Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marilyn Preheim Rose papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-2000
Creator: Rose, Marilyn Preheim (1928-)
Extent: 12.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0790
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professor of Anthropology and Women's Studies at the University of Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Marilyn Rose papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Marilyn Preheim Rose, professor of Anthropology and Women´s Studies at The University of Iowa, was born in 1928 in South Dakota to Adolf Preheim and Nettie Wittrig Preheim. She was raised in a Mennonite community, and remained Mennonite throughout her life. Preheim earned a BA in Chemistry at Bethel College in North Newton, Kansas, in 1947. While a student at Bethel College, she studied abroad at the University of Leiden in Holland. In 1951, Marilyn Preheim married Earl Rose, a physician, and they had six children. While raising her children, Marilyn Rose earned an MA in Anthropology in 1974 and a Ph.D. in Anthropology in 1982 from The University of Iowa. She was the first to teach a course on Anthropology and Women´s Studies (ca. 1974) while still a graduate student and on Aging Studies (ca. 1990) as an adjunct faculty member. Marilyn Rose and her husband both volunteered as mediators for the Johnson County Small Claims Mediation Project.

The papers of Marilyn Preheim Rose date from 1922-2000 and measure 12.5 linear inches.  They are arranged in four series:  Nettie Wittrig Preheim;  Biographical (1914-2000), Educational (1946-1947), and Professional (1971-1996).  The Nettie Wittrig Preheim series contains correspondence and personal essays written by Marilyn Rose's mother, Nettie Preheim.  The studying abroad ephemera includes newsletters from the ship she traveled on, paperwork, and correspondence with Bethel College.  The professional series (1971-1991) includes her MA thesis and her dissertation, correspondence with students, syllabi, and a report she wrote on the Bon Homme community for the Army Corps of Engineers.
The papers of Earl F. Rose, Special Collections, The University of Iowa Libraries.
See also, the faculty vertical files under Earl Rose in Special Collections

Browse by Series:
Series 1: NETTIE WITTRIG PREHEIM
Series 2: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 3: EDUCATION
Series 4: PROFESSIONAL

  • Series 1: NETTIE WITTRIG PREHEIM
  • Box 1:
  • Yearbook - 1921
  • Correspondence and family histories - 1914-1922
  • Series 2: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Educational records - 1940
  • Essays and speeches - 1923-2000
  • Family histories - 1952-1998
  • Personal reflections
  • Task Force for Restorative Justice - 2002
  • Governor's volunteer award
  • Series 3: EDUCATION
  • Box 2:
  • Study abroad ephemera - 1946-1947
  • Study abroad ephemera - 1946-1947
  • Study abroad correspondence - 1946-1947
  • Study abroad journal - 1946-1947
  • Series 4: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 2:
  • Term papers - 1971-1975
  • MA thesis materials - 1974
  • Ph.D. dissertation materials - 1982
  • Box 3:
  • Course syllabI - 1990
  • Correspondence - 1995-1996
  • Conference papers - 1974-1977
  • Bon Homme Hutterite Colony - 1982