Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jean Cutler Prior papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1857-2003
Creator: Prior, Jean Cutler (1940-)
Extent: 15.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0786
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Geologist who worked with the Iowa Geological Survey in Iowa City for 38 years.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in boxes 9, 15 and 16
4 videocassettes [V430-433]
1 CD [d0065];
1 reel-to-reel [AC1355]
Photographs in boxes 1, 5-10, 13-14, 22-27
Slides in S-10 and S-11
Microfiche in Box 2

Arrangement: The Orestes St. John oversized series consists of 2 oversized boxes with two folders each in them. The first box (box 32) is titled Milligan Sketches and contains reproductions of the 6 Orestes St. John drawings in folder one and 11 mounted originals and Milligan reproductions in folder 2. The 11 mounted originals and Milligan reproductions include:
1) Clamont Farm, Manhattan, Kansas, Valley of Cedar Creek, Autumn,  1868
2) View of the Valley of the Missouri, looking up the stream to the Northwestward, from bluff on south side of Thompson's Creek (Floyd Bluff), Woodbury Co. Iowa, 13 Aug 1868
3) View of the Valley of the Missouri, looking up the stream to the Northwestward, from bluff on south side of Thompson's Creek (Floyd Bluff) Woodbury Co. Iowa, March 1978
4) Gypsum Quarry in ravine 3 miles south of Fort Dodge on east side of Des Moines, Webster Co. Iowa- The largest exposure at this locality-The gypsum 20 to 30 feet in thickness. 1868
5) Gypsum Quarry in ravine 3 miles south of Fort Dodge on east side of Des Moines, Webster Co. Iowa- The largest exposure at this locality-The gypsum 20 to 30 feet in thickness, April 1979.
6) View on the Des Moines R., above Keosauqua. 1868
7) View on the Des Moines R., above Keosauqua, November 1978.
8) Spirit Lake, from ridge north of Spirit Lake Village at the Southern end of Lake- Looking Northward, Upper extremity of East Okoboji in foreground on the right, 1868
9) Spirit Lake, from ridge north of Spirit Lake Village at the Southern end of Lake- Looking Northward, Upper extremity of East Okoboji in foreground on the right, March 1978.
10) Lake Minne-tonka (West Okoboji) from upland ridge (45 feet above lake) at southern extremity of the Lake- looking northward, 1868.
11) Lake Minne-tonka (West Okoboji) from upland ridge (45 feet above lake) at southern extremity of the Lake- looking Northward, March 1978.

     Box 33 consists of the materials from the Five Iowa Landscapes traveling exhibit. These materials are separated into 2 folders. The first contains mounted materials including Captions, Photo of St. John, Map of Sioux City, IA area, 1870 Map of Iowa, Map of Okoboji, Map of Spirit Lake area, Ft. Dodge area, and a Map of Des Moines River area by Keosauqua. The second folder contains mounted including images of Keosauqua area, Spirit Lake area, Fort Dodge, Lake West Okoboji, and Sioux City.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1121) were received from Jean Prior in 2008.

Preferred Citation: Jean Cutler Prior papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jean Ellen Cutler was born in 1940 to Martha (Perry) Adams Cutler and Thomas Edward Cutler. She graduated from North High School in Akron, Ohio, in 1958 and then entered Purdue University and obtained a B.A. in Geology and Political Science. She continued her education at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and graduated in 1964 with a master's degree in physical geology. That same year she married Stanley Prior. In 1965, the couple moved to Iowa City and she began what was to be a long career at the Iowa Geological Survey.

At the Iowa Geological Survey, Prior worked as a research geologist and was promoted in 1986 to senior research geologist. Throughout her distinguished career she gave educational presentations and lectures, led field trips, and corresponded with geology enthusiasts. She also produced many publications including text books, guide books, pamphlets, and scholarly and popular articles. Prior also edited Iowa Geology from 1984 to 2002. Her publications cover a range of geology topics including the Loess Hills, glaciations in Iowa, 1868 Iowa landscape drawings of Orestes St. John, and the history of the Iowa Geological Survey. All of these achievements and activities are reflected in the collection.

In addition to her work at the Iowa Geological Survey, Prior belonged to many geological organizations and held various leadership positions throughout her career. One of the earliest organizations she joined was the Geological Society of Iowa in 1965. She became newsletter editor in 1968, and president of the organization in 1978. She was also active in the Iowa Academy of Science as a member of the board of directors in 1982, and the public information committee in 1986, and as president in 1993. She was appointed by the Governor to the Iowa State Preserves Advisory Board in 1983, and was a member of the Mines of Spain Scientific and Historic Advisory Committee.

Prior retired from the Iowa Geological survey in 2003, but in her retirement continued to work on writing projects with her husband James Sandrock, whom she married in 2003.

The Jean Cutler Prior papers date from 1857 to 2003 and measure 15 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Biographical, Project Files, Correspondence, Appointment books, State Preserves Advisory Board, Iowa Academy of Science, Publications, and Historical Resources.
 
The Project files series contains information on exhibits, field trips, minor publications (articles usually written in conjunction with a field trip), workshops, and annual conferences. These were Prior's working files and their original order has been preserved.  The series is arranged in chronological order. Some correspondence is included in the project files. One of the correspondents, Andy Killborn was an elementary student who met Prior on a field trip. He continued to attend field trips for many years and maintained correspondence. His letters describe his experiences at the field trips.
 
An audio reel recording of Genesis ch 1 verse 1-10 that was used in the Pikes Peak State Park Tri-Centennial Commemoration in 1973 is also included in this series. It is located with the audio visual materials [AC 1355].
 
Files pertaining to the Loess Hills, Mines of Spain, and Waubonsie Creek Watershed make up large portions of the series. The Loess Hills and Mines of Spain portions of her program files concern seminars, National Natural Landmarks, and field trips.  In the Loess Hills topic area, information requests from 1975-2001 are also included, information about the landfill dispute of 1998 can be found in this folder. The Waubonsie Creek materials are court case materials, involved in the Waubonsie Creek Watershed case.
 
Files pertaining to the Flood of 1993 are also contained in this series, including post flood reports, press coverage, and research materials. Information on the Mount Saint Helens eruption in Washington State can be found in box 11.
 
The Correspondence series includes letters from 1966-2003 and is located in boxes 14-17. The letters are arranged in folders according to year as per Prior's original order. Many of the letters regard requests for information about areas in Iowa; however, some professional correspondence, thank you notes, and copyright permission requests are also included in the series. Letters sent by Prior and received from the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, Geological Survey, University of Oklahoma, and individuals concerned about geology are included. Photos and rock samples are scattered in the series.  The Iowa Geological Survey information request log sheets for 1970-1997 are located at the end of the series in box 17.  These are an important reference when looking for correspondence about a specific topic.
 
The Appointment book series includes eight appointment books from the years 1988, 1989, 1996-2001.  These books contain Priors hourly schedule for these years.
 
The State Preserves Advisory Board series mostly consist of board meeting materials from Prior's appointment duration. The records span the years 1969-2002, but the bulk of the materials are from 1983-1989.  Materials are arranged by month and year with some over-lapping correspondence. Correspondence was placed in the meeting that had corresponding topics in the agenda. Correspondence included in this series pertains only to State Preserves Advisory Board business. Also included in this series are materials from the 1997 reunion meeting in which Prior presented a long-range plan for Geological preserves with Robert McKay, and materials from the 1985 Government Re-organization Preserves task force which was formed during the 1985 state government re-organization plan. The task force was formed due to the proposed action of eliminating the State Preserves Advisory Board during the re-organization.
 
The Iowa Academy of Science series contains the Board of Directors meeting minutes, agendas, and correspondence from 1981-1995. Also included are Conservation and Preserves Committee materials from 1978- 1987 which contain correspondence to and from the committee, proposed resolutions, and annual report forms. Annual meeting materials, including programs (1966-1998) and paper abstracts (1973-1998), are also included. The end of the series is made up of an almost complete collection of the ISA Bulletin, the Iowa Academy of Science newsletter spanning the years 1967-1990.
 
The Publication series consists of the materials that Prior used in her many publications. Copies of books and articles in various stages of completion, resource materials, and correspondence with publishers, editors, and authors can be found in the publication series. The series has been broken into the sub-topics of Loess Hills, Mines of Spain, Iowa Geology, Orestes St. John Landscapes, Land between Two Rivers, Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, and Iowa-Portrait of the Land. The Loess Hills materials contain many resources on articles Prior contributed to or wrote and the Land of Fragile Giants book. The Iowa Geology Journal is the official annual journal of the Iowa Geological Society.  The 1982-2001 publications are included because Prior acted as editor for these years.
 
The Land between Two Rivers portion contains information about the Iowa Public Broadcasting educational television series. Prior was a contributor to the project. The research materials and correspondence involved in the project and the script is included in the series. The video recordings of the program can be found in the audiovisual section (v430-v433). The television series teaches about the geology and ecology of the Des Moines, Nishnabotna, Little Sioux, and Upper Iowa Rivers.
 
The Orestes St. John Landscapes section contains photographs, articles, research, drawing reproductions, and exhibit resources pertaining to five Iowa landscapes drawn by Orestes St. John while he was an assistant geologist at the Iowa Geological Society in 1868.The drawings were used for exhibits and an article, materials on both are included. Correspondence between Prior and Fritoiof Fryxell, a geologist at Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois, is also included. Fryxell shared research and biographical information about St. John with Prior for the Exhibit. Caroline Milligan and Prior retraced St. John's survey in 1978. They mapped and photographed the sites and Milligan sketched the sites originally drawn by St. John. Both the original St. John drawing and the 1978 sketches by Milligan were mounted for display. These oversized materials are housed in boxes 32 and 33.
 
The last series is Historical Reference. This contains publications that date between 1850 and 1910. These materials were used by Prior while she worked on the centennial edition of Iowa Geology. Also included in this series are the volumes of the 1870 Report of the Geological Survey of the State of Iowa. Some of the lithographs contained in this book were made from the drawings that Orestes St. John drew.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: PROJECT FILES
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: APPOINTMENT BOOKS
Series 5: STATE PRESERVES ADVISORY BOARD
Series 6: IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE
Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
Series 8: HISTORICAL REFERENCE

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Career Information
  • Series 2: PROJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Education Geology Presentation - 1969-1974
  • Teachers Conservation Workshop - 1969, 1975, 1979, 1984
  • Pottawattamie County Mammoth Excavation - 1970-1973
  • Pleistocene Lake Calvin Field trip and Lecture - 1969-1972
  • Pleistocene Lake Calvin Publication - 1970
  • Pleistocene lake Calvin Research
  • Iowa City Chamber of Commerce, Environmental Concerns Committee Minutes - 1971-1977
  • Iowa City Chamber of Commerce, River Corridor Policy and City Planning - 1971-1976
  • Education Geology Presentation - 1975-1979
  • Box 2:
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Project Research
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, IGS Investigation - 1972
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Court Proceedings - 1974
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Court Proceeding Exhibits 2-8
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Court Proceeding Exhibits 10-34
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Court Proceeding Exhibits 35-39
  • Waubonsie Creek Watershed Case, Prior Direct Examination, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Mississippi River Remote-Sensing Mission - 1971
  • Mississippi River Over flight Mission - 1971-72
  • Iowa State Watershed Advisory board - 1972-1978
  • Pikes Peak State Park, Tri-Centennial Commemoration - 1973
  • Governor Ray´s Coal Mining Tour - 1973
  • University of Northern Iowa- Earth Science Award banquet - 1974
  • Geological Society of Iowa Annual meeting and Field Trip - 1975-1976
  • Energy Crisis in Iowa ca. - 1977
  • Legal Geology Correspondence - 1978-1989
  • Fall Conservation Education Council Workshop - 1977-1979, 1984
  • Great River Road Preliminary Geological Survey - 1977
  • Linn County Conservation Education Guidebook - 1979
  • Davis County Silo Collapse Case, Correspondence - 1997
  • Ledges State Park - 1951-2000
  • Box 4:
  • Marion Meteorite Exhibit - 1977
  • Amana Meteorite, undated
  • Geology and Geography Workshop at Oskaloosa-Ottumwa - 1977
  • Ecology and Geology Workshop - 1978
  • Allamakee County Foray - 1978
  • Upper Iowa River Canoe Trip - 1978
  • National Geographic America´s Majestic Canyons - 1970-1979
  • Annual Short Course for Soil Conservation District Commissioners - 1978
  • Camp Quest at Le Mars Community School District - 1978
  • Dinosaur Fossils in Iowa - 1979
  • Twin Sisters Area Preservation- Dubuque - 1979
  • E.B. Lyon's Nature Preserve, Dubuque, IA - 1979
  • Hardin County Preliminary Geological Survey - 1979- 1985
  • Ecology and Geology Workshop - 1980
  • Ecology and Geology Workshop, Burlington, IA - 1980
  • Iowa Elderhostel Course in Geology - 1980
  • Box 5:
  • Bickelhaupt Arboretum Project, Clinton, IA - 1973-1998
  • Governor´s Conference on Iowa in the year 2000, Planning - 1973
  • Governor's Conference on Iowa in the year 2000, Energy - 1974
  • Governor's Conference on Iowa in the year 2000, Natural Resources - 1974
  • Governor's Conference on Iowa in the year 2000, Booklets - 1974-1978
  • World Magazine - 1977
  • Spring brook Conservation Education Center Program - 1980-1985
  • National Geographic Feature Article on Iowa - 1981
  • Environmental Conservation Education - 1982, 1983
  • Box 6:
  • Crinoid Research
  • Crinoid, Bill Furnish materials - 1933-1967
  • Crinoid, Geotimes Article - 1989
  • Crinoid, Palimpsest Article - 1995
  • Forest Lake Environmental Workshop - 1979
  • Diftless Area of Northeast Iowa - 1982-1983
  • Prairie River Rendezvous Field Trip - 1983
  • Rock Fall on Upper Iowa River - 1983
  • Iowa River in Hardin County - 1984
  • Motor Mill Geological Reconnaissance Summary Report - 1984
  • Upper Mississippi Valley Landscape Evolution Conference - 1985
  • Stolley´s Park Field Day, Spencer, IA - 1985
  • Box 7:
  • Fort Atkinson State Preserve - 1983-1985
  • Bartelt Mammoth Site - 1985
  • Iowa State Historical Department Exhibit - 1985-1986
  • "Geologic Themes Link Iowa´s natural Areas" Iowa Conservationist - 1986
  • Marshall County Field Trip - 1985, 1991, 1993
  • Marshall County Field Trip, Andy Killborn Correspondence - 1987-1995
  • The State Geological Survey of Iowa: A history - 1987
  • Clayton and Dubuque Counties Field Trip - 1987
  • The Nature Conservancy Annual Meeting and Field Trip - 1988
  • National Mining hall of Fame and Museum, Iowa Exhibit - 1987-1989
  • Iowa Geographic Names - 1988-1999
  • United States Board on Geographic names - 1997-2000
  • Box 8:
  • Cornell College´s Norton Geology Center - 1980-1981
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History, Iowa Hall Gallery Exhibit - 1984-1986
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History, Iowa Hall Gallery Exhibit - 1984-1986
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History, Iowa Hall, Ice Age Diorama - 1983-1984
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History, Iowa Hall, Ice Age Diorama - 1983-1984
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History, Iowa Hall, Ice Age Diorama, Revision - 1992-1995
  • University of Iowa Museum of Natural History Field Trips - 1989
  • Wright County Field Trip - 1989
  • Ice-Age Interpretive Trail - 1983-1995
  • Louisa Ecological Advisory Committee, re Big Sand Mound Preserve - 1992-1993
  • "A Little Tour along a Big River" Preliminary Research Report, Lansing Shepard - 1999
  • Box 9:
  • Iowa: Eye to I Education Program - 1989-1997
  • Walnut Creek national Wildlife Refuge/ Neal Smith Prairie learning Center - 1992-1995
  • Flood of 1993 - 1993
  • Deyonian Fossil Gorge - 1993
  • Deyonian Fossil Gorge - 1993
  • Saylorville Lake Spillway Exposures - 1993
  • Des Moines River Canoe Trip, Press Coverage - 1994
  • Iowa State Parks 75th Anniversary Symposium - 1995
  • West Branch Geology - 1996
  • Pikes Peak State Park Interpretive Sign - 1997
  • "Geology of the Mormon Trail" Max Pitcher - 1999
  • "Nature Speaks" Teacher Workshop - 1993-2000
  • Box 10:
  • AAAS/ Westinghouse Award - 1991, 1993
  • "Iowa´s High Points," Take the next Exit - 1998-2000
  • Five Island Lake Restoration Project - 1999
  • Keokuk Waterworks - 2000-2002
  • Fort Atkinson Area Cultural Resources Field School - 2001
  • Bedell State Park Exhibit - 2001
  • Lakeside Laboratory Natural History Weekend Programs - 1978-1989
  • Lakeside Laboratory Natural History Weekend Programs - 1991-1995
  • Lakeside Laboratory Natural History Weekend Programs - 1996, 2004
  • Box 11:
  • Mount Saint Helens' Eruption, WA, Newspapers, May 18 - 1980
  • Mount Saint Helens' Eruption, WA, Newspapers, May 18 - 1980
  • Mount Saint Helens' Eruption, WA, Articles and Pamphlets - 1980
  • Mount Saint Helens' Eruption, WA, American Scientist, Sept/Oct. - 1980
  • Box 12:
  • Loess Hills Newspaper articles and pamphlets - 1970-1998
  • Loess Hills Information Requests - 1975- 2001
  • Loess Hills Kindchen information requests - 1981-2001
  • Loess Hills Field Summary and Correspondence, Spring - 1981
  • Loess Hills Field Review and Site Reports, Spring - 1981
  • Loess Hills National Natural Landmark Designation - 1981, 1986
  • Loess Hills National Natural Landmark Dedication - 1986
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar Pamphlets - 1979-2000
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar - 1976-1978
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar - 1979-1984
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar - 1986-1989
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar - 1994-2001
  • Loess Hills Prairie Seminar - 2002
  • American Museum of Natural History, sample loan - 1997-1998
  • Deaton Museum Services, Loess Hills - 2000
  • Box 13:
  • Mines of Spain,Dubuque County - 1980
  • Mines of Spain, Field Trip - 1983, 2001
  • Mines of Spain, Geological Study and Correspondence - 1981-1985
  • Mines of Spain, News Clippings - 1981-1985
  • Mines of Spain Seminar - 1983, 1985
  • Mines of Spain Preserve Designation - 1986-1987
  • Mines of Spain, Master plan supporting correspondence - 1980-1989
  • Mines of Spain, Master plan executive summary
  • Mines of Spain, A master plan for development - 1991
  • Mines of Spain, National Park Service Study - 1993
  • Mines of Spain, National Landmark Dedication Correspondence - 1980-1986
  • Mines of Spain, National Natural Landmark Nomination - 1984
  • Mines of Spain, Evaluation for designation as a national natural landmark - 1985
  • Mines of Spain, National Landmark Theme Study - 1990
  • Mines of Spain, National Landmark Guidelines
  • Mines of Spain, Miscellaneous materials, undated
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 14:
  • General - 1966-1970
  • General - 1971-1972
  • General - 1973
  • General - 1974
  • General - 1975
  • General - 1976-1977
  • General - 1978
  • General - 1979
  • General - 1980
  • General - 1981
  • Box 15:
  • General - 1982
  • General - 1983
  • General - 1984
  • General - 1985-1986
  • General - 1987
  • General - 1988
  • General - 1989
  • General - 1990
  • General - 1991
  • General - 1992-1993
  • Box 16:
  • General - 1994
  • General - 1995
  • General - 1996
  • General - 1997
  • General, January-June - 1998
  • General, July- December - 1998
  • General - 1999
  • General - 2000
  • Box 17:
  • General - 2001
  • General - 2002
  • General - 2003
  • Annual Reports - 1971-1987
  • Iowa Geological Survey, Information Requests - 1991-1997
  • Iowa Geological Survey, Information Requests - 1984-1991
  • Iowa Geological Survey, Information Requests - 1970-1984
  • Series 4: APPOINTMENT BOOKS
  • Box 17:
  • Planners - 1996-1997
  • Planners - 1988-1989
  • Box 18:
  • Planners - 1998-1999
  • Planners - 2000-2001
  • Series 5: STATE PRESERVES ADVISORY BOARD
  • Box 18:
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1968-1976
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1977
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1978
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1979
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1980-1981
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes - 1982
  • Appointment materials - 1983-2002
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, Feb.-April - 1983
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, June-August - 1983
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, October - 1983
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, December - 1983
  • Box 19:
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, February-April-May - 1984
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, July-October-December - 1984
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, February-April- June - 1985
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, April - 1985
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, October - 1985
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, December - 1985
  • Government Reorganization, Preserves Task-Force - 1985-1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, January-February - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, April - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, June - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, Aug. - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, October - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, December - 1986
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, February - 1987
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, April - 1987
  • Box 20:
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, June - 1987
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, August - 1987
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, October - 1987
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, December - 1987
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, March-June - 1988
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, September - 1988
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, December - 1988
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, March - 1989
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, May-December - 1989
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, - 1990
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, - 1991
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, September - 1992
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, March- June - 1992
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, September-November-December - 1993
  • Box 21:
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, March - 1993
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, March-June - 1994
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, February - 1994
  • Meeting Agenda and Minutes, September-March - 1994, 1995
  • Reunion Meeting materials, September - 1997
  • Iowa State Preserves Guide
  • Directory of State Preserves
  • Conservation of Geological Features Research
  • "Geological Preserves in Iowa," Iowa Conservationist, September - 1993
  • "Present and Proposed Geological Preserves in Iowa," December - 1998
  • Present and proposed State Preserves, Supporting documents - 1970-1977, 1990
  • Series 6: IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE
  • Box 22:
  • Conservation and Preserves Committee - 1978-1981
  • Conservation and Preserves Committee - 1982-1987
  • IAS Symposium: Northeast Iowa - 1983
  • Fellow Certificate awarded October 31 - 1981
  • Distinguished Service Award awarded April - 1988
  • Board of Directors meeting - 1981-1983
  • Board of Directors meeting - 1983-1985
  • Board of Directors meeting, April - 1992
  • Board of Directors meeting, October - 1992
  • Board of Directors meeting, July - 1992
  • Board of Directors meeting, February - 1993
  • Board of Directors meeting, April - 1993
  • Board of Directors meeting, July - 1993
  • IAS Symposium - 1993
  • Box 23:
  • Board of Directors meeting, October - 1993
  • Board of Directors meeting, February - 1994
  • Board of Directors meeting, April - 1994
  • Board of Directors meeting, July - 1994
  • Board of Directors meeting, February - 1995
  • Board of Directors meeting, April - 1995
  • Fall Teacher Conference - 1993
  • Annual Meeting - 1993
  • Annual Meeting - 1994
  • Annual Meeting Programs - 1966-1983
  • Box 24:
  • Annual Meeting Programs - 1984-1998
  • Annual Meeting Paper Abstracts - 1973-1979
  • Annual Meeting Paper Abstracts - 1990-1998
  • The ISA Bulletin - 1972- 1980
  • Box 25:
  • The ISA Bulletin - 1980-1990
  • Series 7: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 25:
  • Iowa Conservationist, April - 1984
  • "Geology of the Loess Hills Region," 1986 IAS Proceedings - 1984-1986
  • The Iowan Magazine, Spring - 1988
  • Land of the Fragile Giants, Lecture and Essay series - 1993-1996
  • Land of the Fragile Giants - 1994
  • Land of the Fragile Giants, Book Reviews - 1996
  • Land of the Fragile Giants, Washington D.C. Exhibit - 1999
  • Research and Information on Loess Hills
  • Research and Information on Loess Hills
  • Loess Hills Kindchen research and information
  • Box 26:
  • Mines of Spain Resource Materials
  • Mines of Spain Resource Materials
  • Mines of Spain Resource Materials
  • The Mines of Spain in its Historical Context, Final Report - 1986
  • "The Mines of Spain: Charting Its Future," Prior and Anderson - 1985
  • Orestes St. John Landscapes Photographs
  • Orestes St. John Drawings and Correspondence - 1975
  • Orestes St. John Topographical maps
  • Five Iowa Landscapes Exhibit, Grant funding material - 1977, 1983
  • Five Iowa Landscapes Exhibit, Financial Records - 1977-1980
  • Five Iowa Landscapes Exhibit, publicity and presentations - 1979
  • Five Iowa Landscapes Exhibit, Traveling exhibit - 1979
  • "Five Iowa Landscapes," Prospectus and related papers - 1978-1979
  • "The Iowa Landscapes of Orestes St. John," - 1985
  • Box 27:
  • Five Iowa Landscapes: Past and Present, Final Report to Humanities Board, 1979
  • Geological Society of America, Poster Presentation, November - 1980
  • Orestes St. John Program Outlines and notes
  • Orestes St. John Manuscript Correspondence - 1984-1985
  • Orestes St. John, Fryxell Correspondence
  • Geological Society of America Centennial Special Volume 1 - 1985
  • Orestes St. John Resource Material
  • Orestes St. John Resource Material
  • Orestes St. John Research Requests - 1978-1981
  • Box 28:
  • Iowa Geology, Correspondence - 1984-2002
  • Earth Science Article permission request - 1987
  • Iowa Geology - 1983-1992
  • Iowa Geology - 1993-2001
  • Land Between Two Rivers Correspondence - 1985
  • Land Between Two Rivers Teacher Guide part 1 and 3 - 1987
  • Land Between Two Rivers Research notes and publicity - 1984-1987
  • Land Between Two Rivers Rough Draft Script - 1985
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, newspaper clipping - 1976, 1983
  • Box 29:
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, newspaper clipping - 1976, 1983
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, Correspondence - 1975-2001
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, development - 1977-1987
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, Original 8x10 photos
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, lecture series - 1977-1988
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, lecture series - 1989-1999
  • Regional Guide to Iowa Landforms, lecture series visuals
  • "Iowa the Land," undated
  • Landforms of Iowa, Press and Reviews - 1990-1993
  • Landforms of Iowa, University Press agreements - 1986-1991
  • Box 30:
  • Landforms of Iowa Graphics
  • Landforms of Iowa Correspondence - 1987-1994
  • Iowa- Portrait of the Land, supplementary materials - 2000
  • Iowa- Portrait of the Land - 2000
  • Iowa´s Groundwater Basics, correspondence - 2003
  • Iowa´s Groundwater Basics, Supplementary materials - 2003
  • Iowa´s Groundwater Basics - 2003
  • Miscellaneous Publications
  • Box 32:
  • St. John and Milligan Sketches
    see Arrangement field for detailed description
  • Box 33:
  • St. John Exhibit materials
    see Arrangement field for detailed description
  • Series 8: HISTORICAL REFERENCE
  • Box 31:
  • Historical Reference Materials - 1896-1909
  • Historical Reference materials - 1896-1909
  • Samuel Calvin biographical Information
  • Geologic Maps of Iowa - 1857, 1889
  • Report of the Geological Survey of the State of Iowa, vol.1, - 1870
  • Report of the Geological Survey of the State of Iowa, vol.2, - 1870
  • Miscellaneous reference materials