Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sally Stiles papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1988-1999
Creator: Stiles, Sally A. (19xx-)
Extent: 4.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0684
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Poet and president of the Artists in Action group in Muscatine, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 603) were donated by Sally Stiles in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Sally Stiles papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sally A. Stiles was a member of the Muscatine organization, Artists in Action, serving frequently on the organization's board of directors and illustrating greeting cards that she sold at the Artists in Action storefront gallery. In addition, Stiles participated in other Muscatine art groups including Tellers in Action and Writers on the Avenue. Through her membership in these groups, Stiles told stories at community events and created illustrations and poetry that were published in works including The Cookie Anthology, The Oak, and The Acorn.

Stiles and her husband, Lynn Stiles, raised four daughters: Ginger, Kandi, Tish, and Cindy Stiles.

The Sally Stiles papers date from 1988to 1999 and measure 4linear inches. The writings and artwork consist of Stiles' unpublished poetry, prose, and illustrations on topics including child abuse, cancer, immigration, and concentration camps. Also included are poems and illustrations by Stiles that were published in magazines, The Cookie Anthology, The Oak, and The Acorn. In addition, the series contains Stiles' original proofs for the greeting cards that she sold in the Muscatine Artists in Action gallery. The Family materials include Stiles' monthly newsletters reporting her family's activities to friends and relatives and correspondence between Stiles and her family members.
Artists in Action (Muscatine, Iowa) records

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WRITINGS AND ARTWORK
Series 2: FAMILY MATERIALS

  • Series 1: WRITINGS AND ARTWORK
  • Box 1:
  • Poetry, undated
  • Prose - 1991
  • Writing journal, undated
  • Poems and illustrations in The Cookie Anthology, The Oak, and The Acorn - 1990-1997
  • Greeting card proofs - 1989-1993
  • Series 2: FAMILY MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1988-1999
  • Family newsletters - 1991-1998

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stiles, Sally A.
Stiles, Lynn

Corporate Names:
Artists In Action (Muscatine, Iowa)

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Family life
Women and literature
Artists and community

Occupations:
Poets
Artists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Muscatine

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Correspondence