Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ina Loewenberg papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1999-2007
Creator: Loewenberg, Ina (1931-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0735
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Research materials for her book, The View From 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections, published in 2004.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 741) were donated by Ina Loewenberg in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Ina Loewenberg papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Ina Perlstein was born in New York City in 1931. Perlstein graduated from Julia Richman High School, New York City, in 1948. After marrying Gerhard Loewenberg in 1950, she earned a BA in philosophy from Cornell University in 1952. Loewenberg received an MA degree in philosophy from the University of Massachusetts in 1969 and taught philosophy at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa from 1970 to 1974. In 1981, Loewenberg completed an MA in accounting at the University of Iowa. Loewenberg worked as a Financial Systems Analyst at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC) from 1981 to 1995. Project Art at UIHC inspired Loewenberg to begin work in photography in 1986, which she continued to pursue after her retirement in 1995 along with volunteer work for organizations such as Iowa City Hospice, Inc.

In 2000, Loewenberg began a project to photograph and publish a book on women who were born in 1931. Her goal was to interview women from diverse backgrounds who were born in the same year as she, telling their stories and comparing their parallel lives throughout the same historical period. The book was published as The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections in 2004.

The Ina Loewenberg papers date from 1999 to 2007 and measure 2 linear feet. The papers all relate to the publication "The View from 70" and are arranged in five series; Biographical, Interview materials, Publication materials, The View from 70, and Photographs.
 
The Biographical series contains information on Loewenberg's interests and a copy of Feminist Studies journal featuring her photography work. The Interview materials series contains the author's resume, a prospectus of the publication plan, and notes and texts from interviews conducted.
 
The Publication materials series contains information on publishers, publication stages, and publicity efforts for the book.
 
"The View from 70" series consists of materials relating to the completed book project, including a copy of The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections (2004), personal correspondence between the author and interviewees, responses to the publication of the book, and public presentations by the author.
 
The Photographs series consists of portrait photographs taken by Loewenberg or historical photographs borrowed from interviewees and reproduced in "The View from 70.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: INTERVIEW MATERIALS
Series 3: PUBLICATION MATERIALS
Series 4: "THE VIEW FROM 70"
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical - 1999-2003
  • Series 2: INTERVIEW MATERIALS
    The interview materials series contains the author's resume, a prospectus of the publication plan, and notes and texts from interviews conducted.
  • Box 1:
  • Project formulation - 2000-2003
  • Alice-Dorothy - 2000-2007
  • Edith-EveDorothy - 2000-2005
  • Fran-Jacci - 2000-2005
  • Box 2:
  • Jacki-June - 2000-2001
  • Leah-Pat J. - 2000-2006
  • Patricia-Roz - 1999-2004
  • Sandra-Wanda - 2000-2007
  • Revised texts, Alice-Hazel - 2002
  • Revised texts, Heidi-Wanda - 2002
  • Series 3: PUBLICATION MATERIALS
    The Publication materials series contains information on publishers, publication stages, and publicity efforts for the book.
  • Box 3:
  • Appendices and sources - 1993-2003
  • Publishers - 2002-2003
  • Production and distribution - 2003-2004
  • Publicity - 2003-2004
  • Publicity - 2004-2005
  • Series 4: "THE VIEW FROM 70"
    The View from 70 series consists of materials relating to the completed book project, including a copy of The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections (2004), personal correspondence between the author and interviewees, responses to the pu
  • Box 3:
  • Presentation materials - 2002-2004 and undated
  • Box 4:
  • The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections - 2004
  • Correspondence - 2001-2006
  • Reunions - 2004-2006
  • Ina Loewenberg on Dottie Ray [AC1354] - 2004
  • Living in Iowa episode #1502 [V428] - 2004
  • "The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections," Iowa City Senior Center [V425] - 2004
  • "The View from 70: Women's Recollections and Reflections," Iowa City Senior Center [V427] - 2004
  • Women born in 1931: A Photo-biographical project [V426] - 2002
  • Ina Loewenberg on Know the Score [d0065-d0068] - undated
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 5:
  • Alice-Edith - undated
  • Eleanor-Jackie - undated
  • Jan-Pat - undated
  • Patricia-Wanda - undated
  • Historical reprints - undated
  • Negatives and contact sheets, A-I - undated
  • Negatives and contact sheets, J-W - undated
  • Borrowed images - undated
  • Presentation prints, - undated
  • Box 6:
  • Presentation enlargements [5] - undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Loewenberg, Ina, 1931-

Dates:
1990-1999
2000-2009

Topics:
Photography
Women
Twentieth century
Interviews

Occupations:
Volunteers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Title:
The view from 70: women's recollections and reflections