Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Christie York papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-2001
Creator: York, Christie (1950-2001)
Extent: 5.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0701
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa graduate and laboratory assistant who was active in student government and served as a steward in AFSCME Local 12.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 13

Access: The papers are open for research. Correspondence with Sue Peabody, Nancy Turner, Kim Porter, and David Simpson (contained in Box 7) is closed until 2020.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Christie York papers (donor no. 703) were donated by Christie York in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Christie York papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Christie York was born on March 12, 1950 to Phyllis and Phillip York. She had three sisters, Faye, Merry, and Allison (Merry and Faye are twins). In 1968 Christie graduated from Iowa Falls High School, and went on to begin her college education at Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls, Iowa. After receiving an Associate´s Degree from Ellsworth Community College in 1970, Christie York enrolled at Indiana University. She received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology and Urban Studies from Indiana University in 1972.

After completing her degree at Indiana University, Christie married Raymond A. Smith in March 1976. The marriage ended in divorce in 1981. During their marriage, Raymond was imprisoned in the Iowa penitentiary system for armed robbery. Further information about Raymond A. Smith´s incarceration and trial is included with the personal information about Raymond A. Smith in the Biographical Information series of the Christie York papers. From 1972 to 1988, Christie York worked at Cargill Corn Starch and Syrup in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She began working as a junior chemist and later worked as a process lab technician. In 1988, she began working as a laboratory assistant at San Labs in Cedar Rapids. At this time, Christie York was also a Teaching Assistant at the University of Iowa and an instructor at Kirkwood Community College.

In 1982 Christie York entered the University of Iowa and received her Bachelor´s Degree in History in 1984. She continued her studies in the University of Iowa History Department, receiving her Master´s Degree in History in 1988. York entered the Ph.D. program in History at the University of Iowa. During her years in the University of Iowa History Department, Christie York also served as a Teaching Assistant, Representative to the Graduate and Professional Student Senate, and the Graduate Student Senate. In 1990, Christie York was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award.

In 1993, Christie York began working as a Pharmacy Technician at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC). While employed at UIHC, Christie York was a member of the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Local 12, serving as a local union steward. She also worked on revising the UIHC policies on tardiness and sick leave.

In 1999, Christie York was diagnosed with Lou Gherig´s Disease (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis). She died on October 13, 2001 from complications of the disease.

The Christie York papers date from 1950 to 2001 and measure 5.3 linear feet. The Christie York papers are rich in information about a variety of topics, including daily life in Iowa, the graduate school experience at the University of Iowa, and University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics policies. The papers are arranged in the following series: Personal Information; Correspondence; Academic Papers; Family History Project; Professional; and Artifacts and Photographs.

The Personal Information portion of the Christie York papers consists mainly of biographical information about Christie York and her family. This segment of the collection contains records from Christie York's grade school and high school years, childhood drawings, and Girl Scout artifacts. The scrapbook from Christie York's senior year of high school is included in this portion of the collection, but is stored with the oversized materials in the Iowa Women's Archives. Personal information concerning members of the York family is also included in this series. These folders contain a variety of information, including school records of Christie York's sisters, detailed information about injuries caused by a drunk driver that Christie York's sister Faye York Broer sustained, art work from the Broer children, and articles written by Allison York. Records of Christie York's marriage and divorce are also in this series, as well as information about Raymond A. Smith's criminal records and trial for armed robbery. This portion of the collection also contains income tax records dating from 1982 to 1997.

Correspondence makes up the bulk of this collection, and is divided into two sub-series: Family Correspondence and Friends and Miscellaneous Correspondence. The family correspondence is organized by individual, with correspondence with York's closest relatives, i.e. her immediate family, at the beginning of the series. Within these letters is more information concerning the injuries suffered by Christie York's sister Faye York Broer as a result of a car accident with a drunk driver in 1985. These letters also shed light on daily life during the 1980s and 1990s, both in rural and urban settings in Iowa. Letters from Raymond A. Smith, Christie York's ex-husband, provide information about Iowa's penitentiary system, specifically Fort Madison and Anamosa, parole hearings, and Islam in the Iowa prison system. The letters and cards from Christie York's friends are organized by individual as well, with the letters of Sue Peabody, Nancy Turner, Kim Porter, and David Simpson removed until 2020 due to donor restrictions. Within the friends correspondence is discussion concerning yearly "best movie" lists, Iowa City/Cedar Rapids life, and Christie York's return to graduate school. Examples of wedding invitations, greeting cards, and graduation announcements from the 1970s through the 1990s are included in correspondence from both family and friends.

The Academic Papers series is rich in information about the graduate school experience in the University of Iowa's history department. This collection contains examples of student work, professor's comments, research and class notes, as well as peer-reviewed papers. Also included are a copy of Christie York's master's essay, syllabi from York's teaching assistant positions, comments written to her students, and pamphlets and correspondence pertaining to conferences moderated by Christie York. The papers are mostly from classes at the University of Iowa and are centered in such areas as United States Social History, History of Science, and Women's History. This series is divided into three main areas: Undergraduate Work, Graduate Work, and Teaching and Working in the University of Iowa History Department.

The Family History Project was completed as part of Christie York's undergraduate work at the University of Iowa. This series contains the research that York compiled for her paper, as well as a finished copy of the paper. Included in this series is the survey York distributed to her relatives, genealogical information about her family, and local history information about the What Cheer, Iowa area.

The Professional series contains information about Christie York's employment as a laboratory technician at Cargill in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and as a pharmacy technician at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC). Included are certifications obtained by York throughout her career, information about job searches, transcripts, and a copy of York's curriculum vitae (CV). This series also contains a collection of memos sent through electronic mail at the UIHC pharmacy. These e-mail memos contain information about pharmacy technician duties, UIHC policies, and worker relationship within the UIHC pharmacies.

The Artifacts and Photographs series includes Christie York's high school diploma and her degrees from Ellsworth Community College, The University of Indiana, and the University of Iowa. Photographs include those from her Family History Project as well as snapshots of friends and family, which make up the bulk of the photographs.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE - FAMILY
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE - NON FAMILY [Box 7 closed until January 1, 2020]
Series 5: FAMILY HISTORY PROJECT
Series 6: ACADEMIC PAPERS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Baby Shower and dance programs
  • Childhood drawings and letters to Santa Claus
  • Report Cards
  • Newspaper Clippings and Photos of High School Classmates
  • High School Graduation Announcement - 1968
  • Items from Senior Year Scrapbook
  • Last Will and Testament - 1981
  • Divorce Information - 1981
  • Apartment Inventory - 1982
  • Letter regarding Christie Yorks son (given up for adoption) - 1983
  • Linn County Voter Information Card
  • Writings about mothers mental health
  • Taxes (14 folders) - 1982-1997
  • Datebooks and Calendars
  • Bookmarks, Stickers, and Postcards
  • Concert Programs and Tickets
  • Obituary, 15 October - 2001
  • Box 14:
  • High School Scrapbook
  • Box 2:
  • Phyllis York (mother of Christie York)
  • Philip York (father of Christie York)
  • Allison York (sister of Christie York)
  • Faye York Broer (sister of Christie York)
  • Kyle Broer (nephew of Christie York)
  • Bethany Broer (niece of Christie York)
  • Jacob Broer (nephew of Christie York)
  • Raymond A. Smith (husband of Christie York) [5 folders]
  • Ann White Heisdorffer (maternal aunt of Christie York)
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 2:
  • Cargill Resignation - 1988
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Hotchkiss School Application - 1993
  • Job Searches
  • Box 3:
  • University of Iowa Employment Services - 1993
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics application - 1993
  • Union Information
  • UIHC records
  • UIHC policy on Lateness and Sick League
  • Memos: UIHC (5 folders) - 1995-1999
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE - FAMILY
  • Box 3:
  • Phyllis York (mother of Christie York)
  • Phillip and Phyllis York (parents of Christie York)
  • Merry York Oelmann (sister of Christie York) (4 folders)
  • Box 4:
  • Merry York Oelmann (2 folders)
  • Allison York (sister of Christie York)
  • Faye York Broer (sister of Christie York) (4 folders)
  • Box 5:
  • Faye York Broer (2 folders)
  • Raymond A. Smith (husband of Christie York)
  • Margaret Martin Moore (maternal aunt of Christie York)
  • Julia Martin Ogden
  • Irene Martin Robinson
  • Dorothy Martin Clutter
  • Ann White Heisdorffer
  • Gina Martin
  • Streigel Girls
  • Louise York Leonard (paternal aunt of Christie York)
  • Sylvia York Lockwood (paternal aunt of Christie York)
  • Anne Lockwood Brownfiel (cousin of Christie York)
  • Box 6:
  • Roberta York Lockwood (paternal aunt of Christie York)
  • Anne Aysies
  • Miscellaneous (non-personal)
  • Muriel Anderson
  • Chad Bohlman
  • Diane and Doug Brotherton
  • Scott Clark
  • Sure Cline
  • Kevin Conlon
  • Dennis Dohrman
  • Julie Fritz
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE - NON FAMILY [Box 7 closed until January 1, 2020]
  • Box 7:
  • Sue Peabody
  • Kim Porter
  • David Simpson
  • Nancy Turner
  • Box 8:
  • Ann Hampsher
  • Carol Heidt
  • Cathy Hoffman
  • Marian and Roger Jansen
  • Nina OGorman Jewett
  • Ellen Jones
  • Jan and Tom Kaplan
  • Mike Kelly
  • James Kennedy
  • Mark Kimler
  • Jason Koch
  • Marcia Lamb
  • Bryan Pierce
  • Mary Beth and Ed Sheets
  • Marriane and Jeff Toney
  • Ardeth Vest
  • Janet and Bill Weibrecht
  • Miscellaneous and unknown (8 folders)
  • Box 9:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 5: FAMILY HISTORY PROJECT
  • Box 9:
  • Phillip and Phyllis York
  • Ann White Heisdorffer
  • Paul H. Martin
  • Irene and A.J. Robinson
  • Julia and Dean Ogden
  • Betty and Leo Martin
  • Margaret and Harlen Moore
  • Dorothy and Bertley Clutter, Jr.
  • Notes from Distant Relatives
  • Notes and Sources
  • Stuart Family Diary
  • Final Paper and Information - 1984
  • Series 6: ACADEMIC PAPERS
  • Sub-Series: Transcripts
  • Box 9:
  • Transcripts
  • Sub-Series: Graduate Requisite Examination (GRE) Scores
  • Box 9:
  • Scores
  • Sub-Series: Teaching Assistant Award
  • Box 9:
  • Teaching Assistant Award
  • Sub-Series: Graduate Conference for Womens History Month
  • Box 9:
  • Graduate Conference for Womens History Month - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Teaching Assistant
  • Box 9:
  • American History 1877-present, Spring - 1992
  • Sub-Series: History Department Presentation on Job Interviews
  • Box 9:
  • October - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Teaching Recommendations
  • Box 9:
  • Teaching Recommendations - 1993
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa Graduate School Syllabi
  • Box 10:
  • University of Iowa Graduate School Syllabi
  • American History Courses
  • Intellectual History Courses
  • Professor Katherine Tachaus Syllabi and Resource List for Graduate Students
  • Race in World History- University of Washington, Vancouver; Sue Peabody, instructor
  • Sub-Series: Comprehensive Reading Lists and Questions
  • Box 10:
  • Comprehensive Reading Lists and Questions - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Bibliography
  • Box 10:
  • Bibliography
  • Sub-Series: Working Bibliography on the Philosophy, Poetics, and Rhetorics of History
  • Box 10:
  • Working Bibliography on the Philosophy, Poetics, and Rhetorics of History
  • Sub-Series: Class notes
  • Box 10:
  • Readings in American Social History, Fall - 1985
  • History of Psychology and Social Science, Fall - 1985
  • Seminar in Frontier History, Spring - 1986
  • History of Science Notebook, Fall - 1986
  • Origins of Contemporary Thought, Spring - 1989
  • Box 11:
  • Medicine and Society, Spring - 1990
  • Sexuality Studies/History of Sexuality Notebook, Spring - 1990
  • Antebellum U.S. Notebook, Spring - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Essays and research papers
  • Box 11:
  • "Black Capitalism" (written as a senior at Indiana University)
  • Government and Politics of Great Britain:Canadian Postal Corporation Paper - 1982
  • "Life at the Jewish Colony of Elephantine in Fifth Century, B.C." with comments of Prof. Goldstein, Fall - 1983
  • "Waiting for the Barbarian: The Autobiography of an Unknown South African" with comments of Prof. John Walton, Spring - 1984
  • Temperance and Immigration: Two Social Reform Movements in U.S. History with comments of Prof. John Walton, Fall - 1984
  • Draft and Notes for Family History Paper, Fall - 1984
  • Classmates Papers from History Colloquium, Fall - 1984
  • Colloquium for History Majors with Prof. Ellis Hawley, Fall - 1984
  • Readings in the American Frontier with comments from Prof. Malcolm J. Rohrbough, Spring - 1985
  • Papers from class The Guilded Age with comments from Prof. Shelton Stromquist - 1985
  • Papers from "Nativism Historiography" with comments from Prof. Shelton Stromquist - 1985
  • "Modernization Theory" with comments from Prof. Shelton Stromquist, Fall - 1985
  • "The Issue of Populism" with comments from Prof. Shelton Stromquist, Fall - 1985
  • Papers from Readings in American Social History with comments from Prof. Shelton Stromquist, Fall - 1985
  • Box 12:
  • The Mismeasure of Man with comments from Prof. Mitchell Ash, December - 1985
  • "Konrad Lorenz: His Science and His Personality" with comments from Prof. Mitchell Ash, April - 1986
  • "Trotula and Gynecology" with comments from Prof. Katherine Tachau, May 14 - 1986
  • A Historiography of Medieval Spain with comments from Prof. Katherine Tachau, December - 1986
  • Cedar Rapids Prohibition Paper, Research Notes - 1986
  • Cedar Rapids Prohibition Paper, Maps
  • Cedar Rapids Prohibition Paper, Paper with Peer Comments (2 folders)
  • Cedar Rapids Prohibition Paper, Final Paper with comments of Prof. Rohrbough
  • Cedar Rapids Prohibition Paper, Final paper with notes from Prof. Rohrbough and Prof. Stromquist
  • History of Women in Science Paper, Final with comments of Prof. Mitchell Ash - 1986
  • History of Women in Science Paper, Re-write draft - 1986
  • History of Women in Science Paper, Draft with comments of Prof. Katherine Tachau - 1986
  • History of Women in Science Paper, Drafts with comments of Prof. Mitchell Ash - 1986
  • History of Women in Science Paper, Notes and Sources - 1986
  • "History and Its Audience" with comments of Prof. Allan Megill, Spring - 1988
  • Review of How Superstition Won and Science Lost with comments of Prof. Kenneth Cmiel, Spring - 1988
  • Masters Essay Draft: Women in Science with comments of Prof. Linda Kerber, April 23 - 1988
  • Box 13:
  • "Meister Eckhart and Martin Heidegger," Spring - 1989
  • Papers from Readings in British Imperialism, Fall - 1990
  • "Origins of the Mainland Colonies Slave Populations: 1619-1725"
  • "The Anglo-American Treaty of 1862"
  • Sociology of the Third World (take home examination)
  • "Social and Economic History of Medieval Europe" with comments of Prof. S. Moores
  • "History of Science in Antebellum U.S."
  • "Architecture and Transportation in the Middle Ages: An Annotated Bibliography" with comments of Prof. Katherine Tachau
  • Reading List for University Education Research
  • Review of An Ordered Love, with comments
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 13:
  • Family and Friends
  • Raymond A. Smith
  • Family History Project
  • Series 8: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 13:
  • Girl Scout Pins/Badges
  • High School
  • Ellsworth Community College - 1968, 1970
  • Bachelors Degree- Indiana University - 1972
  • Kirkwood Community College Certificates - 1973-1974
  • Professional/Laboratory Certifications
  • Bachelors Degree-University of Iowa - 1984