Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Pilot International Club of Iowa City

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1962-2010
Creator: Pilot International Club of Iowa City (1961-)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0788
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Organization to promote improvement of conditions and treatment for brain-related disorders.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts: In boxes 3 and 8

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1203) were donated by Della McGrath for the Pilot International Club of Iowa City in 2010.

Preferred Citation: Pilot International Club of Iowa City, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Pilot International is a volunteer service organization, founded in 1921, that is focused on improving conditions and treatment for brain-related disorders, such as Alzheimer´s, chemical dependency, brain injuries, and mental disabilities. Originally a women´s organization, its bylaws were amended in the 1980s to allow men to join.
The Pilot Club of Iowa City was started in 1961 by members of the Pilot Club of Davenport, Iowa. The first meeting was held on January 11, 1962 and was attended by 14 women. The club lost no time becoming active in the community; one of its first projects was generating support for the Iowa City Recreation Center. The club was also a leader in helping establish a mental health center in Johnson County. Fundraising is an important part of the Pilot Club of Iowa City. The money raised through charity breakfasts, bake sales, jewelry sales, an annual bazaar, and holiday card sales is used to support community projects.
The Pilot Club of Iowa City has long been involved in district and international activities. Several Iowa City members have held leadership positions in the organization´s Midwest district and have also participated in international and district conventions. As of 2010, the Iowa City club had hosted the district convention four times.

The Pilot International Club of Iowa City records measure 8 linear feet and date from 1962 to 2010. They are arranged in eight series: Meeting Records, Yearbooks, Community Projects, Pilot Paddles newsletters, Other Area Pilot Clubs, Midwest District, Midwest District club evaluation, and International. The records document the activities and concerns of the Pilot Club of Iowa City from its inception to present day. 
The Meeting Records series (1962-2009) includes agendas, minutes, budgets, member profiles and directories, strategic plans, and project plans.
The Yearbook series (1964-2009) highlights club activities and includes member lists and budgets.
The Community Projects series (1990-2009) consists of records pertaining to the community events and projects planned by Pilot Club including fundraising activities. One project that became an annual tradition was the Shared Pilot project between Pilot Club of Iowa City and the Noon Pilot Club of Johnson County. The project was a recruiting event planned with a meeting, lunch, and some sort of entertainment. Records from the Shared Pilot project in 1995, 2003, and 2010 are included.
The Pilot Paddles Newsletter series includes newsletters for the period 1998-2009. The newsletters report on past events and upcoming events of the Iowa City club and include an editorial by the club president in each issue.
The Other Area Clubs series contains information about the other clubs that the Iowa City club helped organize, including the Noon Pilot Club of Johnson County and the Cedar Rapids and Des Moines Metro Pilot Clubs.  The Noon Pilot Club was created to offer an alternative meeting time for individuals unable to attend the regular meetings of Pilot International Club of Iowa City.
The Midwest District series (1983-2010) documents the involvement of the Iowa City branch in District conventions and planning activities such as the Convention Growth Team, a committee that held workshops and programs to help clubs increase membership. The series consists primarily of convention records, workshop materials, and the District's monthly newsletter Governor's Bulletin, later renamed The Heartland Herald. Newsletters dating from 1990 to 2010 can be found at the end of the series.
The Midwest District Club Evaluation series (2002-2006) includes local newsletters, budgets, member lists, and community projects for clubs that were evaluated by an officer of the Midwest District. Between 2004 and 2006 every club filled out a status report and received a site visit. Della McGrath of the Pilot Club of Iowa City conducted many site visits; this series contains her correspondence, records of site visits, and any materials the clubs supplied her.  The records of site visits illuminate the difficulty many local clubs had maintaining membership and keeping their organizations going in the early 21st century.
The International series (1977-2009) contains Pilot Logs, the Pilot International magazine, for 1987-2009, as well as Pilot Club Foundation newsletters dating from 1980 to 2000.  Convention materials make up the bulk of this series and include workshop and session handouts and notices, name badges, and emails.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MEETING RECORDS
Series 2: YEARBOOKS
Series 3: COMMUNITY PROJECTS
Series 4: PILOT PADDLES NEWSLETTER
Series 5: OTHER AREA CLUBS
Series 6: MIDWEST DISTRICT
Series 7: MIDWEST DISTRICT CLUB EVALUATION
Series 8: INTERNATIONAL

  • Series 1: MEETING RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Misc Notes and Minutes, (Charter years) - 1962-1985
  • Board Meeting Minutes, (Charter Year) - 1962-1994
  • Secretary Record - 1985-1991
  • Secretary Record - 1991-1993
  • Attendance Records - 1962-1984
  • Invitation Services - 1992-1997
  • Secretary Record - 1994-2001
  • Box 2:
  • Pilot Presidents Manual, undated
  • Secretary Record - 1997-2001
  • Secretary Records - 1996-2003
  • Secretary Records - 2006-2007
  • Secretary Records - 2007-2008
  • Secretary Records - 2008-2009
  • Box 3:
  • Meeting Materials - 1988-1989
  • Leave requests - 1989-1990
  • Leave of Absence requests and proposals - 1990-1991
  • Leave of Absence requests - 1991-1992
  • Membership forms - 1991-1992
  • Meeting materials - 1992-1993
  • Division Assignments - 1993-1994
  • Member Profiles - 1993-1995
  • Meeting Materials - 1994-1995
  • Meeting Materials - 1995-1996
  • Meeting Materials - 1996-1997
  • Meeting Materials - 1999-2000
  • Meeting Materials - 2000-2001
  • Meeting Materials - 2001-2002
  • Meeting Materials - 2002-2003
  • Meeting Materials - 2003-2004
  • Pilot Club Strategic Plan - 2003-2004
  • Meeting Materials - 2005-2006
  • Secretary Records - 2005-2006
  • President´s Records - 2005-2006
  • President´s Records - 2005-2006
  • Series 2: YEARBOOKS
  • Box 3:
  • Programs - 1964-1965, 1970-1972
  • Yearbook - 1976-1977
  • Yearbook - 1977-1979
  • Yearbook - 1979-1982
  • Yearbook - 1982-1983
  • Yearbook - 1983-1984
  • Yearbook - 1984-1985
  • Yearbook - 1985-1986
  • Yearbook - 1986-1987
  • Yearbook - 1987-1988
  • Yearbook - 1988-1989
  • Yearbook - 1989-1990
  • Yearbook - 1990-1991
  • Yearbook - 1991-1992
  • Yearbook - 1997-1998
  • Yearbook - 2005-2006
  • Yearbook - 2007-2008
  • Yearbook - 2008-2009
  • Series 3: COMMUNITY PROJECTS
  • Box 4:
  • Handicare grant - 1990
  • Ragbrai - 1995
  • Shared Pilot - 1995
  • Shared Pilot - 2003
  • Book Club - 2003
  • Memorial Trees - 2003-2004
  • Bill Sackter Documentary - 2004
  • Presentations of FundS - 2004-2005
  • Fundraising Applications - 2004-2005
  • Budgets and Projects - 2005-2006
  • Projects Division, Systems Unlimited - 2006-2007
  • Projects Records - 2006-2007
  • Projects Records - 2007-2008
  • Annual Breakfast - 2008-2009
  • Shared Pilot - 2010
  • Series 4: PILOT PADDLES NEWSLETTER
  • Box 4:
  • Pilot Paddles - 1998-1999
  • Pilot Paddles - 1999-2000
  • Pilot Paddles - 2000-2001
  • Pilot Paddles - 2001-2002
  • Pilot Paddles - 2002-2003
  • Pilot Paddles - 2004-2005
  • Pilot Paddles - 2005-2006
  • Pilot Paddles - 2007-2008
  • Pilot Paddles - 2008-2009
  • Series 5: OTHER AREA CLUBS
  • Box 4:
  • Noon Pilot Club of Johnson County, Forming the Club - 1995-2006
  • Noon Pilot Club of Johnson County, Newsletters - 1995-2007
  • Cedar Rapids Metro, Organization - 1990-1994
  • Des Moines Metro, Organization - 2005
  • Series 6: MIDWEST DISTRICT
  • Box 5:
  • Convention - 1983
  • Convention - 1984
  • Fall Workshop - 1987
  • Convention, Grants Materials - 1989-1989
  • Pilot Growth Manual - 1990-1991
  • Convention - 1992
  • Fall Workshop - 1994
  • Convention Growth Team - 1995
  • Convention Growth Team - 1995
  • Convention Growth Team - 1996-1997
  • Convention Growth Team - 1998-1999
  • Fall Workshop - 2000
  • Standing Rules Changes - 2001-2002
  • Convention - 2002
  • Convention, Work Assignments - 2002
  • Expenses, Registration, Publicity for Convention - 2002
  • Convention - 2002
  • Convention - 2003-2004
  • Convention - 2003
  • Convention - 2004
  • Convention binder - 2004
  • Workshops and visits - 2004
  • Workshops and programs - 2004
  • Workshops and Meetings - 2004-2005
  • Convention planning - 2004-2005
  • Convention planning - 2004-2005
  • Convention planning - 2004-2005
  • Convention binder - 2005
  • Convention Planning and workshops - 2005-2006
  • How full is your bucket?<\em> -Tom Rath and Donald Clifton
  • Convention Officers Script - 2005
  • Convention Packet - 2005
  • Member recruitment program, undated
  • Box 6:
  • Fall Workshop. September - 2005
  • Strategic Plan - 2005
  • District Convention Manual - 2005
  • Nomination letters and general information - 2005-2006
  • District Manual - 2005-2006
  • General materials - 2005-2006
  • Annual Convention Script - 2006
  • Annual Convention - 2006
  • District Convention Materials - 2007
  • Fall Workshop - 2007
  • Member Rosters/Directories - 1964-1965, 1969-1985
  • Member Rosters/Directories - 1985-1997, 2002-2007
  • Governors Bulletin - 1990-1992
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 1994-1995
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 1998-1999
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2001-2002
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2003-2005
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2005-2006
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2006-2007
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2007-2008
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2008-2009
  • Heartland Herald newsletter - 2009-2010
  • Series 7: MIDWEST DISTRICT CLUB EVALUATION
  • Box 7:
  • Background
  • Convention Evaluations - 2004
  • Bend of the River - 2004-2006
  • Cedar Rapids Metro - 2003-2006
  • Galesburg - 2004-2006
  • Iowa City - 2003-2004
  • Jacksonville - 2003-2005
  • Jacksonville Grant Application - 2005
  • Moline - 2002-2005
  • Moline yearbook - 2005-2006
  • Milwaukee - 2004-2006
  • Milwaukee - 2004-2006
  • Muscatine - 2004-2006
  • Muscatine - 2004-2006
  • Noon Pilot Club of Johnson County - 2005-2006
  • Omaha - 2004-2007
  • Peoria - 2003-2006
  • West Central Illinois - 2001-2005
  • Series 8: INTERNATIONAL
  • Box 7:
  • Pilot Logs Magazine - 1987-1999
  • Pilot Logs Magazine - 2000-2004
  • Pilot Logs Magazine - 2005-2009
  • Box 8:
  • General Materials - 1977-1990
  • General Materials - 1991-2005
  • Foundation Newsletters - 1980-2000
  • Have you ever wondered?, Historical Notes and Factual Information - 1921-1971
  • Convention - 2004
  • Convention, Council of Leaders Retreat - 2004
  • Preparation materials for Convention - 2005-2006
  • Convention - 2005-2006
  • Convention - 2005-2006
  • Convention, Midwest District Governors Binder - 2005-2006
  • Convention, Board of Directors Meeting - 2005-2006
  • Convention - 2006
  • Directory - 2007-2008