practices. The series contains copies of official complaints and settlement agreements, correspondence, and newspaper articles. It also contains detailed research on Iowa City employment statistics, along with legal research.
 
The Johnson County Council on the Status of Women series (1973-1976) contains agendas and meeting minutes, correspondence, newsletters, and reports. There are detailed financial records from Lolly Egger's term as treasurer. Three iterations of member information sheets, filled out by JCCSW members, are included. The series also contains documents related to the JCCSW's efforts to address discriminatory listings of women's names in phonebooks (women listed by their husband's names) and newspapers (improper titles given to women).
 
The Presentations series (1977-1994) contains detailed notes and correspondence related to professional presentations that Lolly Eggers gave at public libraries and library conferences. Presentations addressed two principle topics. 1) Computerized library catalogues and checkout systems. In 1980, the Iowa City Public Library was the first public library in the US to have a computerized catalogue and checkout system. 2) Collection building and maintenance for public libraries. The Iowa City Public Library developed a system in which the catalogue correctly reflected what was actually in the collection. This system also ensured that copies of the most popular titles were "Always Available" by purchasing multiple copies, checking the shelves frequently, and related procedures. Each subject specialist developed lists of titles that should be "Always Available," and staff attempted to provide at least one copy available for checkout all times. This series also contains and audiocassette recording of Lolly Eggers' 1977 presentation, "Collection Building: Problems and Possibilities," AC [1366].
 
The Publications series (1976-1991) includes five articles that Lolly Eggers published about the profession of librarianship. Topics include collection management and automation.
The League of Women Voters (LWV) of Iowa; LWV of Johnson County, Iowa; LWV of Metropolitan Des Moines, Iowa; LWV of Mt. Vernon-Libson, Iowa; LWV of Muscatine,Iowa;  and LWV of Sioux City, Iowa.
The Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (Des Moines Branch).
Irving Weber's Iowa City, The University of Iowa Digital Libraries.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS
Series 3: WOMENS RIGHTS ACTIVISM
Series 4: EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION VS. IOWA CITY
Series 5: JOHNSON COUNTY COUNCIL ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN
Series 6: PRESENTATIONS
Series 7: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Lolly Eggers - 1994
  • Series 2: LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Fair housing handouts - 1963-1964
  • Fair housing newspaper articles - 1964
  • Fair housing summary reports - 1963-1965
  • Fair housing survey - 1963
  • Fair housing, miscellaneous - 1963-1965
  • Political effectiveness checklist - 1966
  • Series 3: WOMENS RIGHTS ACTIVISM
  • Box 1:
  • Johnson County Womens Political Caucus - 1973-1974
  • Local issues - 1971-1974
  • Organizational membership lists - 1969-1990
  • Shirley Chisholm campaign - 1972
  • Box 2:
  • Womens International League for Peace and Freedom - 1971-1972
  • Series 4: EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION VS. IOWA CITY
  • Box 2:
  • Complaint and settlement - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1972-1974
  • Newspaper articles - 1972
  • Research employment statistics - 1970-1974
  • Research legal - 1971-1973
  • Series 5: JOHNSON COUNTY COUNCIL ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1973-1975
  • Agendas and minutes - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Financial reports - 1973-1976
  • Member information sheets (folder 1), undated
  • Member information sheets (folder 2), undated
  • Box 3:
  • Member information sheets (folder 3), undated
  • Member lists - 1973-1975
  • Newsletters - 1973-1975
  • Newspaper articles - 1973-1974
  • Reports on boards and commissions - 1974
  • Womens name listings - 1973-1974
  • Series 6: PRESENTATIONS
  • Box 3:
  • Collection Building: Problems and Possibilities - 1977
  • Always Available or Saturation Point Buying" - 1979-1980
  • Long-Range Planning for Public Libraries" - 1980
  • Signing the Library" - 1981-1982
  • Reciprocal Borrowing" - 1982
  • Women in Libraries Selection" - 1982
  • Library Statistics and Library Management" - 1982-1987
  • Using Circulation Statistics to Develop Adult Collections" - 1983
  • Impact of Automation on Library, Public Staff" - 1983-1985
  • Views of Adult Services" - 1985
  • Regional and Resource Center - 1985
  • Books that Made the Difference" - 1985
  • Workshop on Collection Management" - 1985
  • Box 4:
  • Mass Media and Mass Society" - 1986-1989
  • Iowa City Public Library - 1987
  • Aspects of Library Funding: Non-Resident Fee Cards" - 1987
  • Collection development - 1987
  • Library Boards: Do They Make a Difference? - 1987-1988
  • Budget and sources of income - 1988
  • How Your Public Library Supports You and How You Can Support Your Public Library - 1988
  • Role Setting" - 1988
  • Reinventing the Library" - 1989
  • Levies for public libraries - 1991-1993
  • Retirement speech to Rotary Club - 1993
  • Introduction for Susan Stamberg, Iowa Library Association - 1994
  • Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • More Effective Management of the Librarys Book Collection" - 1976
  • An Analysis of the Adult Book Collections of the Nine Largest Iowa Public Libraries" - 1980
  • Management Techniques and Service Philosophy" - 1984
  • Automation" - 1984-1985
  • Library School a Responsibility" - 1991

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.