Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jeanne Jones Cook papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1939-1949
Creator: Cook, Jeanne Jones (1927-1993)
Extent: 6.25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0795
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Nurse Jeanne Jones Cook grew up in Iowa and Colorado. She completed her training with the U.S. Cadet Nurse Corps in 1945.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1314) were donated by Cynthia Yergler in 2013.

Preferred Citation: Jeanne Jones Cook papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jeanne Elizabeth Jones Cook was born in 1927 in Mount Union, Iowa, the second of Lee H. and Elizabeth Swann Jones' three children. The family moved to Colorado during the 1930s, returning to Mount Union in the late 1930s. When Lee and Elizabeth Jones returned to Colorado in the early 1940s, their two daughters stayed in Iowa. Jeanne Jones enrolled in the Mercy Hospital School of Nursing in Burlington; her sister married and settled in Mount Pleasant.

Jeanne Jones was part of the last class of students to complete the U.S. Cadet Nurse Corps program, which ended in October 1945. Upon graduating and completing her board exams, she worked as a surgical nurse at Saint Mary's Hospital in Galesburg, Illinois. She married David. W. Cook in 1949, and settled in Gladstone, Illinois. Their daughter Cynthia Kay was born in 1953.

During her career, Cook worked in many types of nursing care, preferring direct patient contact positions to administrative work. She continued to work until lingering injuries from a car accident forced her to retire in 1983. In 1993, she died of pulmonary disease at her daughter's home in Springfield, Illinois.

The Jeanne Jones Cook papers date from 1939 to 1945 and measure 6.25 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Biographical, Photographs, and Albums.

The Biographical series (1938-1948) contains a biography of Jeanne Jones Cook, presumably written by her daughter, Cynthia Yergler.  Memorabilia from the Mercy Hospital School of Nursing in Burlington, Iowa, a high school autograph book, and a telegram sent by Cook to her future husband from Pike's Peak in Colorado.

The Photographs series (1945 and undated) includes a small album, a framed photo of Cook on a high school basketball team, and assorted school and sports photographs.

The Scrapbooks series (1944-1949) comprises two volumes. One covers Cook's senior year of high school; the other covers the period from her enrollment in the Mercy Hospital School of Nursing until her marriage.
The Paisley Family Diaries Collection is housed in the University of Iowa Special Collections; Civil War veteran John Paisley was Cook's great-grandfather.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1948
  • Autograph book - 1939-1940
  • Series 2: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Black Album, undated
  • Basketball team, undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1945
  • Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 2:
  • Rose-embossed album - 1945-1949
  • Box 3:
  • Eagle-embossed album - 1944-1949

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.