Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1903-1999
Creator: West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0782
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Records from seven women's clubs in West Branch, Iowa.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor nos. 1166, 1167) were donated by Audrey Kofoed and Marjorie Rummels in 2008.

Preferred Citation: West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The records of the West Branch Women´s Clubs are comprised of seven local clubs formed between 1895 and 1911.

The Priscilla Club was organized in 1895. It was formed to promote literary culture, encourage sociability, fine arts, and all similar pursuits that would refine and elevate sisterhood. Its motto was "no steps backward;" its colors were pale green and white.

The Klatter Klub was organized in 1911 by young women for "social enjoyment" and the "promotion of friendship." New members were initiated with various rituals described in the collection such as reciting an oath while performing tasks like threading a needle while sitting on a barrel.
The United Methodist Women´s Club (UMW) was divided into "Circles" named after women in the Bible. Its purpose was "to know God and experience freedom as whole persons through Jesus Christ, and to develop a creative, supportive fellowship." The Women´s Society of Christian Service (WSCS) of the Methodist Church was also divided into "Circles" named after women in the Bible. Members met twice a month and worked to unite all women of the church in service, help develop and support Christian work among women and children, and study the needs of the world.

The Carnation Club was organized in 1906. The Club´s colors were pink and white. Members gathered for potlucks and encouraged discussion about such topics as books they had read, new words, jokes, and unusual news items.

The Wapsinonoc Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) met monthly. Its meetings included prayers and educational guest speakers, and strove to promote patriotism.

The LAL Club members enjoyed discussions on recipes, book reviews, and sewing tips.

The collection also includes a few materials relating to the West Branch Federated Woman´s Club (WBFWC).

The West Branch Women's Clubs records date from 1903 to 1999 and measure 2.5 linear feet.  The records are divided into four series: Priscilla Club (1912-1975); Klatter Klub (1922-1988); Methodist Women (1954-1988); Other West Branch clubs records (1939-1999).  The Priscilla Club series includes a novel that appears to have been written and circulated among club members as well as a series of poems that describe each of their members.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRISCILLA CLUB - 1903-1999
Series 2: KLATTER KLUB - 1911-1996
Series 3: METHODIST WOMEN - 1954-1988
Series 4: OTHER WEST BRANCH CLUBS - 1939-1998

  • Series 1: PRISCILLA CLUB - 1903-1999
  • Box 1:
  • Constitution
  • Programs - 1912-1931
  • Programs - 1931-1941
  • Programs - 1961-1956
  • Programs - 1957-1975
  • Centennial and 75th Anniversary programs and correspondence - 1946-1947, 1970
  • Educational booklets, ca. - 1908-1931
  • Correspondence, ca. - 1946-1970
  • Poems about members, ca. - 1907
  • Miscellaneous, ca. - 1958-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1903-1907
  • Minutes - 1907-1908
  • Minutes - 1915-1921
  • Minutes - 1921-1925
  • Minutes - 1925-1930
  • Minutes - 1930-1934
  • Minutes - 1934-1939
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1939-1949
  • Minutes (including constitution) - 1945-1963
  • Minutes - 1950-1963
  • Novel, undated
  • Series 2: KLATTER KLUB - 1911-1996
  • Box 4:
  • History, constitution, and initiation rituals/oaths, ca. - 1911-1978
  • Programs - 1922-1957
  • Programs - 1957-1996
  • Minutes - 1923-1934
  • Minutes - 1934-1953
  • Minutes - 1953-1967
  • Minutes - 1967-1988
  • Series 3: METHODIST WOMEN - 1954-1988
  • Box 5:
  • Programs - 1954-1964
  • Programs - 1964-1981
  • Special Event Programs - 1958, 1967
  • Minutes - 1957-58, 1978-1979
  • Minutes - 1988
  • Miscellaneous, ca. - 1984
  • Series 4: OTHER WEST BRANCH CLUBS - 1939-1998
  • Box 6:
  • Carnation Club Programs - 1972-1986
  • DAR Yearbooks - 1977-1979, 1981-1982
  • DAR Miscellaneous ca. - 1979-1980
  • LAL Club Programs - 1945-1962
  • LAL Club Programs - 1963-1999
  • LAL Minutes - 1939-1947
  • LAL Miscellaneous, ca. - 1951, 1997-1998
  • West Branch Federated Woman´s Club membership list and projects, ca. - 1957-1988
  • Correspondence, ca. - 1987
  • Photographs, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
West Branch Women's Clubs (Cedar County, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Clubs
Community organizations

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- West Branch

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Photographs

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations