Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973-1980
Creator: Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus (Iowa)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0734
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Organized in 1973, members supported a number of feminist initiatives including economic equalty and the ERA.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1022) were donated by Barbara Brown in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus records, Iowa Women's  Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus (BHCWPC), an affiliate of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus, was organized in 1973 by Margaret "Peg" Anderson, Mary O'Halloran, and other women. Many of the members of the BHCWPC were also members of the League of Women Voters of Black Hawk County and the National Organization for Women. The BHCWPC met once per month, and meetings usually included a presentation about an issue pertinent to women's political, social, or economic rights. Members of the BHCWPC supported a number of feminist initiatives: they promoted economic equality for women, monitored the implementation of Title IX in public schools, supported the Equal Rights Amendment, and educated women about their right to retain their maiden names.

The Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus Records date from 1973 to 1980 and measure 5 linear inches.  These records document the first seven years of the BHCWPC. They consist primarily of financial records, including bank statements, ledgers, and receipts. Membership lists, the chapter's newsletter, and brochures related to feminist issues of the 1970s complete the collection.
Margaret "Peg" Anderson Papers (IWA)
Peg Anderson, co-founder of the Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus, later chaired the Iowa Women's Political Caucus.  Her papers include material about the Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus during the mid-1970s.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Administrative - 1973-1980

  • Series 1: Administrative - 1973-1980
  • Box 1:
  • Membership lists - 1974-1977
  • Newsletters - 1976-1980
  • Treasurer's reports - 1973-1978
  • Treasurer's reports - 1973-1978
  • Treasurer's reports - 1973-1978
  • Bank statements - 1973-1979
  • Bank statements - 1973-1979
  • Bills - 1975-1978
  • Finances, notes and correspondence - 1976-1978
  • Brochures - 1976
  • Equal Rights Amendment - 1980

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Black Hawk County Women's Political Caucus (Iowa)

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989

Topics:
Women
Women's rights
Caucus

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Black Hawk County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Archives

Browse:
Women, Politics and the Law