Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1999-2001
Creator: Women, Food, and Agriculture Network
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0752
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Organization connecting women with progressive approaches to agriculture.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright is held by the author of the postings to the listserve.

Acquisition: The records were printed off the listserv from 1999 to 2001.

Preferred Citation: Women, Food and Agriculture Network listserv records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Denise O'Brien, founder of Women, Food, and Agriculture Network (WFAN), became an activist on behalf of family farmers in the 1980s. During that decade, she directed the Rural Women's Leadership Development project at Prairie Fire Rural Action organization, but this project was not sustained. The initial impulse to form WFAN grew out of conversations between Kathy Lawrence and Denise O'Brien during a post-conference in 1993 following the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro. They formed the Women, Food, and Agriculture Working Group to sponsor a two-week workshop and represent the interests of women in agriculture at the World Conference on Women in Beijing, China in 1995. After Kathy Lawrence left the Midwest, O'Brien organized a rural women's workshop for the 1996 World Food Summit in Rome, Italy. Recognizing the need for a network of rural women to sponsor workshops and amplify women's voices in agriculture and development, O'Brien began conceptualizing a network for women in agriculture.

In February 1997 at the Women's Gathering of the Practical Farmers of Iowa, Betty Wells, Danielle Wirth, Virginia Wadsley, Shelly Gradwell, Rhonda Yoder and Denise O'Brien met to consider forming an organization. After two further meetings, they coordinated a three-day workshop "Rural Women, the Economy, and the Environment" in July 1997. By October 1997, charter members of Women, Food, and Agriculture Network (WFAN) had written a mission statement, goals and objectives.

Funded by grants, WFAN has continued to meet bi-annually, publish a quarterly newsletter, and maintain an active electronic listserv. Members include women farmers, educators, and extension agents and activists. Denise O'Brien has acted as paid and/or volunteer director of WFAN since the founding.

The Women, Food, and Agriculture Network records date from 1999 to 2001 and measure 2.5 linear feet. The mission statement and objectives are found in a brochure located in folder 1. The bulk of the records consist of newsletters and postings to an unmoderated electronic list concerning sustainable agriculture, globalization, women's issues, and the environment. Members submit items to the list from a variety of news sources, progressive organizations, and alternative farms resulting in a collection that is a fairly comprehensive coverage of issues concerning progressive agriculture, feminism, and the environment.

Postings from the last quarter of 1999 include items from many organizations that organized protests at the 1999 World Trade Organization meeting in Seattle. The preponderance of postings have been printed on acid-free paper and included in this collection; absent are single-word comments on long articles, brief words of welcome to new members, or items erroneously posted to the list serve instead of to individuals.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Mission statement and goals brochure - 1997
  • Newsletters - 1998-2001
  • Listserv: August 2-January 7 (20 folders) - 1999-2000
  • Box 2:
  • Listserv: January 10-May 7 (15 folders) - 2000
  • Box 3:
  • Listserv: May 8-August 24 (14 folders) - 2000
  • Box 4:
  • Listserv: August 25-December 31 (17 folders) - 2000
  • Box 5:
  • Listserv: January 1-May 20 (19 folders) - 2001

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations