Guide to the Kathryn Stone papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1995
Creator: Stone, Kathryn (1906-1995)
Extent: 5.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0685
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Mount Vernon, Iowa, native who taught at University High School in Iowa City in 1930 and 1931.

Administrative Information

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 278) were donated by Shirley Briggs in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Kathryn Stone papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Kathryn Haeseler Meyers Stone, Virginia State legislator, was born in Mt. Vernon, Iowa in 1906 and attended Cornell College and the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa), receiving a master's degree in American History. Stone taught school in Michigan and Louisiana and in 1931-33 taught in the University High School in Iowa City. She married Harold A. Stone in 1936. Kathryn Stone was active in the League of Women Voters and the Commission on Human Resources of the Washington Center for Metropolitan Studies.

Stone represented Arlington, Virginia, in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1954 to 1966. She was the first woman to be elected to the Virginia Legislature from northern Virginia and was a proponent of desegregation in the public schools. After the 1960 Census, she was one of four plaintiffs in a lawsuit challenging Virginia's reapportionment plan, gaining a ruling that state legislatures be apportioned on the basis of population. Stone played an important role in the creation of the Virginia community college system, and she helped establish the first regional detention home for juveniles in the state. Stone died in 1995.


Content Description

The Kathryn Stone papers date from 1930 to 1932 and 1995 and consist of 5 items: three photographs and two clippings, an obituary and a tribute, from the May 1995 Washington Post.

Related Materials

The bulk of Stone's papers are on deposit at the University of Virginia Library, Special Collections Department, Charlottesville, VA 22904, (804) 924-3025.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stone, Kathryn H. (Kathryn Haeseler), 1906-1995

Corporate Names:
University High School (Iowa City, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Public schools
School integration
Community colleges
Women in education

Occupations:
Teachers
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City
United States -- Virginia

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs