Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Council 10 (Davenport, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-2009
Creator: League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Council 10 (Davenport, Iowa)
Extent: 5.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0733
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The members of Davenport LULAC Council 10 engaged in a wide range of social and political activities including annual fiestas, civil rights and fair housing.
View Selected Items Online:Mujeres Latinas Digital Collection

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 8 & 15
1 videocassette [V429]
1 DVD [d0051]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 995) were donated by LULAC Council 10 in 2006 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: LULAC Council 10 records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

LULAC Council 10 received its charter in Davenport on February 16, 1959. It was the fifth LULAC council to be formed in Iowa and its officers were sworn in at the second annual Iowa state LULAC convention, held in Fort Madison on May 30, 1959. The national LULAC organization was founded in Texas in 1929 to promote the rights of Mexican American citizens of the United States and to preserve the rich traditions and cultural heritage of its members. LULAC expanded into the Midwest during the late 1950s under the leadership of Felix Tijerina who served as president of the national organization from 1956 to 1960. Prior to the formation of LULAC Council 10, four other councils were formed in Iowa: LULAC Council 304 (Fort Madison, 1957); LULAC Council 306 (Des Moines, 1957); Des Moines Ladies Council 308 (1957); LULAC Council 319 (Mason City, 1958).
 
The members of Davenport LULAC Council 10 engaged in a wide range of social and political activities. They held annual fiestas and queen competitions and participated in the national LULAC scholarship program to fund educational opportunities for Mexican American students to pursue college education. The council maintained a rigorous civil rights agenda and, during the 1960s, collaborated with other activists to secure fair housing legislation and the appointment of a full-time director to the Davenport Human Relations Commission in 1970. Council 10 actively supported the boycott of California table grapes during the late 1960s when they formed the Quad City Grape Boycott Committee. They promoted bilingual education in Iowa schools and successfully lobbied the state legislature to form the Iowa Spanish Speaking Peoples Commission, which was signed into law by Governor Ray in 1976.

The records of LULAC Council 10 date from 1959 to 2009 and measure 5.75 linear feet.  The records are organized in the following series: History, Administration, Activities, Organizations and activism, Scholarship Program, Spanish-Speaking Elderly Program, State and national LULAC, Newspaper clippings, Photographs, and Newsletters.

The History series (1959-1979) includes a copy of LULAC Council 10's charter, newspaper articles, histories of the council, and a video-taped interview with Henry Vargas, a founding member of the council. Also included is raw footage of interviews with five World War II veterans who were members of Council 10: Anthony Navarro, Samuel Vasquez, Maurice Vasquez, Michael Cervantes, and Vincent Martinez. The interviews were recorded in 2007 at the LULAC club in Davenport by Iowa Public Television for "The War: A Ken Burns Film."

The Administration series (1969-2004) includes membership packets and brochures, member lists and minutes of meetings, as well as financial records and correspondence. The Activities series (1969-2009) reflects the range of activities that Council 10 members participated in. It contains the council's annual fiesta programs, the 1971 Women's International Bowling Congress championship certificate won by Council 10's women's team, and accounts of Cesar Chavez's 1992 visit to Davenport to receive the prestigious Pacem in Terris Peace and Freedom award of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Davenport.

The Organizations and activism series (1967-1982) provides insight into organizations that Council 10 members led or participated in. In 1968, Council 10 formed the Quad City Grape Boycott Committee under the leadership of Davenport's John Terronez, who served concurrently as Iowa state LULAC director. The grape boycott committee folders contain newsletters, newspaper articles, flyers and brochures about the committee's activities. Also included are materials from the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee (UFWOC). A substantial run of the UFWOC newsletter El Malcriado, published in Delano, California, can be found in the Newsletters series. The Area Board for Migrants (ABFM) folders explain the formation, funding, and programs of the ABFM under the leadership of Ernest Rodriguez, a founding member of LULAC Council 10.  These folders contain information about a job placement program initiated by the ABFM known as Trabajo that was coordinated by Council 10 member Mary Terronez. The Immigration and employment folder includes the 1976 response from the U.S. Department of Defense to a complaint against International Harvester Corporation filed by LULAC Council 10 president Henry Vargas. Also included in the immigration and employment folder are the minutes of a 1982 meeting called by Council 10 in response to "Operation Jobs Sweep."

The Scholarship program series (1970-1989) illustrates the organization and planning behind the highly successful LULAC scholarship program undertaken by Council 10 members to provide scholarships for Mexican American students to pursue college education. The Spanish-Speaking Elderly Program (SSEP) series (1973-1975) details the program initiated by Council 10 to meet the needs of elderly Spanish-speaking residents of the Davenport area. The records of the SSEP include board minutes, meetings and newsletters that reflect the activities of the many members of Council 10 who supported the program.

The State and national LULAC series (1962-2001) comprises convention programs and related materials, including the 1968-1970 correspondence of state LULAC director John Terronez. The bulk of the Reports (1968-1976) are government publications relating to the history and social and economic circumstances of Mexican Americans living in Iowa. The Photographs series (1959-1969) includes the exhibit boards from the LULAC club in Davenport, which contain several photos from the 1967 and 1968 state LULAC conventions. These boards have been digitized and can be viewed on the Iowa Digital Libraries site. Many of the individuals in the photographs have been identified by members of LULAC Council 10.

The final and largest series in the collection is the Newsletters (1961-2005). It is divided into subseries for LULAC, Iowa, and individual states. There is a fairly complete run of the newsletters of LULAC Council 10 from 1994, but only one partial newsletter (1961) exists for the earlier period. There is a brief run of the Iowa state LULAC newsletter, LULAC Glances, and a few newsletters of the national organization, LULAC News, including the 1963 memorial edition published following the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Many of the newsletters are local Chicano publications from the Southwest and Midwest, dating from the 1960s to the early 1970s. El Malcriado, the bi-monthly publication of the United Farm Workers, during and after the Delano, California, grape strike is contained in this series as well as newsletters of the American G.I. Forum, The Forumeer.
Ernest Rodriguez papers (IWA).
Mujeres Latinas Project oral history interviews (IWA).
Muscatine Migrant Committee Records (unprocessed).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: ADMINSTRATION
Series 3: ACTIVITIES
Series 4: ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVISM
Series 5: SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
Series 6: SPANISH-SPEAKING ELDERLY PROGRAM (SSEP)
Series 7: STATE AND NATIONAL LULAC
Series 8: REPORTS
Series 9: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 11: NEWSLETTERS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1959-1979
  • All for One & One For All, 75 year history of LULAC - 2004
  • Henry Vargas interview, Davenport, undated: [V429]
  • "The War: Interviews with WWII Veterans," IPTV: [d0051] - 2007
  • Series 2: ADMINSTRATION
  • Box 1:
  • Constitution and by-laws - 1981, 1966
  • Committees - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence - 1969-1982
  • Correspondence - 1995-2001
  • Correspondence - 2002-2004
  • Membership - 1969-1990
  • Membership - 1973
  • Membership meetings and minutes - 1960-1969
  • Membership meetings and minutes - 1973-1976
  • Membership meetings and minutes - 1980-1999
  • Membership meetings and minutes - 2000
  • Box 2:
  • Membership meetings and minutes - 2001-2003
  • Financial records (7 folders) - 1961-2003
  • Series 3: ACTIVITIES
  • Box 3:
  • 50th anniversary celebration - 2009
  • Bettendorf International Folk Festival - 1975
  • Bowling and bingo - 1971-2004
  • Dances - 1965-1990
  • Ephemera - 1963-1969
  • Fiestas - 1960-1988
  • Fiestas - 1990-2006
  • LULAC Man and Woman of the Year - 1972
  • "LULAC Week," - 1969-1999
  • Pacem in Terris Award [Cesar Chavez] - 1992
  • Scott County Veterans Memorial - 1993
  • Series 4: ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVISM
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1967-2002
  • Area Board for Migrants (ABFM) - 1970-1974
  • ABFM, printed materials - 1971-1974
  • ABFM, Trabajo (folder 1) - 1973-1974
  • Box 4:
  • ABFM, Trabajo (folder 2) - 1973-1974
  • Illinois LULAC Education Service Center - 1974
  • Immigration and employment - 1975-1982
  • La Raza - 1972-1974
  • Minority Coalition (MIN-CO) - 1970
  • Quad City Grape Boycott Committee - 1969
  • Quad City Grape Boycott Committee - 1970-1972
  • Quad City Grape Boycott Committee, newspaper clippings [shelved in map case] - 1969
  • Series 5: SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
  • Box 4:
  • Reports - 1970-1989
  • Scholarship program binder - 1979
  • Series 6: SPANISH-SPEAKING ELDERLY PROGRAM (SSEP)
  • Box 5:
  • Project narratives - 1973-1974
  • Area IX Agency on Aging - 1974-1975
  • Board meetings/reports - 1973-1974
  • Board meetings/reports - 1974-1975
  • Conferences on aging - 1974-1975
  • Conferences on aging, Topeka, Kansas - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1973-1975
  • Correspondence, insurance - 1974
  • Employment, policies - 1971-1973
  • Employment, job descriptions, undated
  • Employment, volunteers - 1973-1974
  • Financial records - 1973-1974
  • Financial records, reports - 1974-1975
  • Box 6:
  • Financial records, food receipts - 1973
  • Financial records, time sheets - 1974-1975
  • Newsletters, LULAC Spanish Speaking Elderly Program - 1974
  • Participants and activities - 1974
  • Series 7: STATE AND NATIONAL LULAC
  • Box 6:
  • State convention programs - 1962 -1976
  • State convention programs - 1980-2001
  • State conventions - 1969
  • State conventions - 1974
  • State conventions - 1985
  • State conventions - 1992-1999
  • State director, reports and correspondence - 1969-1974
  • National conventions - 1979, 1983, 1999
  • Series 8: REPORTS
  • Box 7:
  • "Spanish-Surnamed American College Graduates," Inter-Agency Committee on Mexican American Affairs, Washington D.C. - 1968
  • "Cabinet Committee on Opportunity for the Spanish Speaking," Washington D.C. - 1970-1971
  • ¿A donde vamos ahora? (Where are we going now?) A Report on the Problems of the Spanish Surnamed and Migrant Population in Iowa prepared by the Iowa State Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights" [photocopy] - 1970
    [original shelved in printed works collection]
  • Conoceme en Iowa [photocopy] - 1976
    [original shelved in printed works collection]
  • Series 9: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 7:
  • General - 1969-2004
  • General - 1963-1979
    [shelved in map case]
  • Press releases - 2003-2005
  • Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 8:
  • General - 1920-1960
    [shelved in map case]
  • General - 1960-1980
  • Box 15:
  • LULAC exhibit boards - 1967-1969
  • Series 11: NEWSLETTERS
  • Sub-Series: LULAC, Davenport
  • Box 8:
  • LULAC Council 10 - 1961
    [one issue, partial]
  • LULAC Council 10 - 1994-1996
  • LULAC Council 10 - 1996-1997
  • LULAC Council 10 - 1997-1998
  • LULAC Council 10 - 1999
  • LULAC Council 10 - 2000
  • LULAC Council 10 - 2001
  • LULAC Council 10 - 2002-2005
  • LULAC Council 10 - 2006-2010
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 8: Iowa State LULAC
  • LULAC Glances - 1969-1970
  • Sub-Series: National LULAC
  • Box 9:
  • LULAC News, JFK memorial edition [shelved in map case] - 1963
  • LULAC News - 1967-1968
  • LULAC News - 1969-1992
  • Sub-Series: Iowa
  • Box 9:
  • The Activator, Des Moines - 1970-1971
  • Antorcha Chicana, Muscatine - 1971
  • Challenge, Quad Cities - 1971-1972
  • The Eastside Story, Neighborhood Assembly, Davenport - 1971
  • Friendly News, United Community Services, Friendly House, Davenport - 1970
  • Iowa AFL-CIO News, Des Moines - 1971-1972
  • El Laberinto, Chicano-Indian Cultural Center, University of Iowa - 1972
    [one issue]
  • Nahuatzen, Centro Cultural Chicano, University of Iowa - 1972
  • Penal Digest International, Iowa City - 1971
  • Sub-Series: California
  • Box 9:
  • General - 1971-1972
  • Box 10:
  • El Chicano, San Bernardino (4 folders) - 1971-1972
  • Box 11:
  • The Forumeer, San Jose - 1968-1970, 1974
  • El Grito de Aztlan, undated
  • Ideal, Coachella - 1970-1974
  • El Malcriado, Delano - 1968-1969
  • El Malcriado, Delano - 1971
  • El Malcriado, Delano - 1972-1973
  • El Malcriado, Delano - 1973-1974
  • National Chicano Health Organization Newsletter, Los Angeles - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 11: Colorado
  • Ahora, Central - 1971-1972
  • El Gallo, Denver - 1971-1974
  • Sub-Series: Illinois
  • Box 12:
  • Cha Noticias, Aurora - 1970
  • El Informador, Chicago - 1968-1971
  • El Informador, Chicago - 1971
  • El Manana, Chicago - 1972
  • Mi Sangre, Chicago - 1972
  • The People of the Sun, Chicago, undated
  • El Puertorriqueño, Chicago - 1971
  • Rising Up Angry, Chicago - 1971
  • El Tiempo, Chicago - 1972, 1974
  • Miscellaneous, Chicago - 1971-1972
  • Sub-Series: Indiana
  • Box 12:
  • Joaquin, Fort Wayne - 1972
  • Los Desarraigados, Notre Dame - 1973, 1977
  • Box 13:
  • Latin Times, East Chicago (4 folders) - 1971-1974
  • Sub-Series: Michigan
  • Box 13:
  • La Causa, Iona - 1972
    [single issue]
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 13: Other states
  • entrelíneas, Kansas City, MO - 1974
  • Grito del Barrio!, Kansas City, KS - 1970
  • The People's Voice, Kansas City, KS - 1971
  • El Grito del Norte, Espanola, NM (2 folders) - 1971-1973
  • Box 14:
  • La Voz de La Alianza, Albuquerque, NM - 1971
  • Miscellaneous, New York (2 folders) - 1971-1974
  • Echo, TX - 1971-1972
  • El Encuentro, TX - 1972-1974
  • Images, TX - 1971
  • Miscellaneous, TX - 1970-1972
  • Ada World, Washington D.C.,1972
  • Hoy, Washington D.C. - 1972-1974
  • National Spanish Speaking Management Association Informe, Washington D.C. - 1972
  • Rassa Lobbyist, Washington D.C. - 1973
  • Miscellaneous, Washington D.C. - 1972
  • Adelanta Raza, WI - 1972-1974