Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nadine Domond papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1994-1998
Creator: Domond, Nadine (1975-)
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0787
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Hawkeye women's basketball star, WNBA player and entrepreneur.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 2.Audiovisual: 2 videocassettes, V435-V436.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.778) were donated by Nadine Domond in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Nadine Domond papers, Iowa Women's Archives, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Nadine Domond, basketball player and entrepreneur, was born in 1975 in Stanford, Connecticut, a few years after her parents, Evelyne and Delouis Domond, emigrated from Haiti. Evelyne was a banker and Delouis owned a printing business. Domond graduated as an All-American basketball star from Bridgeport Central High School in Connecticut in 1994. She led her high school team to the state title and went on to play four years of Big Ten basketball at the University of Iowa. Domond played on the last team coached by legendary women´s basketball coach C. Vivian Stringer during her Iowa tenure from 1994 to 1995. For the next three years, under head coach Angie Lee, Domond and the Hawkeyes were Big Ten Champions and also made it to the Sweet Sixteen in the NCAA Tournament in 1996. During this time, Domond also played for various USA Basketball teams, including the squad that won the silver medal in the 1997 US Jones Cup. Domond graduated from the University of Iowa in 1998 with a degree in African American World Studies and Instructional Design. As of 2010, Domond was fifth in all-time Hawkeye women´s three-point shooting. The New York Liberty´s fledging WNBA team drafted Domond as the nineteenth overall pick. She also played for the WNBA´s Sacramento Monarchs and went overseas to play basketball for teams in France, Poland and Israel. Between 2002 and 2004, Domond served as Graduate Assistant Coach and Assistant Coach for the women´s basketball team at Hampton University in Hampton, Virginia. In _______she founded Nadine Domond Elite, a basketball service that provides online networking (at www.ndelite.com), personal training and tournaments and workshops for young players and college coaches.

The Nadine Domond papers date from 1994-1998 and measure 7 linear feet. The papers are arranged in five series: Biographical (1994-1998), University of Iowa Women's Basketball (1994-1998), USA Basketball (1994-1997), Professional Women's Basketball (1996-1998), and Artifacts (1994-1998).

The Summer Training materials include plays and coaching tips from a winning period in University of Iowa Women's Basketball. The programs and media guides reveal personal information about Domond, as well as detailing her accomplishments on the court.

The Professional Women's Basketball series includes recruitment materials and sample contracts from the WNBA and the ABL. There is also a publication put out by the WNBA in their inaugural season (1997) that discusses the history of women's basketball in the United States. The ABL clippings provide insight on the struggles and triumphs professional women's basketball faced in the early years.

The Artifacts reflect Domond's basketball career in high school and college. The plaques mark individual and team achievements at the University of Iowa.
Giving Voice to their Memories, Oral History interview with C. Vivian Stringer (IWA).
Stringer coached Domond in her first year at the University of Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL - 1994-1998
Series 2: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA WOMEN'S BASKETBALL - 1994-1998
Series 3: USA BASKETBALL - 1994-1997
Series 4: PROFESSIONAL WOMEN'S BASKETBALL - 1996-1998
Series 5: ARTIFACTS - 1994-1998

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL - 1994-1998
  • Box 1:
  • Bridgeport Central basketball - 1994
  • Bridgeport Central High School yearbook - 1994
  • Correspondence - 1994, 1998
  • Series 2: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA WOMEN'S BASKETBALL - 1994-1998
  • Box 1:
  • - 1995-1998
  • Media guides - 1994-1998
  • Newspaper clippings - 1994-1997
  • Programs - 1994-1995, 1997
  • Summer training - 1996
  • Women´s Basketball Coaches Association, National Convention - 1998
  • Nadine Domond (Ohio State)
    Shelved in Videocassette collection, V436
  • Series 3: USA BASKETBALL - 1994-1997
  • Box 1:
  • Programs - 1994-1995
  • Box 2:
  • Team photos - 1995, 1997
  • Jones Cup photos - 1997
  • Information binder - 1997
  • Series 4: PROFESSIONAL WOMEN'S BASKETBALL - 1996-1998
  • Box 2:
  • American Basketball League, packet - 1998
  • American Basketball League, clippings - 1996-1998
  • Financial planning for athletes - 1998
  • Financial planning for athletes (folder 2) - 1998
  • Team offers - 1998
  • Team offers (folder 2) - 1998
  • Women´s National Basketball Association - 1997-1998
  • V435 - We Got Next: the WNBA's Inaugural Season, produced by ESPN, 40 minutes
    Shelved in Videocassette Collection, V435
  • Series 5: ARTIFACTS - 1994-1998
  • Box 3:
  • Hawkeye (Tiger Hawk) paperweight rock, undated
  • Women´s National Invitation Tournament (NIT) medallion - 1996
  • Prairie Lights Tournament, All-Tournament team trophy - 1997
  • Box 4:
  • Central Fidelity Women´s Invitational Tournament, black windbreaker, undated
  • Iowa Women´s Basketball Big 10 Tournament Champions, Reebok jacket - 1997
  • Women´s basketball, fleece jacket, undated
  • Big Ten Conference, t-shirt - 1997
  • Hawkeye Women´s Basketball, t-shirt, undated
  • Hawkeye Women´s Basketball, polo, undated
  • Kodak All-American Champions, polo - 1994
  • Box 5:
  • US Olympic Festival, cap with USA pins - 1995
  • Reebok beret with embroidered basketball, cap, undated
  • Iowa Women´s Basketball, cap, undated
  • USA Basketball, cap, undated
  • Big Ten Champions, cap - 1996
  • Big Ten Champions, cap - 1998
  • Box 6:
  • Iowa Hawkeyes Women´s Basketball, plaque - 1995-1996
  • Iowa Hawkeyes Women´s Basketball, plaque - 1996-1997
  • Iowa Hawkeyes Women´s Basketball, plaque - 1997-1998
  • Johnson County "I" Club, Nadine Domond , plaque - 1998
  • Box 7:
  • Unidentified trophy with female basketball player on top, undated
  • One Reebok basketball shoe
    (on loan to the African American Museum)