Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Embroiderers' Guild of America, Plum Grove Chapter, records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1975-2009
Creator: Embroiders Guild of America
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0794
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The guild taught needlework skills and participated in shows.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 videocassette [V438], 1 DVD [d0076], photographs in Box 7

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been retained by the donor.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1184) were donated by Vicki Walsh in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Embroiderer's Guild of America records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Embroiderers' Guild of America (EGA), Plum Grove Chapter records date from 1976 to 2009 and measure 2.5 linear feet. The records are arranged in seven series: Historical information, Administrative records, Education, Projects, Shows, Newsletters and Photographs.
 
The Historical information series documents the Plum Grove Chapter's history from its inception. It includes a certificate from the Embroiderers' Guild of America dated January 21, 1976 as well as newspaper clippings, member lists, show handbooks, correspondence, and photographs.
 
The Administrative records series consists of by-laws and policies, annual financial reports, membership information, minutes, and officers' notebooks. Membership reports and lists from 1999 to 2006 record newly added and renewing members and the officer's notebooks include an EGA history timeline and provide guidelines and procedures on publications and education.
 
The Education series contains an officer's notebook and guidelines that describe the organization's introductory programs such as how to teach needlework for adults and children, a selection of embroidery materials, and the value of needlework. A guide for successful exhibits is included, entitled "Sharing Embroidery," which clarifies organizational, financial, and judging policies for members.
 
The Projects series contains the smaller projects undertaken by individual members. The Petite Projects consist of various how-to pamphlets, which guide members in creating anything from a Victorian heart necklace to Swedish weavings. The sampler threads project contains embroidered samples of member work such as the jack rabbit sampler and the heart sampler.
 
The Shows series contains details of large-scale displays that the membership participated in. Materials about the annual Herbert Hoover Library tree holiday exhibit include correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs from 1991 to 2008. The Plum Grove chapter celebrated its 25th anniversary with the Silver Threads and Silver Needles show in 2001 at which members displayed both contemporary and traditional samples of handwork. The labels from these exhibits provide brief descriptions of techniques such as Pulled thread embroidery and Reticello lace.
 
The Newsletters series contains some general regional newsletters from the Embroiderers' Guild of America but the collection is mainly a comprehensive collection of the Plum Grove Chapter newsletters from 1986 to 1995. In 1995 the newsletter changed its name to Gatherings. Early newsletters were smaller and emphasized embroidery projects and meeting times whereas the later editions become more comprehensive, the main features being a calendar of upcoming events and programs, as well as community, regional, and national news. The October-December 2007 newsletter focuses on the chapter's decision to disband.
 
The Photographs series consists of photographs taken from two photo albums. The Plum Grove Chapter's Silver Anniversary show in 2001 is of particular focus and loose photographs make up the rest of the collection, from small workshops and social events to larger projects such as the Iowa State Fair and the Herbert Hoover Library Christmas Tree exhibition. Photos of each member's embroidery work are contained in this series.
Edith Edmund Johnson papers (IWA): This collection includes the records of two Fairfield, Iowa, clubs - the Fancy Work Circle and the Luthern Church Women's Quilting Club. Percival Needlecrafters (IWA): This collection includes scrapbooks with photographs of quilts made by club members.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
Series 3: EDUCATION
Series 4: PROJECTS
Series 5: SHOWS
Series 6: NEWSLETTERS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: HISTORICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1975-1977
  • General - 1980-1989
  • General - 1990-1995
  • Newspaper clippings - 1982-2005
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Bylaws and policies - 1989-1996
  • Chapter lists - 1999-2000
  • Correspondence - 1995-2006
  • Financial guidelines - 2000-2005
  • Financial records - 1985-2006
  • Fundraising notebook - 1991
  • Box 2:
  • Membership general - 1988-2006
  • Membership general - 2003-2006
  • Membership lists - 1990-2006
  • Minutes - 1999-2003
  • Officer notebook - 1976-2007
  • Heartland region representative notebook - 1999-2006
  • Website - 1999-2007
  • Series 3: EDUCATION
  • Box 3:
  • Chairman notebook - 1979-2003
  • Guidelines - 1990-2003
  • Guidelines - 1997-2005
  • Series 4: PROJECTS
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1983-2002
  • Drawn thread - 1997
  • Petite projects - 1996-2006
  • Sampler threads - 1991-1993
  • Stitchers' palette - 1998-2001
  • Series 5: SHOWS
  • Box 4:
  • Glorious Threads - 1991
  • Herbert Hoover Library Tree - 1991-2003
  • Herbert Hoover Library Tree - 2003-2008
  • Iowa State Fair - 2003
  • Needlework - 1990-1997
  • Silver Threads and Silver Needles - 2001
  • Silver Threads and Silver Needles [d0076] - 2001
  • Threads Galore - 2003
  • Threads Galore - 2005
  • Box 5:
  • Exhibit labels, no date
  • Series 6: NEWSLETTERS
  • Box 6:
  • General - 1994-2006
  • Plum Grove newsletters - 1986-1990
  • Plum Grove newsletters - 1991-1995
  • Gatherings - 1995-1999
  • Gatherings - 2000-2007
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 7:
  • General (six folders) - 1990-2004