Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary McInroy papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961
Creator: McInroy, Mary (1947-)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0729
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Home Economics notebook kept by McInroy as a high school student in 1961.

Access:

Use:

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1023) were donated by Mary McInroy in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Frizell McInroy was born in 1947 and grew up on a farm near Greenfield, Iowa, attending one-room country schools through fifth grade, when the schools were consolidated. She graduated from Greenfield High School in 1965 and earned a bachelor's degree in history from the University of Northern Iowa in 1970. After receiving an MSLS from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill in 1971 she was employed as a librarian at the University of Iowa Libraries.

Home Economics notebook kept by Mary Frizell in 1961 as a student at Greenfield (Iowa) High School. Contains worksheets, recipes, mimeographed information sheets, and booklets and brochures with recipes, cooking and meal planning tips, and nutrition information.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
McInroy, Mary, 1947-

Dates:
1960-1969

Topics:
Home economics
Cooking
Nutrition
Girls
Family life

Occupations:
High school students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Greenfield

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers