Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa) interviews

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991
Creator: Women's History Project
Extent: 1.25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0697
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Interviews with members of the St. Joseph Catholic Church in Sioux City, Iowa.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 184) were donated by Nancy Freemanin 1993.

Preferred Citation: Women's History Project (Diocese of Sioux City) interviews, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Women's History Project was established by the Commission on Women in the Church and Society of the Diocese of Sioux City, Iowa, in 1990 to preserve women's history in the diocese, establish and assist parish historians, and to develop awareness of women's history.

The records date from April 17 to October 3, 1991 and measure 1.25 linear inches. The records are arranged chronologically in a single series by date of interview. The project contains tapes and transcripts of interviews conducted April 17 to October 3, 1991 by Diana Jacobsma and Nancy Freeman. Church members were asked about their personal histories, their family histories, their personal histories in Sioux City as well as their recollections and experiences as members of St. Joseph Church. Parishioners interviewed include Hope and Mary Monica McLean(interviewed April 11, 1991) , Frances Marie Wetz (August 7, 1991), Rose Jorgeson (September 19, 1991), Evelyn Rose Courey (September 24, 1991), and Sister Mary Joel Kramer (October 3, 1991).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: INTERVIEWS

  • Series 1: INTERVIEWS
  • Sub-Series: Transcripts
  • Box 1:
  • Hope and Mary Monica McLean, Apr. 11 - 1991
  • Frances Marie Wetz, Aug. 7 - 1991
  • Rose Jorgeson, Sept. 19 - 1991
  • Evelyn Rose Courey, Sept. 24 - 1991
  • Sister Mary Joel Kramer, Oct. 3 - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Audiocassettes
  • Box 1:
  • [AC109]: Hope and Mary Monica McLean, Apr. 19 - 1991
  • [AC110-AC111]: Frances Marie Wetz, Aug. 7 - 1991
  • [AC112]: Rose Jorgeson, Sept. 19 - 1991
  • [AC113]: Evelyn Rose Courey, Sept. 24 - 1991
  • [AC114]: Sister Mary Joel Kramer, Oct. 3 - 1991

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Sioux City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Oral histories (Document genres)