Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Rogers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973-1986
Creator: Rogers, Dorothy
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0750
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Dorothy Rogers worked for the volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics from the beginning of the program in 1973 until her retirement in 1986.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 722) were donated by Dorothy Rogers in 2005.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Rogers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Dorothy Rogers worked for the volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics from the beginning of the program in 1973 until her retirement in 1986. She worked as Patient Services Representative from 1973-1982, Program Associate from 1980-1986, and served as Director from 1982-1986.

The papers relate to the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics volunteer program of the Patient Advocacy Program.
Lois Boulware papers (IWA): Physician in the University of Iowa Student Health Department, who established the Patient Advocacy Program at University Hospitals after her retirement.

Loraine Frost papers (IWA): University of Iowa physical education instructor (1928-1945), Frost overcame a hearing defect to become one of the earliest practicing pediatricians in Iowa City (1950-1975).

Ruth Updegraff papers (IWA): Specialist at the University of Iowa Child Welfare Research Station, now the Institute of Child Behavior and Development (1928-1970), Updegraff authored Practice in Preschool Education (1938) and helped implement the Lanhan Act during World War II.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rogers, Dorothy

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Patient Advocacy Program

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989

Topics:
Patient advocacy
Working class women

Occupations:
Patient representatives
Medical personnel

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs