Guide to the Edith Sackett papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1975
Creator: Sackett, Edith (1901-1987)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0676
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Schoolteacher and Iowa Mother of the Year, 1969.

Administrative Information

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 316) were donated by Rosemary and Bill Sackett in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Edith Sackett papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Edith Sackett was born on June 9, 1901 to William C. and Elizabeth Rose Murphy. She earned a B.A. at Drake University and completed some advanced work at Northwestern University in speech. She married Wilber Sackett in 1927, lived in Spencer, Iowa, and taught English and speech for many years at Everly High School. The Sacketts were the Drake Parents of the Year in 1959, and Edith Sackett was the Iowa Mother of the Year in 1969. Sackett was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1984.


Content Description

The Edith Sackett papers date from 1959 to1975 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in three series: Drake Parents of the Year, Iowa Mother of the Year, and Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. The collection includes many letters of recommendation for Iowa Mother of the Year and numerous newspaper clippings commemorating all three events in Sackett's life.

Related Materials

Rosemary Sackett papers (IWA): Rosemary Sackett is Edith Sackett'sdaughter-in-law.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Sackett, Edith, 1901-1987

Corporate Names:
Iowa Women's Hall of Fame
Drake Parents of the Year
Iowa Mother of the Year

Dates:
1950-1959
1960-1969
1970-1979

Topics:
Women in education
Mothers

Occupations:
High school teachers
English teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Spencer
United States -- Iowa -- Everly
United States -- Iowa -- Des Moines
United States -- Iowa -- Clay County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Teachers and Teaching