Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook

Collection Overview

Date Span: 2000
Creator: Sweatshop Chronicles (2000)
Extent: 1.00 item.
Collection Number: IWA0686
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Activities of the Iowa City chapter of the national organization, Students Against Sweatshops.

Access: The scrapbook is open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The scrapbook (donor no. 150) was donated by Daniela Boschetti in 2000.

Preferred Citation: The Sweatshop Chronicles scrapbook, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

During the 1999-2000 school year, a chapter of the national organization known as Students Against Sweatshops (SAS) coalesced on the University of Iowa campus. Its members demanded that the University of Iowa break its ties with sportswear companies that used sweatshop labor, and insisted that the University repudiate its ties with the Fair Labor Association (FLA) and join the Workers Rights Consortium (WRC) instead. From the outset, SAS was activist in orientation. It sponsored rallies on campus and staged a multi-day sit-in during the spring semester of 2000, with five protesters arrested on the sixth day of the demonstration.

Six students in Dr. Jael Silliman's Spring Semester 2000 Introduction to Women's Studies class (Katie Bogacki, Daniela Boschetti, Stacey Ketelsen, Kasey Kleopfer, Tashundra Marshall and Susan Morris) examined the anti-sweatshop controversy in detail, placing protests at the University of Iowa into a global context, utilizing local and national newspaper coverage of the ongoing sweatshop controversy. As they created the scrapbook that comprises this collection, they preserved newspaper clippings that capture the full spectrum of campus reactions to the protests. They also preserved ephemera distributed by SAS members during their teach-ins. Finally, they included their own artistic reactions to the plight of the predominantly female sweatshop workers.

"The Sweatshop Chronicles" date from 2000 and consist of a single scrapbook created by six students in an Introduction to Women's Studies course at the University of Iowa, Spring 2000. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings pertaining to the sweatshop controversy, ephemera distributed by SAS members, and the artistic reactions of the authors of the scrapbook towards the plight of sweatshop workers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SWEATSHOP CHRONICLES SCRAPBOOK

  • Series 1: SWEATSHOP CHRONICLES SCRAPBOOK
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook - 2000