Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cedar Investors (Cedar County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1983-2003
Creator: Cedar Investors (Cedar County, Iowa)
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0742
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: A women's investment club organized to invest the assets of the partnership solely in stocks, bonds, and securities, for the education and benefit of the partners.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Cedar Investors (Cedar County, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Cedar Investors, a women's investment club, held its first meeting in Helen M. Fawcett's living room in Tipton, Iowa, in April 1983. The previous year, Fawcett had attended a session on investing at an American Association of University Women (AAUW) workshop in Des Moines, Iowa. During the early 1980s, the AAUW encouraged members to become better educated about financial issues. Eighteen women signed the first partnership agreement for Cedar Investors, resolved to "invest the assets of the partnership solely in stocks, bonds, and securities, for the education and benefit of the partners." Most members resided in West Branch or Tipton, Iowa. Many were also members of the AAUW.
The primary purpose of the club was to help members become familiar with investing. Typically, the club had between twelve and twenty members; membership was capped at twenty. Members presented detailed reports about companies at monthly meetings and each member was required to invest at least twenty dollars per month in the club's portfolio. In 2004, Judy Cottingham reflected upon the investment strategy of the club, explaining that the club purchased shares in companies that were located in Iowa or employed Iowans, companies that had a recognized presence in Iowa, and companies that "had a peaceful healthy impact in our world."
Cedar Investors dissolved in 2003.

The Cedar Investors records date from 1983 to 2003 and measure 7.25 linear inches. The bulk of the collection is comprised of brokerage statements.  The remainder of the collection includes meeting minutes, bylaws, and amendments.
Joyce Nielsen Papers (IWA):  Nielsen founded Nielsen Financial Consultants in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  Nielsen educated women about investing and co-sponsored legislation to make insurance policies gender neutral.  The bulk of these records pertain to the years 1977-1992.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Cedar Investors

  • Series 1: Cedar Investors
  • Box 1:
  • Bylaws and administration - 1983-2003
  • Minutes [removed from binder] (folder 1) - 1983-2003
  • Minutes [removed from binder] (folder 2) - 1983-2003
  • Minutes [removed from binder] (folder 3) - 1983-2003
  • Treasurer's reports [removed from binder] - 1991-2003
  • Previously owned stocks [removed from binder] - 1986-2002
  • Brokerage account statements - 1986-1990
  • Box 2:
  • Brokerage account statements (folder 1) - 1991-2002
  • Brokerage account statements (folder 2) - 1991-2002
  • Brokerage account statements (folder 3) - 1991-2002

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Cedar Investors (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999
2000-2009

Topics:
Clubs
Women
Investments

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Financial records