Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1992-2012
Creator: University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0803
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Program established in 1994 to expand and improve educational and professional opportunities for women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and provide support for students in these fields.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright is held by The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1246) were donated by Chris Brus on behalf of the WISE Program in 2010.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Established in August 1994, the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program's mission is to expand and improve educational and professional opportunities for women in fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) by facilitating individual, institutional, and social change. The idea developed in October 1992 when twenty-five University of Iowa (UI) participants attended the Women in Science and EngineeringConference at Indiana University sponsored by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC). To create a formal WISE program at the UI was the first on a list of recommended initiatives put forward by a group of UI faculty, staff, and students who recognized the need for a more structured approach to increasing the number of women in STEM fields.
 
In 1995, WISE initiated a peer-mentoring program to increase participation and support for women with STEM majors. The program established a mentee-mentor relationship between first year and upper level students for over 200 undergraduates with the same STEM major. To strengthen the students' studies, WISE Learning Communities began in the 1996-1997 school year as the first academic learning community on campus; it provides residential based community-building programs and academic and social support for undergraduate women with STEM concentrations. Both the peer mentoring program and the learning communities provided academic and social support to, on average, two-thirds of all incoming first year women in the College of Engineering. In addition, WISE students participated in the Learning Community Outreach Program that connected them with their home schools by acting as role models to younger women in grades K-12. In 2001, WISE started the Graduate Student Mentoring Program to increase relationships among undergraduates and graduate students continuing their studies or working in the fields of science and technology.

The University of Iowa Women in Science and Engineering Program records date from 1992 to 2010 and measure ­­5.5 linear feet.  The records are arranged in eight series:  History; Administrative files; Grants and Funding; Mentoring Program; Publicity; Scholarships; Undergraduate and Graduate Programs and Research; and Workshops, Conferences and Events, and Photographs.  Penciled notes in brackets on the folders were written by the WISE staff prior to transferring the records to the Iowa Women's Archives.
 
The History series (1993-2006) contains correspondence between program coordinators and directors, budget analyses, and files concerning learning community housing and program goals. Also included are three folders that document Iowa's first female graduates, faculty, student assistants, and other female firsts at the University of Iowa.  Folders removed from a binder include reports and publications from the program. 'History' was the title given to those folders by the WISE staff.
 
The Administrative series (1995-2010) includes advisory board minutes, annual reports, strategic plans, and materials concerning faculty program development files, a Committee on  Institutional Cooperation (CIC) directory and site visit report, and lists of WISE program participants from 1995-2010. The advisory board correspondence and meeting agendas and the CIC reports comprise the bulk of this series.
 
The Grants/Funding series (1995-2008) includes a proposal for the National Science Foundation, General Mills proposal for the first peer mentoring program,  materials concerning the  International Women in Science and Engineering (I-WISE) mini grants, UI Foundation correspondence from 1998-2008, Student to Student Support in Science (SSSS) files (1998-2005). The bulk of the series transferred from large binders to folders.
 
The Mentoring Program series (1994-2005) is comprised of documents relating to both the Graduate Mentoring Program and Student-to-Student Support in Science (SSSS) Peer Mentoring Program. The Graduate Mentoring Program paired undergraduate students with students in graduate or doctoral programs and the series includes materials on the program's development and pilot year (1999-2002), graduate mentoring participant lists (2002), WISE peer mentor/mentee lists, program evaluations, photos, recommendation files, and the bulk of the collection are mid-year and final reports (1996-2005).
 
The Publicity series (1995-2010) documents the press releases (2001-2004) and media coverage, including newspaper clippings from Iowa City Press-Citizen and Daily Iowan, WISE newsletters (1995-2010), Learning Community pamphlets, and program promotional material.  This series includes the newspaper clippings and photos of Iowa native Peggy Whitson's mission to space in March 2007. The photos include the piece of homemade paper that WISE students signed with messages that Whitson brought along on the mission.
 
The Scholarship series (1996-2010) series houses records from the variety of national and regional scholarships, which include travel grants and fellowships awarded to WISE students.
 
The Student Research series (1996-2008) traces the academic research and programs by WISE.  In 2001, the Graduate Programs Climate Study started by WISE and the Graduate College surveyed students to identify strengths and weaknesses in UI graduate education. The seven sections of the survey asked about issues regarding the matriculation of graduate students, regardless of gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or other variables that impact support within their degree-granting programs.  The WISE Visual/Spatial Study assessed the relative skill levels of first-year males and females involved in tasks of mental rotation, considered a strong indicator of success in STEM programs. In addition, the series includes papers on Service Learning, where students serve as role models to young women, I-WISE correspondence, Women in Nature (WIN), and other service programs geared to bridging women in STEM programs and young girls' interest in science.
 
The Workshops/Conferences series (1992-2010) contains materials from happenings WISE hosted or attended.  The series holds the papers for the CIC conference from 1992, where the idea for WISE developed.  The bulk of the series includes papers and posters for events sponsored by WISE, such as Women's Health Conference, Women in Research Day, Strategies for Success Workshops, and Take Your Daughter to Work Day, among others.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
Series 3: GRANTS AND FUNDING
Series 4: MENTORING PROGRAM
Series 5: PUBLICITY
Series 6: SCHOLARSHIPS
Series 7: STUDENT RESEARCH
Series 8: WORKSHOPS, CONFERENCES, AND EVENTS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • History, 1993
  • History, 1994
  • History, 1995
  • History, 1996
  • History, 1997
  • History, 1998
  • History, 1999
  • History, 2000
  • History, 2001
  • History, 2002
  • History, 2003
  • History, 2004
  • History, 2005
  • History, 2006
  • History, removed from binder (folder 1)
  • Box 2:
  • History, removed from binder (folder 2)
  • History, removed from binder (folder 3)
  • Biographies of Iowa Women, undated (folder 1)
  • Biographies of Iowa Women, undated (folder 2)
  • Female firsts, undated
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
  • Box 2:
  • Advisory board minutes, 1994-1999
  • Advisory board, removed from binder, 1998
  • Advisory board, removed from binder, 1999
  • Advisory board, removed from binder, 2000
  • Box 3:
  • Advisory board external, 1996
  • Annual Reports, 1994-1998
  • CIC initiative, 1995-2004
  • CIC Directory, 1995-1997
  • CIC site visit, 1999-2000
  • CIC Diversity Steering committee, 1996-1997
  • Iowa Capital Campaign, 1997-2000
  • Faculty Correspondence, 1999-2007
  • Faculty development ideas, undated
  • Gender mainstreaming practical skills, 2002
  • Provost search committee, undated
  • Strategic plan and program development, 1999
  • Series 3: GRANTS AND FUNDING
  • Box 4:
  • CIC National Science Foundation grant, 1996-1998
  • General Mills proposal, 1995-1996
  • I-WISE funding, removed from binder, 1998-2002 (folder 1)
  • I-WISE funding, removed from binder, 1998-2002 (folder 2)
  • I-WISE funding, removed from binder, 1998-2002 (folder 3)
  • University Foundation correspondence, 1998-2008
  • SSSS funding proposal, 1996-2006
  • Series 4: MENTORING PROGRAM
  • Box 5:
  • Graduate Mentor Program development, 1999-2002
  • Graduate Mentoring pilot year, 2001-2002
  • Graduate Mentoring workshop, 2000-2001
  • Participants, 2002
  • Peer mentee/mentor lists, removed from binder, 1995-2006
  • Program evaluations, removed from binder, 1995-1999
  • Mentor Photos
  • Box 6:
  • Peer mentoring events, 2000-2009
  • Peer mentoring participants, 1995-2010
  • Presentation materials, undated
  • Reports, 1996-2006
  • SSSS evaluations, 1995-2004
  • Series 5: PUBLICITY
  • Box 7:
  • Fliers, undated
  • Invest in your future material, 2006-2007
  • Learning communities material, 2002-2009
  • NASA articles and newspaper clippings, 2007
  • WISE in the news, undated
  • Pamphlets, updated
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 1)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 2)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 3)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 4)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 5)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 6)
  • Press releases, 1994-2004 (folder 7)
  • WISE newsletters, 1994-2010
  • WISE newsletters, 1999-2012
  • Series 6: SCHOLARSHIPS
  • Box 8:
  • Alcoa Scholars, 2001
  • Conference scholarships, 2010
  • Mary Jo Small Fellowship, 2002
  • Student travel grants, 1996-1999
  • Series 7: STUDENT RESEARCH
  • Box 9:
  • Climate study notes, 2000
  • Climate study draft copies, 2001
  • Climate study advertising, 2000-2001
  • Climate study survey, 2002-2003
  • Climate study material, removed from binder, 2000-2002 (folder 1)
  • Climate study material, removed from binder, 2000-2002 (folder 2)
  • Box 10:
  • I-WISE program overview, removed from binder, 1998-1999
  • I-WISE seminars, removed from binder, 1999 (folder 1)
  • I-WISE seminars, removed from binder, 1999 (folder 2)
  • I-WISE correspondence, 1995-2001
  • Post-Doc Association correspondence, 2008
  • Box 11:
  • Math challenge, 2001-2003
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 1)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 2)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 3)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 4)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 5)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 6)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 7)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 8)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 9)
  • Service learning project, 1996 (folder 10)
  • Tech check-off, undated
  • Visual Spatial survey, 2004
  • Women in Nature, 1996-1998
  • Series 8: WORKSHOPS, CONFERENCES, AND EVENTS
  • Box 12:
  • Bijou events, undated
  • CIC conference, 1992
  • CIC conferences, 1999-2000
  • CIC best practices workshop, 1997
  • CIC best practices workshop, 1998
  • CIC best practices workshop, 1999
  • Cheryl Palm seminar, 2002
  • Diane Halpern lecture, 2006
  • Liberal learning and leadership, 2003
  • Multicultural Graduation and Recognition Banquet, 1995-2008
  • Box 13:
  • Robo Day, 2008
  • Staff poster awards, 2003
  • Strategies for success, 1999-2002
  • Take your daughter to work day, 1998-2001
  • Valerie Young imposter syndrome lecture, 2001 (folder 1)
  • Valerie Young imposter syndrome lecture, 2001 (folder 2)
  • Valerie Young imposter syndrome lecture, 2001 (folder 3)
  • Women in Research Day, 1995-1998 (folder 1)
  • Women in Research Day, 1995-1998 (folder 2)
  • Women in Research Day, 1995-1998 (folder 3)
  • Women in Research Day, 1995-1998 (folder 4)
  • Box 14:
  • WISE Advisory board retreat, removed from binder, 2005 (folder 1)
  • WISE Advisory board retreat, removed from binder, 2005 (folder 2)
  • WISE Advisory board retreat, removed from binder, 2005 (folder 3)
  • WISE Executive board retreat, removed from binder, 2005
  • WISE Learning communities’ events, 1995-2010
  • WISE Post Doc activities, 2005
  • Women’s Health Conference, 1999-2003 (folder 1)
  • Women’s Health Conference, 1999-2003 (folder 2)
  • Women’s Health Conference, 1999-2003 (folder 3)