Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Patricia Hillard papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-2001
Creator: Hillard, Patricia (1947-2000)
Extent: 20.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0715
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Papers document Hillard's work as Western U.S. Division Director of La Leche League International.

Arrangement: Administrative, Boxes 1-10 Area Conferences, Boxes 10-11 Area Coordinator of Leaders (ACL), Boxes 11-13 Areas, Boxes 13-18 Biographical information, Box 1 Conferences, Boxes 18-20 Correspondence, Boxes 20-25 Division Director, Boxes 25-27 Financial Records, Boxes 27-29 Human Relations Enrichment (HRE), Boxes 29-30 Other Divisions, Boxes 31-33 Photographs, Box 46 Professional Liaison Department (PLD), Boxes 33-34 Programs, Boxes 34-35 Publications, Box 35-42 Publicity, Box 42 Regional Administrators (RA), Boxes 42-44 Resource and Development (R&D), Boxes 44-46

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 727) were donated by Patricia Hillard in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Patricia Hillard papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Patricia Pedersen Hillard was born in 1947 in St. Joseph, Missouri. She graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1968 with a degree in home economics. On December 22, 1967, she married Richard Hillard. Together they had four children: Shannon, Elizabeth, Johanna, and Richard. In 1970, Hillard became involved with La Leche League International in Minnesota. When the family moved to Waverly, Iowa, in 1976, Hillard continued working with the organization. She rose to the position of Western U.S. Division Director, which she held from 1988 to 1992. Patricia Hillard died in 2000.

La Leche League International (LLLI) was founded in 1956 by seven Catholic mothers in Chicago who wanted to reestablish the importance of breastfeeding for both mothers and babies. Their motto, "Better Mothering Through Breastfeeding," reflects their belief that breastfeeding is an essential, not optional, aspect of motherhood. LLLI's purpose is to provide mother-to-mother support for nursing mothers by offering them information and encouragement. LLI offers services to nursing mothers through monthly meetings, counseling sessions, and area conferences. The organization also hosts large international conferences every two years. LLLI consists of three divisions: Eastern U.S, Western U.S., and Around the World ( ATW). As of 2006, over 7,000 leaders worldwide are helping mothers breastfeed their babies. LLLI is considered by many to be the world's leading source of breastfeeding information.

The Patricia Hillard papers date from 1963 to 2001 and measure 20.5 linear feet. Most of the papers document her work as the Western U.S. Division Director of La Leche League International. The complex structure of the organization is reflected in the many series of La Leche League International records that comprise the bulk of this collection. Two series, Biographical Information and Photographs, contain more personal material about Hillard. The remaining sixteen series of LLLI records are arranged alphabetically: Administrative, Area conferences, Area Coordinator of Leaders ( ACL), Areas, Conferences, Correspondence, Division Director, Financial Records, Human Relations Enrichment (HRE), Other Divisions, Professional Liaison Department ( PLD), Programs, Publications, Publicity, Regional Administrators (RA),and Resource and Development (R&D). La Leche League International organizational charts and acronym guides are provided at the beginning of the Administrative series in Box 1.

The Biographical Information series contains information documenting Patricia Hillard's involvement with La Leche League International, newspaper clippings about her home birth experiences, and funeral programs. The Photographs series (1979-1993) contains Hillard family photographs, along with photographs from La Leche League International meetings and conferences.

The La Leche League International Administrative series (1969-1997) contains materials related to the board of directors, district advisors, the lactation consultant department, legal issues, organizational policies, and the Leader Accreditation Department ( LAD). The Leader Accreditation Department was formerly called the Leader Applicant Department. The "Lactation Consultant Series" is not complete; it is missing issues #6, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 15. The LAD memos are also called " LAD News," " LAD Perspective," and " LAD Communique."

The reference files contain photocopies of the covers of breastfeeding and childbirth books used by Patricia Hillard. The books themselves are shelved in the Iowa Women's Archives printed works collections. The covers of other books used by Hillard, but not retained by the Archives, have also been photocopied. These include childbirth books already owned by the University of Iowa Libraries and parenting books not directly related to La Leche League International.

Some of the pamphlets in the miscellaneous reference materials folder include: "International Code of Marketing of Breast-milk Substitutes," published by the World Health Organization in 1981; "White Paper on Infant Feeding Practices," published in 1974 by the Center for Science in the Public Interest and sponsored by the Citizens' Committee on Infant Nutrition; and "The Uniqueness of Human Milk," proceedings from a symposium by the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition in 1971.

The La Leche League International Area Conferences (ACFS) series (1978-1991) consists of materials from area conferences held in the U.S. Western Division, including notes and handouts on various panel discussions. The Area Coordinator of Leaders ( ACL) series (1976-1991) consists of correspondence, newsletters, and reports. The Areas series (1970-1997) contains materials relating to all the states in the U.S. Western Division and are arranged alphabetically by state. Some areas consist of more than one state, such as Arkansas/Oklahoma. The files on New Mexico contain information on working with the Women, Infants, Children (WIC) program.

The Conferences series (1971-1991) contains materials from La Leche League International conferences held every two years. The conferences were originally called conventions. The series includes souvenir booklets, correspondence, and handouts from pre-conference sessions, as well as audio recordings of speeches given at the 1971 and 1981 conference. The 1971 audio recording includes a speech given by Princess Grace of Monaco at the conference banquet. Transcripts from the 1971 conference consist of panel discussions on "The Scope of La Leche League" and "Mothers Ask."

The bulk of the La Leche League International Correspondence series (1979-1997) dates from 1990-1991. Letters written among the staff are lengthy and contain information concerning the internal workings of La Leche League, as well as their family life. The Division Director series (1977-1997) contains Hillard's correspondence as Western U.S. Division Director, as well as meeting materials, newsletters, and reports. There are no division director reports for 1986. The series also contains records from the previous Western U.S. Division Director, Joan Richardson.

The Financial Records series (1981-1992) contains budget materials, information on the group's Second Founding drive, and correspondence. The Human Relations Enrichment (HRE) series (1974-1995) contains La Leche League International teaching outlines, newsletters, correspondence, and publications, such as the Human Relations Workbook. The Other Divisions series (1976-1993) consists of materials from the Eastern U.S. and Around the World Divisions such as correspondence and newsletters.

The Professional Liaison Department ( PLD) series (1980-1993) contains newsletters, correspondence, reports, and information on continuing education for health professionals. The Programs series (1985-1996) contains information on various activities in which La Leche League International participated, including walk-a-thons, Young Children Priority One, breastfeeding classes, and volunteer programs. The Young Children Priority One program was a joint effort between La Leche League International and Kiwanis. The series also contains a video from a Continuing Area Resource Enrichment ( CARE) workshop of a panel discussion on the relationship between the Area Professional Liaison ( APL) and the Area Leaders' Letter Editor ( ALLE). The Publications series (1968-1999) contains newsletters, calendars, and books published by La Leche League International, along with the journals Leaven and New Beginnings. The series also contains six copies of The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding: four printings of the second edition and one each of the third and fourth editions. The 1990 calendar is missing.

The Publicity series (1971-1997) contains newspaper clippings, press releases, television segments on extended nursing, a research study on physicians' attitudes toward La Leche League International, and materials for speaking engagements to groups outside of LLLI. The research study was commissioned jointly by LLLI and Proctor & Gamble. The newspaper clippings include an article on Princess Grace of Monaco describing her support of breastfeeding and La Leche League International. The video recording on extended nursing contains three television segments: "Northwest Afternoon" featuring Betty Freeman, the "HOME" show featuring Jay Gordon, and a segment from the "Jerry Springer" television show featuring, among others, Mary Lofton, an LLLI representative, Peggy O'Meara, editor of Mothering Magazine, and Denise Perrigo, a mother whose daughter was taken away from her because she practiced extended nursing.

The Regional Administrators (RA) series (1980-1993) consists of correspondence, reports, information regarding the regional alignment of the Western U.S. Division of La Leche League International, and materials relating to searches for new regional administrators. The Resource and Development (R&D) series (1975-1991) contains grant proposals, materials on fundraising, and a survey on funding development.
La Leche League International records (DePaul University, Chicago, IL).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 3: AREA CONFERENCES (ACFS)
Series 4: AREA COORDINATOR OF LEADERS (ACL)
Series 5: AREAS
Series 6: CONFERENCES
Series 7: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 8: DIVISION DIRECTOR
Series 9: FINANCIAL RECORDS
Series 10: HUMAN RELATIONS ENRICHMENT (HRE)
Series 11: OTHER DIVISIONS
Series 12: PROFESSIONAL LIAISON DEPARTMENT (PLD)
Series 13: PROGRAMS
Series 14: PUBLICATIONS
Series 15: PUBLICITY
Series 16: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATORS (RA)
Series 17: RESOURCE AND DEVELOPMENT (R&D)
Series 18: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Patricia Hillard papers - 1976-2001
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • La Leche League organizational charts and acronym guides - 1990-1994
  • Board of Directors (BOD): General - 1990-1991
  • BOD goals for nominating committee - 1988-1990
  • Reports to BOD (5 folders) - 1985-1991
  • BOD sessions - 1988-1991
  • By-laws - 1988-1997
  • Box 2:
  • Committees: Goal setting - 1986-1992
  • Committees: Program services general - 1988-1990
  • Committees: Program services leader priorities subcommittee (2 folders) - 1988-1989
  • Research review - 1990-1992
  • Strategic planning - 1990-1991
  • Task force general - 1984
  • Task force report - 1984
  • District advisors (DA) general - 1990-1992
  • DA area materials - 1983-1988
  • Box 3:
  • DA notebook - 1981
  • DA workshop - 1987
  • Group statistics - 1985-1993
  • Lactation consultant department general - 1988-1989
  • Lactation consultant department correspondence - 1982-1992
  • Lactation consultant department guidelines - 1989-1990
  • Lactation consultant department information packet - 1983
  • "Lactation Consultant Series" [lacking #6, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 15] - 1985-1987
  • "The Lactation Consultant's Topical Review and Bibliography of the Literature on Breastfeeding" - 1990
  • Lansinoh Laboratories intensive skin treatment materials, undated
  • Box 4:
  • Leader Accreditation Department (LAD) general - 1990-1993
  • LAD general correspondence - 1987-1993
  • LAD correspondence: Re: Area Coordinator of Leaders/Coordinator of Leader Accreditation (ACL/CLA) relationship - 1987-1989
  • LAD correspondence: Re: LAD structure - 1987-1988
  • LAD correspondence: Re: Study guide - 1988
  • "LAD Lifeline" newsletters - 1984-1990
  • Box 5:
  • "LAD Memo" newsletters - 1991-1992
  • LAD notebook, undated
  • LAD reports - 1989-1992
  • LAD workshops, undated
  • Leaders: General - 1989-1997
  • Leaders: General correspondence - 1987-1990
  • Leaders: Idaho correspondence - 1980-1985
  • Leaders: Illinois correspondence - 1990-1992
  • Leaders: Iowa correspondence - 1989-1990
  • Leaders: Kansas correspondence - 1983
  • Leaders: Minnesota/Dakotas correspondence - 1992
  • Leaders: Oregon correspondence (2 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Leaders: Texas correspondence - 1989
  • Box 6:
  • Leaders: Washington correspondence (2 folders) - 1989-1993
  • Decertification procedure - 1979-1993
  • Handbooks - 1977
  • "The News Leader's Handbook" - 1989
  • Leader/lay midwives - 1983-1989
  • Leader reserve - 1984-1991
  • Preview guide revision - 1991
  • Survey - 1993
  • Legal issues: Legal associates program - 1992-1993
  • Legal issues: Military mothers - 1991
  • Box 7:
  • Legal issues: Milk storage - 1992
  • Mailing lists - 1990-1991
  • Miscellaneous reports - 1990-1992
  • Policies: Advertisements - 1975-1992
  • Policies: National Association of Diaper Services - 1988-1991
  • Policies: Telephone answering machines - 1989-1991
  • Reference files: "Counseling the Nursing Mother: A Reference Handbook for Health Care Providers and Lay Counselors," by Judith Lauwers and Candace Woessner, CEA of Greater Philadelphia - 1983
  • Reference files: Magazine articles and newspaper clippings - 1978-1991
  • Reference files: Photocopies of book covers of breastfeeding and childbirth books shelved in IWA printed works collection - 1970-1981
  • Reference files: Photocopies of book covers of childbirth and parenting books not retained - 1957-1993
  • Audiocassette AC1095: "Psychological Effects of Mothering through Breastfeeding" speech by Nites Newton, Ph.D. and Henry Ruehr, M.D., undated
  • Miscellaneous reference materials - 1971-1991
  • Box 8:
  • Resources: Management: general - 1985-1989
  • Resources: Management: change - 1969-1992
  • Resources: Management: conflict resolution - 1983-1991
  • Resources: Mothering - 1969-1991
  • Resources: Toddlers - 1978-1991
  • Staff meetings, general - 1987-1990
  • Staff meetings (5 folders) - 1986-1990
  • Box 9:
  • Staff meetings (4 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Box 10:
  • Miscellaneous (2 folders) - 1977-1991
  • Series 3: AREA CONFERENCES (ACFS)
  • Box 10:
  • General - 1991
  • Ads and exhibitors correspondence - 1987-1991
  • Ads and exhibitors guidelines - 1983-1990
  • Board of Directors (BOD) at area conferences - 1984-1991
  • Forms - 1990-1991
  • Panels: "The 10-12 year old," Iowa - 1990
  • Panels: "Adolescents," Minnesota - 1987
  • Panels: "Being Everything to Everybody," Illinois - 1990
  • Panels: "Following Your Mothering Instincts," Nebraska - 1984
  • Panels: "LLL Image," Texas - 1990
  • Panels: "LLL's Future," Texas - 1990
  • Panels: "Loving Guidance," Illinois - 1990
  • Panels: "Parenting the Fussy or High Need Baby," Texas - 1990
  • Box 11:
  • Panels: "Self-esteem in the Stay-at-home Mom: What am I Still Doing in LLL?" undated
  • Panels: "Sequencing: Going from a Career to Motherhood and Back Again," Illinois - 1992
  • Panels: "Supermom," Iowa - 1984
  • Panels: "Toddlers," Iowa - 1984
  • Panels: "Uniquely Yours," North Dakota - 1986
  • "Parenting for the 1990's" luncheon speech, Iowa - 1990
  • Session notes - 1990
  • Supervisor: General - 1987-1989
  • Supervisor: Notebook - 1983
  • Supervisor: Notebook draft - 1991
  • Supervisor: Notebook: "Spot Lites" newsletter - 1978-1985
  • Series 4: AREA COORDINATOR OF LEADERS (ACL)
  • Box 11:
  • General - 1990-1991
  • "ACL Forum" - 1976-1985
  • Correspondence - 1976-1990
  • Box 12:
  • Notebook - 1981
  • Notebook - 1991
  • Reports: November '85-May '89 (8 folders) - 1985-1989
  • Box 13:
  • Reports: November '89-May '91 (5 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Compilation reports - 1985-1991
  • Series 5: AREAS
  • Box 13:
  • Alaska general - 1988-1991
  • Alaska group development grants - 1988-1989
  • Arizona general - 1988-1991
  • Arizona "Sunshine" newsletter - 1990-1991
  • Arkansas/Oklahoma general - 1986-1991
  • Arkansas/Oklahoma group development grants - 1988-1989
  • Box 14:
  • Arkansas/Oklahoma merger - 1988
  • Arkansas/Oklahoma newsletters - 1990-1991
  • Colorado - 1986-1991
  • Idaho general - 1988-1989
  • Idaho "Gem Sunshine" newsletter - 1989-1991
  • Idaho group development grants - 1988-1991
  • Idaho leader packet, undated
  • Illinois general - 1979-1991
  • Illinois newsletters - 1990-1991
  • Indiana general - 1988-1991
  • Indiana continuing education - 1988
  • Indiana leader survey - 1985-1986
  • Indiana newsletters - 1990-1991
  • Iowa general - 1984-1996
  • Iowa "Cornsilk Sentiments" newsletter - 1982-1988
  • Box 15:
  • Iowa "Cornsilk Sentiments" newsletter - 1990-1997
  • Iowa correspondence - 1989-1996
  • Iowa directories - 1992-1996
  • Iowa group development grants - 1989
  • Kansas general - 1989-1991
  • Kansas new leader's packet - 1988
  • Minnesota/Dakotas general - 1966-1991
  • Minnesota/Dakotas leader's log - 1983-1988
  • Minnesota/Dakotas merger - 1989-1990
  • Box 16:
  • Minnesota/Dakotas newsletters (2 folders) - 1970-1995
  • Missouri general - 1982-1991
  • Missouri continuing education for leaders - 1986
  • Montana - 1988-1990
  • Nebraska - 1989-1991
  • New Mexico general - 1987-1989
  • New Mexico "Enchantment" newsletter - 1987-1991
  • Box 17:
  • New Mexico group development grants - 1988-1990
  • Northern California/Hawaii general - 1986-1991
  • Northern California/Hawaii group development grants - 1989-1991
  • Northern California/Hawaii handbook - 1988
  • Oregon general - 1989-1991
  • Oregon correspondence - 1990-1992
  • Oregon newsletters - 1990-1991
  • Southern California/Nevada general - 1989-1990
  • Southern California/Nevada correspondence - 1987-1992
  • Southern California/Nevada management guidelines and standing rules - 1990-1991
  • Texas general - 1988-1992
  • Texas correspondence - 1987-1990
  • Texas group development grants - 1988-1989
  • Box 18:
  • Utah - 1988-1989
  • Washington general - 1987-1993
  • Washington newsletters - 1990-1991
  • Wisconsin - 1988-1991
  • Series 6: CONFERENCES
  • Sub-Series: 4th La Leche League International convention
  • Box 18:
  • Audiocassette AC1094: Banquet speeches by Viola Lennon, Dr. Brooks, Marian Thompson, and Princess Grace of Monaco, Chicago, Illinois - 1971
  • Transcripts - 1971
  • Sub-Series: 5th La Leche League International convention
  • Box 18:
  • Souvenir album - 1975
  • Sub-Series: 8th La Leche League International convention
  • Box 18:
  • General - 1981
  • Audiocassette AC1093: "Is LLL the Real World or Are We Misfits?" speech by John L. McKnight, Chicago, Illinois - 1981
  • Sub-Series: 9th international conference
  • Box 18:
  • 9th international conference - 1983
  • Sub-Series: 10th international conference
  • Box 18:
  • General - 1985
  • Pre-conference - 1985
  • Sub-Series: 11th international conference
  • Box 18:
  • General - 1987
  • Correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Financial records - 1986-1987
  • Notes - 1987
  • Box 19:
  • Pre-conference general - 1987
  • Pre-conference Area Coordinator of Leaders/Coordinator of Leader Accreditation (ACL/CLA) session day - 1987
  • Pre-conference Area Professional Liaison (APL) panel - 1987
  • Pre-conference evaluations - 1987
  • Pre-conference outlines and handouts - 1987
  • Session: "Dawning of Independence: Ages 1-3" - 1987
  • Session: "Is Success All That It Is Cracked Up to Be?" - 1987
  • Sub-Series: 12th international conference
  • Box 19:
  • General - 1989
  • Notes - 1989
  • Pre-conference general - 1989
  • Pre-conference Area Coordinator of Leaders/Coordinator of Leader Accreditation (ACL/CLA) session day - 1989
  • Pre-conference evaluations - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: ACL/CLA - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: Area Conference Supervisor (ACS) - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: Area Leaders' Letter (ALL) - 1989
  • Box 20:
  • Pre-conference handouts: Eastern U.S. (EUS) - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: Human Relations Enrichment (HRE) - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: Leader Accreditation Department (LAD) - 1989
  • Pre-conference handouts: Professional Liaison Department (PLD) - 1989
  • Pre-conference Western U.S. Day general - 1989
  • Pre-conference Western U.S. Day speeches - 1989
  • Sub-Series: 35th anniversary conference
  • Box 20:
  • General - 1991
  • Conference planning committee - 1990-1991
  • Audiocassette AC1092: District advisors' meeting with Mary Hoskin, Johanna Morton, and Alice Edwards, Miami, Florida - 1991
  • Pre-conference general - 1991
  • Pre-conference Area Professional Liaison (APL) sharing session - 1991
  • Pre-conference notes - 1991
  • Pre-conference Session day outlines - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Budgets and funding
  • Box 20:
  • Budgets and funding - 1987-1991
  • Series 7: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 20:
  • Chronological - 1985-1989
  • Box 21:
  • Chronological (9 folders) - 1990-1991
  • Box 22:
  • Chronological : February-May (3 folders) - 1991
  • Box 23:
  • Chronological (7 folders) - 1991-1997
  • Box 24:
  • Undated
  • Barb Wandrei - 1980-1985
  • Coordinator of Leader Accreditation (CLA) - 1982-1985
  • Division treasurer - 1988-1990
  • Julie Stock - 1986-1989
  • Mila Smith - 1979-1983
  • Recommendation letters - 1987-1989
  • Re: "Leaven" - 1988-1991
  • Box 25:
  • Re: Medela program concerns - 1987-1989
  • Re: Mothers of multiples meetings - 1987-1991
  • Re: Public relations - 1988
  • Re: Publications feedback - 1988-1989
  • Series 8: DIVISION DIRECTOR
  • Box 25:
  • General - 1988-1989
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1984-1993
  • Meetings (6 folders) - 1985-1990
  • Box 26:
  • Meetings (3 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Newsletters: "Joan's Jabberwocky" - 1985-1988
  • Newsletters: "Pat's Parley" (2 folders) - 1988-1990
  • Box 27:
  • Newsletters: "Pat's Parley" - 1991-1992
  • Reports (3 folders) - 1977-1997
  • Series 9: FINANCIAL RECORDS
  • Box 27:
  • Area financial reports (2 folders) - 1984-1990
  • Box 28:
  • Area incorporation and tax exempt status - 1981-1989
  • Area membership summary - 1991
  • Budgets, general - 1981-1992
  • Budget requests - 1987-1991
  • Budgeting tools - 1984-1989
  • Income and expense budgets - 1987-1991
  • Cash receipts/adjustment analysis journal - 1987-1992
  • Correspondence - 1988-1993
  • Financial changes - 1985-1989
  • Membership agreement with La Leche League International - 1985
  • Second founding drive - 1984
  • "Speaking of Money" materials - 1991
  • Audiocassette AC1091: "Speaking of Money", undated
  • Box 29:
  • Tax materials - 1981-1991
  • Treasurer's report (3 folders) - 1985-1992
  • Travel scholarship fund - 1989-1991
  • Miscellaneous - 1988-1992
  • Series 10: HUMAN RELATIONS ENRICHMENT (HRE)
  • Box 29:
  • General - 1987-1990
  • Administrator search - 1989-1990
  • Box 30:
  • Correspondence - 1979-1992
  • Newsletters: "HRE Bulletin Heartbeat" - 1974-1984
  • Newsletters: "HRE Memo" - 1989-1995
  • Publications: "HRE Instructor's Toolbox" - 1982
  • Publications: "HRE Instructor's Toolbox" - 1992
  • Publications: "Human Relations Workbook" - 1978
  • Teaching outlines: Advanced communications skills - 1987-1992
  • Teaching outlines: Assertion powers - 1991
  • Teaching outlines: Basic/advanced communications skills - 1986
  • Teaching outlines: Communicating with our children - 1991
  • Teaching outlines: Conflict management - 1988-1989
  • Teaching outlines: Group dynamics - 1987
  • Series 11: OTHER DIVISIONS
  • Box 31:
  • Around the World (ATW) general - 1989-1990
  • ATW Canada: General - 1986-1993
  • ATW Canada newsletters: "Administrator's Ally" - 1987-1988
  • ATW Canada newsletters: "Cables" - 1984-1989
  • ATW Canada newsletters: "Canadian Collage" - 1985-1992
  • ATW Canada newsletters: "Canadian Communique" - 1976-1983
  • ATW correspondence - 1989-1992
  • ATW newsletters: "ACL Accord" (Area Coordinator of Leaders) - 1980-1989
  • ATW newsletters: "Circle of LLLove" - 1982-1983
  • ATW newsletters: Division director memos - 1987-1990
  • Eastern U.S. (EUS), general - 1982-1990
  • EUS conference planning guide - 1987
  • EUS correspondence - 1988-1993
  • Box 32:
  • EUS financial records - 1985-1992
  • EUS leader development seminars - 1986-1990
  • EUS newsletters: "ACL Currents" - 1979-1983
  • EUS newsletters: "Director's Digest" - 1989-1992
  • EUS newsletters: "Eastern Union" (2 folders) - 1985-1993
  • EUS newsletters: "Yankee Trader" - 1988-1991
  • EUS newsletters, miscellaneous - 1988-1997
  • Box 33:
  • EUS notebooks: Area Coordinator of Leaders (ACL) - 1989
  • EUS notebooks: "Crisis Response" - 1991
  • EUS notebooks: District advisor - 1990
  • EUS notebooks: Professional Liaison (PL) - 1987-1988
  • EUS notebooks: Regional Administrator (RA) - 1985
  • EUS reports - 1989
  • EUS miscellaneous - 1990-1991
  • Series 12: PROFESSIONAL LIAISON DEPARTMENT (PLD)
  • Box 33:
  • General - 1986-1993
  • Basics of breastfeeding materials - 1992
  • Breastfeeding and alcohol consumption materials - 1989-1991
  • Breastfeeding rights packet - 1980-1983
  • Continuing education for health professionals (CEHP) - 1988-1991
  • Continuing medical education seminars - 1988-1991
  • Correspondence - 1985-1993
  • Newsletters: "Baobab Tree" - 1985-1995
  • Box 34:
  • Newsletters: "Breastfeeding Abstracts" - 1983-1992
  • Newsletters: "Bridges" - 1973-1985
  • Notebook - 1988
  • Programs advisor - 1987-1993
  • Reports - 1985-1991
  • Series 13: PROGRAMS
  • Box 34:
  • Breastfeeding-aid sales program - 1995-1996
  • Breastfeeding classes - 1985-1988
  • Box 35:
  • Breastfeeding resource centers - 1989-1995
  • Certified volunteer unit program - 1987-1990
  • Continuing Area Resource Enrichment (CARE) workshops, general - 1991
  • CARE workshops - 1992
  • CARE workshops - 1993
  • Videocassette V334: CARE conference, Phoenix - 1993
  • Continuing education credit program - 1985-1991
  • Secret pals, undated
  • U.S.A.I.D. (U.S. Agency for International Development) child survival projects in Guatemala and Honduras - 1992
  • Walk-a-thon (3 folders) - 1989-1993
  • World Summit for Children - 1990
  • Young Children Priority One - 1990-1992
  • Series 14: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 35:
  • General - 1987-1991
  • Area Leaders' Letter (ALL), general - 1982-1991
  • "ALL Digest" - 1979-1982
  • Box 36:
  • ALL editor handbook - 1987
  • Associate ALL administrator search - 1992
  • Review process, general - 1992
  • Review process: Action committee mailings - 1992
  • Review process: Problem articles - 1986-1989
  • "The Breastfeeding Answer Book": first edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1991
  • "The Breastfeeding Answer Book": revised edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1997
  • Box 37:
  • Brochures and pamphlets (2 folders) - 1968-1990
  • Brochures and pamphlets: Organizational culture brochure materials - 1989
  • Calendars (3 folders) - 1979-1993
  • Box 38:
  • Journals: "Leaven" (5 folders) - 1972-1995
  • Box 39:
  • Journals: "Leaven" - 1995-1999
  • Journals: "New Beginnings" (4 folders) - 1985-1996
  • Box 40:
  • Journals: "New Beginnings" - 1997-1999
  • Journals: "The LLLove Story," by Kaye Lowman - 1977
  • Newsletters: "All-Spice" - 1984-1995
  • Newsletters: "Central Plains Conversations" - 1990-1991
  • Newsletters: "Connections," general - 1985-1986
  • Newsletters: "Connections" (3 folders) - 1985-1997
  • Box 41:
  • Newsletters: "Connections," drafts - 1990-1991
  • Newsletters: "Connections," indexes - 1991-1996
  • Newsletters: "Heart to Heart" - 1990-1991
  • Newsletters: "La Leche League News" (3 folders) - 1970-1984
  • Newsletters: "Leaders' Link" - 1976-1983
  • Newsletters: "LLLI Alumnae News" - 1990-1993
  • Newsletters: "LLLI Monthly Memo" - 1987-1988
  • Newsletters: "North Central Notes" - 1990-1991
  • Newsletters: "South Central Collective" - 1990-1991
  • Newsletters: "Sidelights" - 1983-1993
  • Newsletters: "Western Wellsprings" - 1976-1983
  • Box 42:
  • "Of Cradles & Careers: A Guide to Reshaping Your Job to Include a Baby in Your Life," by Kaye Lowman [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1984
  • "An Overview of Solutions to Breastfeeding and Sucking Problems," by Susan Meintz Maher, IBCLC - 1988
  • "Through Loving Eyes: A Collection of Perceptive Portraits" by photographer Richard Ebbitt, undated
  • "The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding"
  • Second edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1963
  • Second edition - 1968
  • Second edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1971
  • Second edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1980
  • Third edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1981
  • Fourth edition [shelved in IWA printed works collection] - 1987
  • Series 15: PUBLICITY
  • Box 42:
  • "Attitudes Toward LLLI: A Research Study Among Physicians" - 1985
  • Extended nursing: Jerry Springer television program materials - 1992
  • Videocassette VC335: Television segments - 1992
  • Newspaper clippings - 1971-1991
  • Outside speaking engagements: General, undated
  • Outside speaking engagements: Breastfeeding lecture at a Lamaze class, undated
  • Outside speaking engagements: Home birth panels - 1985
  • Outside speaking engagements: In-service materials - 1980-1986
  • Packet, undated
  • Press releases - 1990-1997
  • Press releases: Samples, undated
  • Series 16: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATORS (RA)
  • Box 42:
  • General - 1984-1993
  • Correspondence: Mountain region - 1986-1992
  • Correspondence: North central region
  • Correspondence: Re: Cesaerean Prevention Movement (CPM) - 1991
  • Correspondence: Re: Leader Accreditation Department (LAD) guidelines - 1992
  • "Mountain Mentionables" newsletter - 1990-1991
  • Regional Administrator of Leaders (RAL) handbook - 1983
  • Regional alignment - 1992
  • Box 43:
  • Regional meetings: Mountain states - 1984-1985
  • Regional meetings: North central plains - 1980-1986
  • Regional meetings: South central plains - 1986-1993
  • Report forms - 1990-1991
  • Reports (5 folders) - 1985-1989
  • Box 44:
  • Reports (3 folders) - 1990-1993
  • Searches: General - 1987-1989
  • Searches: Job description - 1985-1990
  • Searches: Mountain region - 1991
  • Searches: Pacific region - 1990
  • Searches: Sample letters - 1989-1990
  • Series 17: RESOURCE AND DEVELOPMENT (R&D)
  • Box 44:
  • General - 1987-1988
  • Appeal letters - 1985-1989
  • Funding: Areas - 1987
  • Funding: "Connections" articles - 1988-1989
  • Funding: Correspondence - 1987-1991
  • Funding: Handbook - 1991
  • Funding: Survey - 1987-1989
  • Box 45:
  • Funding: Workshops: General, undated
  • Funding: Workshops: Notes - 1985-1989
  • Grant proposals, general - 1985-1989
  • Grant proposals: Humanities grants - 1985-1988
  • Grant proposals: Proposal writing materials - 1975-1985
  • Grassroots fundraising - 1986-1989
  • Group development grants (GDG), general - 1988-1991
  • Group development grants (GDG), follow-up reports (2 folders) - 1989
  • Box 46:
  • Phone logs - 1988-1989
  • "Reaching Out" campaign - 1987-1989
  • Resource development committee, general - 1988-1990
  • Resource development committee reports - 1989-1990
  • Resource development subcommittees - 1990
  • Treasurer's packet - 1986-1989
  • Series 18: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 46:
  • Photographs - 1979-1993
  • Photo album - 1988-1991