Guide to the Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women (O'Brien County) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-1993
Creator: Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women (O'Brien County, Iowa))
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0713
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Farmwomen's club organized in 1956.

Administrative Information

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 633) were donated by Irma Jacobsma in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women (O'Brien County) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women formed September 25, 1956 in the home of Henry Roetman in O'Brien County. At monthly meetings, club members discussed political, rural, farm, and family life. Club meetings were a major social event for the women, where they could socialize, work together, and share common interests such as farm safety, reading, politics, sewing, cooking, and gardening. The club was active in community events, fundraising, and volunteering.


Content Description

The Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women records measure 5 linear inches and date from 1956-1993. They consist primarily of secretary's books that contain minutes of meetings (1956-1991) and scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings about club meetings and activities. A folder of annual programs is also included.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Franklin Township Farm Bureau Women

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Rural women
Rural conditions
Women in community organization

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- O'Brien County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Women's Clubs and Organizations