Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Patricia Herring papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1979-2008
Creator: Herring, Patricia (1944-)
Extent: 10.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0741
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Feminist, social worker, and advocate for persons with HIV/AIDS.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 6 and 11
9 videocassettes [V416-V424]

Access:

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 695) were donated by Patricia Herring in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Patricia Herring papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Patricia Herring, the oldest of eleven children, was born in 1944 in San Diego, California, to Ardis and Dorothy Herring; the family soon moved to Waterloo, Iowa. Ardis Herring worked as an engineer and administrator for John Deere Foundry and Dorothy Herring worked as a domestic engineer. In 1962, Patricia Herring graduated from Columbus High School in Waterloo; afterwards, she entered a convent. While residing with the Sisters of Mercy in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, she attended Mount Mercy College, where she graduated with a business degree in 1967. She left the convent in 1970. In 1974, she enrolled in the University of Iowa School of Social Work to pursue a master's degree in social work (MSW). During this period, she worked at a clinic in Des Moines, Iowa.

Herring was active in the feminist movement throughout the 1970s. While working in Des Moines from 1974 to 1976, Herring was a member of the Des Moines chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW). She also helped to found a feminist bookstore, A Mind of One's Own.

In 1976, after receiving an MSW from the University of Iowa, Herring moved to Iowa City. In 1978, she began to work at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC). She became a social worker early in the AIDS epidemic, when it was unclear how the virus spread and tests to detect the virus had not been developed. Around 1983, Herring became an HIV/AIDS counselor at UIHC. She was an integral part of the UIHC's Virology Clinic, established in 1986. As an AIDS counselor at the only health care facility to provide comprehensive care to Iowans with HIV during the 1980s, Patricia Herring had personal contact with most Iowans who tested positive for HIV.

Patricia Herring's advocacy for persons with HIV/AIDS extended beyond her paid work at the UIHC. During the 1980s, she volunteered at Iowa City's Free Medical Clinic, where she counseled patients who received HIV tests. She was a charter member of the Johnson County AIDS Coalition. Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, she was active in a number of regional and statewide AIDS organizations, including the Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium, and the Iowa Community AIDS Partnership. Herring became a noted speaker and press contact statewide during the height of the epidemic. She wrote grants, lobbied state legislators, and educated health care professionals about the importance of protecting patients' privacy. Herring was also a member of a number of state and local gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) activist groups.

Patricia Herring began to work part-time at the UIHC in 2004, and retired in 2006.

The papers of Patricia Herring date from 1979 to 2008 and measure 10.5 linear feet.  The records are arranged into the following series: Biographical information; Newsletters; AIDS published materials; AIDS topical; People with AIDS; Politics and legislation; AIDS services; Social work; the University of Iowa, and Artifacts.

The Biographical information  series (1984-1999) includes resumes, a memoir written by Patricia Herring's mother, a program from a Monaghan family reunion, and a book of photographs taken by Herring's father, Ardis Herring, during the 1950s.

The Newsletters series (1987-1999) are comprised of state and national newsletters.  The majority of newsletters were published by AIDS organizations in Iowa.  Newsletters published by state and national AIDS and GLBT organizations complete the series.

The AIDS published materials  series (1984-1997)  consists of clippings from newspapers throughout Iowa, manuals for people with HIV/AIDS and their caregivers, and pamphlets.  This series provides information about early AIDS treatments and advocacy.

The AIDS topical  series (1984-1997) pertains to issues that affected people with HIV/AIDS, including healthcare, homophobia, sexism, and discrimination.  Materials include popular magazine articles, correspondence, and reports.

The People with AIDS series (1987-1996) is comprised of letters, obituaries, newspaper clippings, and video cassette tapes created by or written about Iowans with HIV/AIDS.  This series includes folders on Barbara Fassbinder, a nurse who contracted the HIV virus on the job; Rick Graf and Ron Kephart, openly gay HIV/AIDS activists from Iowa City; and Tony Bowser, a father of three from rural Iowa, who became an activist after he tested positive for the HIV virus.

The Politics and legislation series (1987-1997) includes legislative bills, correspondence, and position papers related to legislation affecting persons with HIV/AIDS and their caregivers.  Several bills pertain to patient privacy, including efforts to require people who test positive for the HIV virus to report their results to health care providers.  This series also contains records of the AIDS Taskforce, which was created by the Iowa General Assembly to provide recommendations to Iowa legislators.  Newsletters, agendas, and newspaper clippings pertaining to AIDS and GLBT organizations that lobbied the Iowa General Assembly and the US Congress complete the series.

The AIDS services series (1979-2008) is the largest series of the collection, measuring over six linear feet.  It consists of the minutes, agendas, reports, and correspondence of organizations that provided care to Iowans with HIV/AIDS or educated the public about the disease.  The folders pertaining to the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics trace the development of the Hospital's Virology Clinic, which opened in 1986.  Grant materials located in the HIV Care Consortia and ICAP folders include data about a number of AIDS organizations located throughout the state.

The Social work series (1979-1993)  includes reports and position papers that detail the work of social workers during the AIDS crisis of the 1980s and 1990s.  Patricia Herring's speeches and notes document her role in educating the public about HIV/AIDS.

The University of Iowa series (1990-1998) consists of agendas, flyers, and newspaper clippings for the University's faculty and staff GLBT organization.  Publicity for a dance choreographed by Bill T. Jones at the University in 1994 completes the series.

Artifacts (1994-1996) include buttons, an ICARE t-shirt, and two safe sex kits.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: NEWSLETTERS
Series 3: AIDS PUBLISHED MATERIALS
Series 4: AIDS TOPICAL
Series 5: PEOPLE WITH AIDS
Series 6: POLITICS AND LEGISLATION
Series 7: AIDS SERVICES
Series 8: SOCIAL WORK
Series 9: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
Series 10: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Resumes - 1989-1999
  • Monographs: "The Monaghans," "Three Nuns in a Boat," and "My Memoirs" by Mary Dorothy Monaghan Herring - 1984, 1990, 1993
  • [V418]: "Today in Iowa," guests Patricia Herring and Kent Newman - 1988
  • [V423]: Patricia Herring, community AIDS education (3 features)
  • Series 2: NEWSLETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • "Access Line: A Resource for Midwestern Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Friends" (Waterloo, Iowa) (folder 1) - 1988-1998
  • "Access Line: A Resource for Midwestern Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Friends" (Waterloo, Iowa) (folder 2) - 1988-1998
  • "Access Line: A Resource for Midwestern Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Friends" (Waterloo, Iowa) (folder 3) - 1988-1998
  • "Access Line: A Resource for Midwestern Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Friends" (Waterloo, Iowa) (folder 4) - 1988-1998
  • "The Advocate: The National Gay Newsmagazine" - 1987
  • Box 2:
  • AIDS Project Quad Cities (APQC), "The Connection" (folder 1) - 1992-1999
  • AIDS Project Quad Cities (APQC), "The Connection" (folder 2) - 1992-1999
  • Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender newsletters - 1988-1994
  • Gay and Lesbian Resource Center, GLRC Report (Des Moines, Iowa) - 1992-1993
  • Gay and Lesbian Resource Center, "The Resource Line" (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) - 1993-1997
  • HIV/AIDS newsletters - 1989-1997
  • Iowa Association of Homes for the Aging, "Spotlight" (Des Moines, Iowa) - 1987
  • "ICON: Independent Weekly News" (Iowa City and Coralville, Iowa) - 1994, 1997-1998
  • NAMES Project Cedar Valley, "News for Friends of the Quilt" - 1990-1995
  • "Positively Aware: The Monthly Journal of the Test Positive Aware Network" - 1991-1996
  • Box 3:
  • "Positively Aware: The Monthly Journal of the Test Positive Aware Network" - 1997-1998
  • "The Prairie Progressive: A Newsletter for Iowa's Democratic Left" - 1987, 1989, 1994
  • Quad Cities AIDS Coalition (QCAC) "Newsletter" - 1989-1994
  • Quad Cities Affirming Diversity (QCAD) "News" - 1997-1998
  • Rural AIDS Action Network (RAAN) "Newsletter" - 1995-1998
  • "Shanti Notes: Support and Information for Persons Affected by AIDS" (Iowa City, Iowa) - 1988
  • The University of Iowa, "The Gay Hawkeye" and "Queer Globe" - 1991, 1996
  • Series 3: AIDS PUBLISHED MATERIALS
  • Box 3:
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 1) - 1984-1997
  • Newspaper clippings (folder 2) - 1984-1997
  • David M. Mastio columns - 1993
  • Popular press articles - 1986-1995
  • Box 4:
  • Reports on public responses to AIDS - 1988, 1993
  • AIDS Home Care and Hospice Manual - 1987
    [removed from binder]
  • AIDS: Iowa Informational Resource Manual - 1987
  • "Assessing the HIV-Prevention Needs of Gay and Bisexual Men of Color" - 1994
  • Community resources for persons with AIDS - 1989
  • Culturally specific manuals, manuals for GLBT community, and manuals for children - 1987-1989
  • Family AIDS Support Notebook, Federation of Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, undated
  • Hospice Bereavement Handbook - 1985-1986
  • Box 5:
  • "Living Proof: Courage in the Face of AIDS" by Carolyn Jones - 1996
    [shelved in IWA printed works]
  • "Surviving and Thriving with AIDS: Hints for the Newly Diagnosed," ed. Michael Callen - 1987
  • Safe sex literature - 1984-1994
  • "Safe Sex: The Ultimate Erotic Guide" by John Preston and Glenn Swann - 1987
    [shelved in IWA printed works]
  • Brochures and pamphlets, undated (folder 1)
  • Brochures and pamphlets, undated (folder 2)
  • Series 4: AIDS TOPICAL
  • Box 5:
  • Alcoholism - 1988-1989
  • Children and adolescents - 1990-1994
  • Healthcare workers - 1990-1992
  • Hemophilia - 1985-1989
  • Box 6:
  • Iowa - 1988-1990
  • [V424]: Latinos, forum on Latinos and AIDS at LULAC Annual Convention - 1989
  • Legal issues, undated
  • Prostitution - 1984
  • Religion - 1987-1996
  • Women (folder 1) - 1987-1997
  • Women (folder 2) - 1987-1997
  • "The Positive Woman" newsletter - 1990-1992
  • "Women's Body Politics: AIDS: Sexuality and The Social Body" course readings, University of Iowa - 1990
  • "The Real Truth about Women and AIDS" by Helen Singer Kaplan - 1987
    [shelved in IWA printed works]
  • [V421]: Young women and AIDS - 1989
  • Series 5: PEOPLE WITH AIDS
  • Box 6:
  • [V418]: Arthur Ashe - 1991
  • Tony Bowser - 1987-1991
    [includes photograph]
  • [V422]: Tony Bowser, "Three Faces of AIDS" - 1991
  • David Ellingsworth - 1993-1994
  • [V418]: David Ellingsworth and ICARE - 1994
  • Barbara Fassbinder - 1990-1994
  • [V418]: Barbara Fassbinder television news stories (3) - 1991-1994
  • Christy Field - 1992
  • [V418]: Elizabeth Glazer - 1994
  • Rick Graf - 1987-1995
  • [V416 and V420]: Rick Graf, "Silence=Death, So I'll Keep on Talking" - 1992
  • [V423]: Rick Graf, World AIDS Day - 1988
  • Ron Kephart - 1991-1994
  • [V421]: Ron Kephart at Iowa City Gay Pride Parade - 1989
  • [V423]: Ron Kephart, World AIDS Day - 1988
  • [V416]: Alexander Robinson - 1993
  • [V418]: Max Robinson - 1988
  • Tom Skaggs - 1990-1992
    [includes photograph]
  • Jonathan Walton - 1988
  • Box 7:
  • Teri Wulff - 1996
  • Obituaries - 1987-1996
  • [V419]"Iowans Facing AIDS" - 1995
  • [V417]: "Living with AIDS: Iowans with HIV/AIDS" - 1989
  • [V422]: "Three Faces of AIDS," AIDS in Iowa - 1991
  • Series 6: POLITICS AND LEGISLATION
  • Box 7:
  • Gay and Lesbian Democrats of Johnson County - 1989-1993
  • Iowa City Area Pride Committee and Iowa City Human Rights Commission - 1997
  • Iowa Lesbian and Gay Political Caucus, - 1989-1995
  • Iowa Dignity and Equality Advocates - 1991-1992
  • Iowa AIDS labor policies - 1988-1990
  • Box 8:
  • State AIDS legislation, non-Iowa - 1987-1989
  • Iowa General Assembly, AIDS-related legislation, House - 1988-1996
  • Iowa General Assembly, AIDS-related legislation, Senate - 1987-1996
  • Iowa General Assembly, AIDS-related legislation - 1991
    [removed from binder]
  • Iowa General Assembly, AIDS Task Force - 1987-1991
  • AIDS lobbying - 1988-1991
  • Box 9:
  • AIDS lobbying - 1988-1995
  • Anonymous HIV testing debate - 1988-1996
  • AIDS and the law (folder 1) - 1988-1997
  • AIDS and the law (folder 2) - 1988-1997
  • Series 7: AIDS SERVICES
  • Box 9:
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County - 1986
  • Box 10:
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 1) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 2) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 3) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 4) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 5) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Johnson County (folder 6) - 1987-1992
  • AIDS Coalition of Northeast Iowa - 1987-1993
  • Box 11:
  • AIDS Project of Central Iowa (folder 1) - 1987-1999
  • AIDS Project of Central Iowa (folder 2) - 1987-1999
  • Buddy programs - 1988-1994
  • Cedar AIDS Support System - 1989
  • Clare House (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) - 1996-1998
    [includes photographs]
  • Eastern Iowa AIDS Network - 1993-1994
  • HIV Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Consortia (folder 1) - 1993-1995
    removed from binder]
  • HIV Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Consortia (folder 2) - 1993-1995
  • Box 12:
  • HIV Comprehensive AIDS Recourses Emergency (CARE) Consortia - 1991-1996
  • Iowa City Free Medical Clinic (folder 1) - 1987-1997
  • Iowa City Free Medical Clinic (folder 2) - 1987-1997
  • Iowa City Free Medical Clinic (folder 3) - 1987-1997
  • Iowa City Free Medical Clinic (folder 4) - 1987-1997
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) - 1993-1995
  • Box 13:
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 1) - 1994-1997
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 2) - 1994-1997
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 3) - 1994-1997
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 4) - 1994-1997
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 5) - 1994-1997
  • Box 14:
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 1) - 1997-1999
  • Iowa Community AIDS Partnership (ICAP) (folder 2) - 1997-1999
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 2) - 1988-1997
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 3) - 1988-1997
  • Box 15:
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 1) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 2) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 3) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 4) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 5) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 6) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 7) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Center for AIDS Resources and Education (ICARE) (folder 8) - 1987-2000
  • Iowa Department of Human Services - 1988-1989
  • Iowa Department of Public Health - 1987
  • Box 16:
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 1) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 2) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 3) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 4) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 5) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 6) - 1986-1992
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 7) - 1986-1992
  • Box 17:
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 1) - 1992-1995
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 2) - 1992-1995
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 3) - 1992-1995
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 4) - 1992-1995
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 5) - 1992-1995
  • Box 18:
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 1) - 1994-1998
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 2) - 1994-1998
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 3) - 1994-1998
  • Iowa Department of Public Health (folder 4) - 1994-1998
  • Iowa Title II CARE Grant - 1991-1997
    [1 folder and 1 bound volume]
  • Box 19:
  • Iowa Title II CARE Grant - 1997-1998
    [2 bound volumes]
  • Johnson County Department of Public Health (folder 1) - 1986-1996
  • Johnson County Department of Public Health (folder 2) - 1986-1996
  • Johnson County Department of Public Health (folder 3) - 1986-1996
  • Johnson County Department of Public Health (folder 4) - 1986-1996
  • Box 20:
  • Rapids AIDS Project - 1987-1999
  • [V418]: Rapids AIDS Project: Focal Point - 1990
  • "The RAP Line," newsletter of the Rapids AIDS Project - 1992-1999
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 1) - 1991-1994
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 2) - 1991-1994
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 3) - 1991-1994
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 4) - 1991-1994
  • Box 21:
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 1) - 1995-1998
  • Southeast Iowa HIV CARE Consortium (folder 2) - 1995-1998
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1979-1986
  • Box 22:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 1) - 1987-1988
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 2) - 1987-1988
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 3) - 1987-1988
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 4) - 1987-1988
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 5) - 1987-1988
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 6) - 1987-1988
  • Box 23:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 1) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 2) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 3) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 4) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 5) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 6) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 7) - 1988-1990
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 8) - 1988-1990
  • Box 24:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 1) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 2) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 3) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 4) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 5) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 6) - 1990-1995
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 7) - 1990-1995
  • Box 25:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 1) - 1993-1996
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 2) - 1993-1996
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 3) - 1993-1996
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 4) - 1993-1996
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 5) - 1993-1996
  • Box 26:
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 1) - 1996-2008
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 2) - 1996-2008
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 3) - 1996-2008
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (folder 4) - 1996-2008
  • Various AIDS organizations - 1987-1996
  • Series 8: SOCIAL WORK
  • Box 26:
  • National Association of Social Workers (folder 1) - 1985-1993
  • Box 27:
  • Speeches and notes by Patricia Herring - 1988-1991
  • Performance appraisals - 1979-1990
  • License renewals - 1987-1993
  • Series 9: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
  • Box 27:
  • Bill T. Jones event - 1994
  • Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association - 1990-1998
  • Series 10: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 28:
  • ICARE t-shirt - 1994
  • Rapids AIDS Project button - 1996
  • AIDS buttons (2)
  • Angel with red ribbon
  • Safe sex kits (2), undated