Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Johnson Family papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1903-1925
Creator: Johnson Family
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0717
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Letters exchanged among members of this Cresco, Iowa, family.

Arrangement: 2 folders, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers(donor no. 618) were donated by Arlene Brainard in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Johnson Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Johnson family lived and farmed near Cresco, Iowa in the early twentieth century. Justine Norton Johnson's oldestson Justus, called Jettie, attended the Cedar Rapids Business College in 1905. In 1924-25, her youngest son Donald attended Annapolis and was a crew member ofthe USS New York. See biographical sketches in the collection.

This Johnson Family papers consist primarily of letters written by Justine Norton Johnson of Cresco, Iowa to her oldest and youngest sons, Justus and Donald Johnson, respectively. Occasional letters from the father, brothers and a cousin of these young men are also included. Justine Johnson's letters include suggestions to her sons about health, schoolwork, clothing, and nutrition. They also detail family affairs and other events on the farm and in the community. Her guidance in developing her son Justin's career in business is as apparent as the prominence of church and school activities in the everyday lives of this family.  Also included are biographical sketches of Justine Norton Johnson, Justus Johnson, and his wife Lulu Grinde Johnson, written by Justus Johnson's daughter Arlene Brainard.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Johnson, Justine Norton
Johnson, Donald
Johnson, Lulu Grinde
Johnson, Justus

Dates:
1900-1909
1910-1919
1920-1929

Topics:
Farm life
Family life
Country life
Rural women

Occupations:
Farmers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cresco

Genre/Form of Materials:
Family papers
Archives

Family Names:
Johnson family

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women